We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful summer pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chase Inn

The Chase Inn
Chase Rd | Upper Colwall, Colwall, Great Malvern WR13 6DJ, England
01684 540 276
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Colwall
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful summer pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We try to o o this pub every few months as it has a wonderful view over Herefordshire / Wales. They have a great beer garden and staff are very attentive. Only downside seems to be their reluctance to light the fires and our last 2 visits were cut short as it was rather cold.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    11
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beer, pub grub and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This pub is at its best on a day when you can sit on the terrace enjoying the splendid views out west. The service is friendly, the beer is excellent and the sandwiches top notch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The chase inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fatastic beer, food and location. A true hidden gem in a hard to find lane off the second hairpin driving up from Colwall.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Country Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It was a dark, dank, misty evening. We could hardly see our hands before our eyes, it was a night where you could imagine wolves howling.... The Chase was lit up with an orange enticing glow and was welcome respite from the cold and damp. Its a charming pub, fires glowing, a couple of dogs snoozing, comfy chairs and an array of interesting nik naks.

There were 4 of us and were the only ones eating. In fact there were only the two dogs and two men in the pub besides us! Too bad a night to venture out me thinks!

Between us we had Seafood chowder, creamy garlic mushrooms and two welsh rarebit with port & onion chutney and salad to start. All delicious and hearty. Mains were liver, bacon & onion gravy with mash, Steak & Stilton crumble, Ham Egg & Chips, and Beef Burger with brie, bacon & chips. My burger was good but not the best I've had; a little dry. But the brie was delicious and a big bowl of salad came with it which was lovely. The other mains were eaten with gusto! For desert 3 of us had the irish bread & butter pudding - mine was burnt and crispy on the bottom :( But otherwise the flavours were good. The fourth had a selection of ice cream which were said to be great.

The bill came to £101 with 4 drinks, so not bad.

I would go again and would try a different main. The pub itself is lovely, the service was attentive and friendly. So if you are in the area give it a try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely views, great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A real gem with what must be one of the best views I have seen from a beer garden. They dont offer gentrified gastro type food but good wholesome british classics at a reasonable price. Great ale and Ciders and a very friendly landlord.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chase Inn also viewed

Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Chase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chase Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.