We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most of the comparable state parks restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowena Landing Restaurant

Rowena Landing Restaurant
5465 State Park Road, (at Lure Lodge at Lake Cumberland State Resort Park), Jamestown, KY
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Jamestown
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Better than most of the comparable state parks restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It's rare that we arrive at a restaurant by boat, but we did here. They then have a free shuttle bus to take you to the restaurant. Very similar to other KY state park lodges, and in fact some in our party thought it was much better.

These lodges usually have a buffet, and this was no different. Maybe not very imaginative, but good food at a good value point.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Hot Brown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We like to eat Hot Brown's in Kentucky State Parks since they are usually delicious. This one was great. Most people seemed to be eating from the buffet and it looked good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“No stars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at the lodge for 3 nights and had 2 breakfasts, 2 dinners at the restaurant. It's hard to ruin breakfast and they were ok. But dinner! Terrible! Dinner #1, the catfish was over-cooked and tough. Although hush-puppies were advertised as coming with the meal, they were not served. We asked the waitress where they were. She acted as if that were a complete surprise. They were finally delivered after the meal was finished! Dinner #2, ok, the cheeseburger with fries was ok. I ask what the desserts were. Derby Pie, she said, and the other items in the buffet. I asked what Derby Pie was. She replied, chocolate with some chocolate chips and pecans, or walnuts, she wasn't sure which. I chose, instead, to check out the buffet items. The only thing that looked appetizing was a cobbler. What kind is it, I asked and is it warm? It's cherry or maybe blackberry and yes its warm, she replied.
Surmising that it looked like cherry I chose that one. Ice cream? She asked. Sure.
When she brought the cobbler she asked whether I wanted strawberry or chocolate ice cream.
Vanilla? Asked I. No. Ok, no ice cream.
It was terrible, and this from a person who will eat anything with sugar in it.
I give the place a zero. But it's the only game in town. No decent dining within many miles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio, Usa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Breakfast buffet is around $7.50 and is excellent. We're too busy boating to fo lunch or dinner but nice to have this here when you need it. We never go to the lake without planning a trip here for breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Simply stated....this place is EXCELLENT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Food was fresh, tasty, and a great selection on the buffet. 8 bucks per person, with that food quality, that level of cleanliness, and the amazing view.....felt like I was stealing, lol.
The experience here was superb, we will be back whenever we are in the area.
This place gets an easy 5 stars across the board!!! Well done!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowena Landing Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowena Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowena Landing Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.