We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not "Where's the Meat" but "Where's the Shrimp" ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Unionville Arms Pub & Grill

Unionville Arms Pub & Grill
189 Main St, Unionville, Markham, Ontario L3R 2G8, Canada
(905) 470-8831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Unionville
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Canadian
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not "Where's the Meat" but "Where's the Shrimp" ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had lunch recently, enjoyed the server, the pub atmosphere, and the location was terrific. The food was another matter. I have eaten here many times but find it is not quite what it was before the fire. The lunch special of "Stir Fry Shrimp" was tasty but not value for money with only 4 shrimp on the plate. It was not a mistake as my dinner companions also had only 4 shrimp each.
It was $15.99, not exactly inexpensive. The quality of the shrimp was poor as they were not the least bit tasty but had a little off taste. I like this place and will return but next time will be more vocal concerning the quality I receive for the price charged and hope they can do better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    21
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“and really good pub food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been enjoying this restaurant for well over 25 years when it was known as Calethumpian (not sure of the spelling) but it was good then and it is consistenly good now. I have tried every meal they have on the menu and it's hard to choose one over the other but the wings, the pub pies and the Souvalaki dinner is on the top of my list. Great ambiance with a nice patio. Very busy during the summer so expect a little bit of a wait but it's worth it. The bar is a fun place to watch your favorite sport while you are waiting. Always good with friendly staff and a great place to visit on historical Main street Unionville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Still great after 18 years...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited on May 4th, the 18th anniversary of our first date :)

We haven't been here since the fire they had years ago, and we were shocked to see that everything was identical. Amazing what can be done after such damage!

We had spring rolls for an appetizer; which were very good and the sauce had some zip to it. My husband had the baby back ribs, which he said were very good and tender. I had the coconut tilapia and it was amazing! Service overall was great, although they seemed a little short staffed that day.

I miss this pub and wish it was a little closer to us, maybe we won't wait so long to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“nice pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Pleasant pub with nice outside terrace. A good place to spend a little time on a warm summer evening. Food is quite good, but typical pub fare.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great place for beer on tap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

When we visit Unionville, we usually eat across the street at Il Posino, but as a group, gather and warm up first at the Unionville Arms and Pub. They have a nice side room that accomodates a group of 10 or more with large screen tv's on each wall showing sports. The wait staff are pro's and very knowledgeable on their drinks. Service is top notch and you will never go thristy, since they are asking when you are close to the heel of your beer. We have not had any food there, but the restaurant side appears to serve the normal pub food with plates loaded with fries beside the mains.
The bathrooms are in the basement, so be prepared for a hike.
Overall, we enjoy this place and the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unionville Arms Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Unionville Arms Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unionville Arms Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.