We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, great food & nice pint of ale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Horse Inn to your Saves list
White Horse Inn
Bury Road, Beyton, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 9AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Beyton B&B and Inns
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hotel, great staff, great food & nice pint of ale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed for 1 night, greeted by barman and checked in and supping a pint of Adnams within 2 minutes. Pleasant, modern, clean rooms positioned to rear of hotel. Reserved a table for evening meal, good food, hearty portions at reasonable price and pleasant service. Breakfast was excellent and included in room rate, cereals, fruit, juice, and choice of cooked breakfasts , full english was my choice - very nice too. We wanted a night away to chill out and the White Horse Inn delivered 100%.....great position to explore Suffolk ......WE WILL RETURN FOR SURE

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 2 days last month. Hotel was very clean, food was great and the staff were very helpful. The room in which we were given was perfect. We wil certainaly come back and stay here again.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We booked for one night via internet. The hotel was easy to find, the accommodation was very well presented - the rooms are in a converted building behind the pub. We had a good sized, double room which also had a sofa bed. There were tea and coffee making facilities plus bottled water. The bathroom had a bath with electric power shower over, basin and loo, all spotlessly clean, and with lovely Molton Brown toiletries.

We booked an evening meal in the pub dining room from a very good selection and the food was delicious. The majority of the tables were taken for dinner and there was a good atmosphere so I would say it's a popular place with locals too.

Breakfast was equally good, with croissants, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee and toast in addition to the very substantial cooked selection.

The service was efficient and friendly and our stay at the White Horse contributed to a very enjoyable weekend in Suffolk. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, convenient room and very pleasant location
  • Disliked — No complaints whatsoever
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

The White Horse Inn offers both good food and modern, comfortable accommodation in the converted outbuilding.

The room was a good size, with a sofa and other add-ons that you would expect from a good quality city hotel, such as an ironing board, Molton & Brown toiletries and free broadband internet access.

The breakfast, included in the room price, was varied and if you went for the full english, substantial.

The evening meals served in the inn were delicious with a good choice, both of food and wine, and there was a good atmosphere in the obviously popular place.

This was a real find and we would definitely return.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, well-equipped room
  • Disliked — Nothing specific
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

The White Horse Inn has recently come under new management. Robby and Jane Armstrong make you feel very welcome. Jane is also the new chef, and the food is excellent! Try the duck in apricot sauce and you'll know exactly what I mean. We found this hotel very convenient for travelling to and from the Harwich-Hook ferry, and will certainly come back the next time we travel to England.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

this is a very pleasant small hotel where standards are very high, the room was fresh and clean, and included the use of high quality molton brown toiletries. There is a lovely grassed area in front of the rooms, that are all at ground floor level - this was delightful on such a sunny weekend. Breakfast and lunch were nicely served and at a reasonable cost overall. Have relatives in this area so will definitely visit again and will not look for accommodation anywhere else.

  • Liked — clean and fresh looking
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

I stayed in a twin room with my daughter aged 10. We were going to stay at the Ramada in Bury St Edmunds but chose the White Horse on the Trip Advisor review. And I'm glad we did.

There are five motel style units in a converted barn behind the pub. They have a wide patio with flowers in pots in front of them; then there's the pub garden, a picket fence and the car park. It was all in good condition and quite tasteful. It was converted in 2005 but had just been repainted and refreshed in Apr 2008.

The room was big enough for us and had a TV/DVD. The beds were fine. The proper-sized bathroom, with a bath and an electric shower, had nice towels and good shower gel . Everything seemed clean and new.

Beyton is a small village with a village green and some play apparatus. There isn't much traffic. We didn't notice any noise but no-one was in the pub garden.

Staff were friendly and found a couple of DVDs for my daughter which was nice.

We ate in the pub and food was good to average but pretty good value. My daughter loved it. Plenty of other people there on a Saturday night. Breakfast had everything you would want.

Overall, a great value stay. And so much better than a hotel chain.

  • Liked — Price, space, fresh feel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: Bury Road, Beyton, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 9AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Beyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.