We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Gave it a 4” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo

Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo
3700 L and N Turnpike Road, Horse Cave, KY 42749
270-786-2634
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun and interactive animal park. Many Australian animals including kangaroos, as well as other North American Animals. Cave on site, included with admission price. Fun for the whole family.
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Kids Gave it a 4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Kentucky Down Under was recommended by a family member so we decided to spend the day there when we were visiting Mammoth Cave. When we pulled in we weren't too sure, as we thought it was probably just another cheesy roadside attraction. We had read the background on it and heard that it was sold not that long ago. We never saw what it was before, but my bet was that there were more animals or attractions previously. It could also be that we were there just at the beginning of the season.
What was really impressive was the way that each employee spent the time to show and teach and make things personal. Whether it was helping the kids to get the birds to sit on them or watching them feed the baby kangaroo, they were really centered on making sure the kids had both a great experience and had the opportunity to ask questions and learn. It wasn't just moving people from station to station like so many places. They wanted to share their knowledge and were extremely patient with everyone.
When we got home we heard my daughter excitedly telling her friend about how the bird sat on her head. My son also rated it pretty high on his list of things we did on our trip.
I would have to say that it wasn't one of those "oh, wow" activities for us adults, but it was a good way to spend the day with a real mix of activities including animals, gem mining, caving and more.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    58
    14
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“where's the animals?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

a few birds, a horse, a dingo & sheep. Not worth 50.00 for a family of 3. No activities, things have gone down hill

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was a great little park with a chance to see lots of different types of wildlife as well the chance to pet animals you seldom have a chance to see much less a chance to touch..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beecher,Il
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was a great way to spend the day. We checked out the cave with a friendly guide at a easy pace. We pet kangaroos and fed a lamb. We saw a dog herd sheep. But the part my granddaughter loved the best was gem mining. She was so excited to mine her own gems and just delighted with her find. This is a good attraction run by some very nice employees. My only complaint was the great big hill you had to walk up. Maybe they could get a tram or trolley for us flatlanders.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Land down under....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Much cheaper than airfare, $19.03 (this is with a student discount) was a very satisfying way to get a snippet of the Australia that Men At Work so loved. Everyone working there was friendly and agreeable, giving us one on one attention and supplying us with as much knowledge about caves, kangaroos, cow milking, and sheep herding that we could ever want. Although we weren't on a hippy trail with a head full of zombie (hippie trail debatable), this was still an exceptionally radical experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo also viewed

 
Mammoth Cave National Park, KY
 

Been to Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.