We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Six Bells

The Six Bells
Church Road | Bury St. Edmunds, Felsham IP30 0PJ, England (Formerly The Six Bells, Felsham Nr Stowmarket)
01449 736268
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Felsham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Suffolk,
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We, a party of 9 'ramblers' enjoyed a superb Sunday lunch at the Six Bells which is situated in the delightful little village of Felsham. The welcoming was friendly from both the staff and locals and we were soon chatting away to some of the regulars. The menu is not, thankfully, huge which is an indication that the food will be cooked in house rather than heated up mass produced catering packs! There is a printed menu and specials on the blackboard. I had the pheasant Jerk as a starter which was very unusual but very good, whilst others had crab cakes, garlic mushrooms and soup. For the main course I stuck to the traditional roast beef which was one of the best I have had in a pub for years. The locally sourced meat was superb and cooked to perfection as was the Yorkshire pudding, roasties and vegetables. My wife had the game pie which looked and was confirmed to be delicious - and huge! Despite the fact that the place was very busy (some people were turned away because it was so full) the service was excellent. Our charming waitress explained that, because they were busy, the food might take a little longer than usual - but that was no problem to us at all.
With 2 rounds of drinks the cost per head was £25 which was superb value. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fortunately my parents have just moved to Felsham and thankfully less than 300 yards from The Six Bells.

We went on Christmas Eve for a swift one and had such a great night that we ended up having a swift four.

We managed to nab a table in front of the fire (no mean feat as it was packed), The pub has an excellent atmosphere and is the perfect Christmas pub. Friendly bar staff and locals with a great choice of local ales.

Cannot wait to pay it a visit again soon and try their food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped here for a lunch whilst staying at The Old Manse Barn in Cockfield. I had the smoked salmon starter which was delicious my husband had the fish, chips and mushy peas the chips were delicious and enough for two people. We really enjoyed our food and would return

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One word. Perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We were going for a drive through the countryside late Sunday afternoon and fancied having a drink in a pub. Most we're closed but around 5:30 we came across this little gem. AND they were serving food all evening! Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by not one, but TWO open fires, and the interior with exposed beams and lovely dark wood furnishings made it feel so cosy. The lady behind the bar (I think she was also the owner) was very friendly and served us drinks right away. We weren't planning on eating out but after peeking at the menu and seeing a Homemade Vegetarian Burger, with handmade chips. We thought we would give it a go. We were so glad we did! It was quite honestly the BEST veggie burger I have ever had. And I haven't eaten meat for almost 10 years! When we ordered , the lady told us the chips are normally cooked in beef drippings but if we don't mind a short wait, they can cook some specially for us in vegetable oil. We didn't even need to ask! It was so thoughtful of her. I bet a lot of restaurants don't even think of these things! The wait wasn't long at all, and everything was delicious! We were absolutely stuffed, but sat for half an hour to make room for dessert! Haha! That didn't disappoint. I had the rhubarb crumble and my husband had the brownies. The crumble was perfect. Tasted like fresh rhubarb and the crumble was so thick and crunchy. The brownie was amazing (I stole a few bites!) it was hot and very soft, like it had just come out of the oven! A lovely evening :) we will be back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This pub is too good to be on your doorstep. Run by warm, friendly people, keep their beer in great condition, food is excellent & varied, but not your everyday pub grub. We eat here fairly regularly and do enjoy the odd pint or two also. Great to hear their tennancy has been renewed and looking forward to many more meals and pints here

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Six Bells also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Beyton, Bury St. Edmunds
 

Been to The Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Six Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.