We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
1414 East Crystal Drive, LaGrange, KY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in LaGrange
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Canby, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food - reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good country cooking and a great value. Nice family atmosphere and the store is fun to browse while waiting for a table.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Service and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stopped for dinner after a long trip from Akron Oh to Kentuck Lake for a fishing trip. The server was very helpful, friendly and insisted we take a to go drink when we were finished with our meal. My son and I both agreed the food was very good and it was worth the stop only having to take a half hour to order and eat an excellent meal. We both had eggs, grits and sausage which were all good. The sausage was exceptional and we both agreed it was the best we have eaten.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could have been much better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The service was good, yet the food was cold. Yet the atmosphere's "old fashion" theme some what made up for it. Honestly if you are looking for a good break feast place, then you might want to go somewhere else. However, they seem to be a bit better during lunch, so if you are looking for decent lunch spot, then this just might be the place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, KY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Popular with locals and travelers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Cracker Barrel/LaGrange is conveniently located off I-71 at Exit 22. Dining at a Cracker Barrel is akin to visiting a McDonald's - i.e., it's not five-star dining, but you generally know what to expect, and they rarely fail to deliver on that expectation. Judging by the number of cars usually seen in the parking lot, this is probably among the more popular restaurants in the area, especially during breakfast and dinner. If you've visited other CB locations, you'll find no surprises here - a variety of menu items that will satisfy just about anyone's taste. For the uninitiated, Cracker Barrel is a chain of restaurants with a lobby set in a "general store" atmosphere, and serves country cooking and "comfort food" - including breakfast items all day. I particularly enjoy their breakfast menu, as they are among the VERY few restaurants that serve country ham with "red eye" gravy - a real southern treat. I also recommend their 1/2-pound bacon cheeseburger with steakfries on the side. I usually wouldn't think about CB as a burger destination, but when you're craving a good, old fashioned, juicy burger, this will definitely do it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewee Valley, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fridays Fish Fry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Every Friday is fish day. Cod and Catfish. I particularly like the cod. Typically comes with cole slaw and French fries. May make substitutions. Coleslaw is delicious Good choice for dinner. Service is usually good. Food hot and tasty.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.