We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Tour guide” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Independent Stave Company - Kentucky Cooperage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Independent Stave Company - Kentucky Cooperage
712 Danville Highway, Lebanon, KY 40033-1700
(270) 692-4674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Attractions in Lebanon
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Marion, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rude Tour guide”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

we had Lisa as a tour guide.. and she was rude the moment we met up and continued to be rude and quick with the tour.. my wife tried asking questions and she just blew her off..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see if you drink bourbon ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A good tour to see barrels being made a lot of pride goes in each. Line employees were helpful in answering questions. You get so close you will smell like wood. This is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Kentucky
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unseen Side of the Bourbon Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Interesting tour. The labor involved and skill exhibited in construction is pretty cool. The charring is not cool-cool, but it is 'cool'. To see the work going into the barrels and knowing the relevance of them makes the tour worth the time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A great way to see another side of bourbon making”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very informative tour on how the barrels that the bourbon ages in are made. Recommend you visit if you have the time. You will learn about the barrel making process and get to see it in action. Tours are offered twice daily (9:30 am and 1:00 pm) and are free. You need to have closed toe shoes. The only unfortunate thing is that you can't take pictures to have memories of your visit. Just the smell of the toasted white oak is worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lick, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Making Barrels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

When we first arrived the tour area was not defined. Confusing. We were at the employee break room so we did not know if it was the right place or not. Our guide was great, very informative. It is free. No cameras and must wear close toe shoes. No large purses allowed as well. They cover the whole process. Would have liked to see a little bit more of what was going on in the plant and less video. But overall a very good tour. Would do again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independent Stave Company - Kentucky Cooperage also viewed

 

Been to Independent Stave Company - Kentucky Cooperage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independent Stave Company - Kentucky Cooperage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.