We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some heating !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse Pub

White Horse Pub
Rede Road, Whepstead IP29 4SS, England
01284 735760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Whepstead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Needs some heating !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good home cooked food , owner was a bit straight faced, needs to smile more. I was very cold . I said I have recently been ill and I am cold . I got not response so had to wear my overcoat throughout the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehorseWhepstead, Owner at White Horse Pub, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I am very sorry you found the pub very cold. We have central heating working all the time plus a wood burner. In normal weather conditions this works very well in a listed Elizabethan building, but this last month the weather has been unusually cold. I am sure you were feeling more vulnerable having just come out of hospital. We are all looking forward to warmer times as I am sure you are.

Best wishes to you
Di Kingshott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not Up to Expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Upon recommendations of family, visited the White Horse for Sunday lunch today. We arrived with high expectations and left very disappointed in our meals. My wife had the roast pork casserole with apricots and dates. She found it palatable though a bit bland and the dates very elusive/ I had the roast rib of beef Sunday lunch special. The beef was good and well cooked though again a bit bland. The gravy had a distinctive flavor of cloves. When I complained the reply was that the gravy was cooked to their standard and the flavor in the gravy was black pepper. I cook and I can tell the difference. We shall not return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub, lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a really lovely evening here - gorgeous old 17th century inn, great service, excellent food and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub - food is outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Found the White Horse Pub after searching on Trip Advisor for a nice country pub doing good food near Bury St Edmunds.

And this is exactly what the White Horse Pub is... except that 'good food' doesn't really do it justice. The food here is outstanding. The cottage pie, the home made meatballs, the salmon in pickled ginger were all superb. Someone in the kitchen really knows what they are doing at this place.

The staff and landlady were all incredibly friendly and helpful with service. Oh, and this is an Adnams pub... so Broadside on draught was very much appreciated.

Can't recommend the White Horse Pub enough. If you're in the area and looking for a lovely country pub that does outstanding food, then this is the place to head to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wow, great country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found the White Horse by googling country pubs near Bury St Edmunds, and felt really lucky to have found such a great place. My food was tasty and sophisticated and a cut above what you expect in a country pub, so much so that we went back for lunch on our way home the next day. Also friendly, helpful service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse Pub also viewed

Beyton, Bury St. Edmunds
Great Whelnetham, Bury St. Edmunds
 
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St. Edmunds
Dedham, Colchester
 

Been to White Horse Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.