We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour, good bourbon and you get to keep the glass!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Roses

Four Roses
1224 Bonds Mill Road, Lawrenceburg, KY 40342
502-839-3436
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Lake City, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice tour, good bourbon and you get to keep the glass!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The distillery is shut down for the summer but our tour guide was very good and informative and you get to sample some great bourbon.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    69
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Enjoyed greatly- stopped on way back from Nashville - to mi. Bourbon trail is good, overall could accommodate visitor better. Found. 4 roses to be the best tour so far, it was free in May of 2014. Guide was great ver knowledgeable - tastings of 4 different bourbons at the end and master distiller sign the bottles we bought! Good bourbon and a great tour - they don't distill in the summer months, they told us-water is too warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beware of Summer break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Four Roses is a small distillery with Spanish flair in the middle of the Kentucky Bourbon Trail. Tours are pretty easy to get into. One can just walk in without reservations. The guided tour costs $5 (which includes your tasting glass from the tasting later on) and begins with watching an informational video followed by a guided tour through the distillery. Unfortunately, due to the time of year, the distillery was not in production when we went. Consequently, our tour was pretty short and we did not get to see the yeast room. There is a good tasting of three different bourbons at the end. By the way: the tour does not cover the rick houses, as those are at another site. However, the purchased ticket is also good for a Cox’s Creek Bottling Warehouse facility tour within 60 days.

As always, tours of this kind depend a great deal on the guide. Our guide was fun and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

While we were too late for the final tour we did sample the products and tour the grounds. This is a terrific example of Spanish influence in the Heartland of Kentucky. I have enjoyed the offerings from Four Roses in the past and appreciated the product and merchandise displays with a wide choice of both.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machesney Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Napa Valley Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Four Roses campus is beautiful and full of beautiful Spanish style buildings. While quite unusual for Kentucky, the choice is explained during the tour. While production wasn't going (usually too hot in the summer) we were able to walk through the production gangways and be "up close and personal" with the process. Kathleen was our tour guide and was a delightful mix of sweet and sassy! She handled our diverse group with great Southern charm. I appreciated her knowledge and relaxed way of guiding us through the tour. The tasting was great, too. Kathleen offered some recipes for those of us who aren't regular bourbon drinkers. She even took some great family photos for us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Roses also viewed

 

Been to Four Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.