We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great day-trip with a 45 minute cave tour and a field full of kangaroos that you even get to touch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo

Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo
3700 L and N Turnpike Road, Horse Cave, KY 42749
270-786-2634
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun and interactive animal park. Many Australian animals including kangaroos, as well as other North American Animals. Cave on site, included with admission price. Fun for the whole family.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This was a great day-trip with a 45 minute cave tour and a field full of kangaroos that you even get to touch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were looking for a short trip that was
Something we had not done before. It was only about a 21/2 hr drive for us, and that was great because we only had two days. We did the guided cave tour and learned what happens underground in the caves. Better yet we saw most of it. Then we went on our own to see other things there. The boys were fascinated by the finds when they bought bags and panned for stones fossils and gems. There was an area of different birds that I understand were native to Australia. There were sheep in different fields and some one on one that we did not do.
There were lots of kangaroos in a field and everyone was allowed to walk in the field and touch one with guided supervision. An emu was also in the field and you could feel the two types of feathers he had. I have been to quite a few very good zoos but had never seen so many kangaroos. Like this
Before.

There were some activities going on but since our grandsons were older we did not do those.

There was a lot of up and down walking that could be a little rough on the hips and knees of the older crew.

Ot was a fun day and I would definitely recommend it if you or your kids or grand kids are nature lovers.

The price was fairly reasonable. And there were two souvenir shops and a concession area in case you need a snack before you finish.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara F, Manager at Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are glad that you had a great time. We hope that you come to visit us again sometime in the future. We are adding new exhibits so there will be even more to see and do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    58
    14
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place was very fun, we spent about 4 hours here. The zoo was small but there were many hands on activities to do (pet a kangaroo and emu, touch snakes and lizards, watch the sheep, feed the lories). The cave tour that is included with the admission price is very nice. We went on several cave tours during our vacation and we really enjoyed this cave tour.
My only complaint is that I wish the times for all the activities would be posted so you can see and plan right from the beginning, and also that we would have had a choice for cave tour times. All in all a great place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara F, Manager at Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
So glad to hear that you had a great time! We love knowing that we made someone's day. Having the times posted is a very good suggestion, and I will definitely make note of that. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fun place to go to with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The freedom to see things on your own and not be rushed. seeing the animals/birds up close. was able to use wheel chairs except for cave.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara F, Manager at Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Glad that you had a good time! Hope you all come back for a visit sometime soon. We are adding more exhibits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for familly and kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We loved Kentucky Down Under. The staff was very knowledgeable and great with the kids. We had time to ask questions and learn new things. Petting a kangaroo, and feeding the friendly birds was a lot of fun. We even bought a parakeet from there and are enjoying him immensely! Thank you Kentucky Down Under!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Great Day with the Grandkids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited Kentucky Down Under with our granddaughters, ages 12 and 6. There were so many up close and personal encounters with animals that the girls really loved. They were able to see kangaroos up close and even pet one. One mama kangaroo had a joey's feet sticking out of her pouch! The sheep station exhibit gave them a chance to see a trained sheep dog round up the flock. Then the younger girl helped demonstrate how shearers handle sheep as they are being sheared. They both got a chance to milk a cow and pet some varied types of rams. We all liked the birds such as emu, kokkabura, lorikeets, budgies, peacocks, cockatiels and more. My only complaint would be that the cave and some of the structures could be kept in better repair. The staff were enthusiastic and very good with children.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo also viewed

 
Mammoth Cave National Park, KY
 

Been to Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.