We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
The Street, Yatton Keynell, Chippenham SN14 7BG, England
01249 782216
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went here with a friend for a pre-Christmas do, and had their Christmas menu. Cannot fault the food, lovely traditional Xmas dinner, huge amount, the pork terrine for starters was almost a meal in itself, and the cheesecake was perfection. Have been for a number of years, and although we were the only people sitting there in our paper hats I cannot fault the service or atmosphere! Look forward to going again. It is best to prebook on popular nights though!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Suet pudding to die for!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were staying at Castle Combe for four days and popped into the Bell for a drink on the way through. The restaraunt was busy and the food looked delicious. We were not made to feel very welcome by the bar lady who seemed busy and pre-occupied. However, we decided to call again to try the food over the next couple of days. We are so relieved that we did. We had a lovely warm welcome from a lady who made sure we were comfortably seated wherever we wished and even moved the landlords belongings from the seat in the window so that we could sit there. We ordered two steak and kidney suet puddings which came with dauphinoise potatoes and some of the nicest veg that I have ever had when eating in a pub. The food was piping hot and came with a tasty gravy. The portion size was huge and we thought it was very good value for money. The restaraunt was buzzing by the time we left at 1pm and the phone rang continually for Christmas bookings to be made. We have decided we will make the round trip from London on a return visit just to sample the King Cod and chips and to see Fudge. The lady behind the bar was a perfect host on this occasion. She was helping a young lad to learn the ropes and she still remained attentive to her guests at all times.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak & Kidney pudding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

You don't often see a proper Steak & Kidney pudding on the menu. That's pudding - Suet pudding, not pie. Terribly bad for the diet, superb for the taste buds. The Bell is a really friendly pub with a great menu and some nice beers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always made welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We always go to the bell not least because the food is delicious but because we always get a warm welcome from jeanie and Callum, the atmosphere is relaxed and we leave feeling like friends not customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not booked but welcomed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived just after six without booking. The choices are varied to suit all palates. The queen cod was enormous and tasty. Scampi tender. Steak and ale pie rich and packed. Red chicken (my choice) was delicious - creamy, slightly sweet and him of chilli. Nice veg variety and choice of four different potatoes. Yes definitely recommend - good pub grub at reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 
Acton Turville, Gloucestershire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.