We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Renovations at Comfort Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Harlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Harlan to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Harlan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2608 South Highway 421, Harlan, KY 40831 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harlan
Scarbro, West Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice Renovations at Comfort Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My sister and I visited our aunt in Harlan recently. We stayed at the Comfort Inn (formerly the Holiday Inn Express).

Room: Completely renovated. Tastefully decorated, clean. Great little refrigerator with separate freezer (mini-sized--wish I could have taken it with me!). The bathroom was also brand new, clean and nicely decorated. Our room was 230 (on the end facing the Catholic Church). It was quiet and not far from the elevator--in fact, none of the rooms are that far from the elevator).

Hotel in general: The lobby is small and functional, with free chocolate chip & oatmeal raisin cookies across from the elevator. The breakfast buffet is very good--decent variety, well prepared and clean. Lots of nice little café tables and a large flat-screen TV to keep you informed. Nice heated pool, but no exercise room.

Environs: Not much going on in Harlan these days. Like many coal-mining towns, it is past its prime. Lots of retirees and not many food choices. What they do have is found on the main road through town. Did you know there are elk in the mountains? Would love to see some!

Room Tip: Not much traffic in front of the hotel, so rooms in front are probably fairly quiet. Our room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Harlan, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent reveiw. Our staff and management appreciate all the nice things that you said about the Comfort Inn in Harlan. We hope if your travels find you in Harlan again that you will once again choose to stay with us. Best Regards, Cindy Addison, Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
1
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Me n my boyfriend was just there on Saturday... The rooms were very clean n nice also the beds were very comfortable along with pillows were amazing. We were really glad we got to sleep good :) but we were hoping for a hot tub in the indoor pool room but we swim in the pool, it was very cold in there. We had awesome free breakfast there can't complain!! We will definitely come back again for now on!! Mount aire was terrible there and their beds felt like a hospital bed, their rooms were nasty looks like it's not a nice place there that I will not go back there again!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Harlan, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for review of the Comfort Inn Harlan. We appreciate your positive comments about our property. Great to hear that on your next visit you will select our property again. Best Regards, Cindy Addison, Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went to Harlan recently for a High School football reunion and stayed at the Comfort Inn. Was I ever pleasantly surprised. As run down as everything has become in Harlan County this motel was clean, very well kepted up, quiet, good parking, great location, and had a very friendly staff. Also the breakfast was excellent, and the breakfast area had plenty of tables. I had heard that Mount Aire Motel was pretty bad so I am really glad I picked the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Harlan, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our Comfort Inn Harlan, KY. The Staff and property are great. We are very proud of the Staff and Management at the hotel. We too are glad you chose to stay with us and hope on your next visit to the Harlan area you will once again stay with us. Until then, Safe travels........Cindy Addison, Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When we arrived the staff was outside smoking and we had to let them know we were there to check In. Later we tried to call the office several times and there was no answer. The next morning WE had to go outside and find the staff who was smoking to tell them we were ready to check out.
The POOL was too cold to swim.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Harlan, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We apologize in reference to your comments about our staff. We use our TripAdvisor reviews as a training tool and I can assure you that this review will be discussed with our staff. This is not our standards and we appreciate you for letting us know. We do hope on your next visit to Harlan that you will give us another try. Safe Travels and Best Regards, Cindy Addison, Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBUS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My hometown club, Rosenwald Harlanites, Inc., has been meeting in Harlan every other year since the late 1980's. We have blocked rooms at the current Comfort Inn ever since it opened as a Best Western in 1993. This year's experience was the very best ever. The remodelling, the new elevator, and the new management style were awesome!! As a result, coming home was extra special. We are all looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the hallways are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Harlan, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and your recent reveiw of the Comfort Inn in Harlan. The Staff and management have been looking forward to your group's arrival. I am so glad to hear that you all had such a great time. We look forward to your next gathering in Harlan. Best Regards, Cindy Addison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had several family members come to Harlan for a reunion and booked 3 rooms at the Comfort Inn. I arrived early with my granddaughters and, although our room wasn't ready, the staff let my granddaughters swim until things were ready.

The breakfast was delicious (much better than you might expect for a free breakfast at a hotel) and the staff was MORE than accommodating,

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: on the 1st floor there is a room with a hot tub --- it looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Harlan, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Comfort Inn in Harlan, KY. We first want to say Thank you for selecting our hotel for your family members. Second, we are so happy that you all had a great time during your stay. The Staff and Management pride themselves on taking care of our guests. We hope on your next trip to Harlan, you will once again stay with us. Best Regards and Safe Travels, Cindy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my families first stay here. It used to be a different hotel. All my in-laws live in Gordon Ky which is about a 40min drive from Comfort Inn. We wanted to have some privacy so we decided to stay at a hotel. We really enjoyed the new place!! There was a little confusion with my reservation at first but they fixed it immediately! The hotel was very busy..we were there on the 4th of July. But my check in was very quick. Wanda was excellent to us from the time I made my reservation from the time we checked in. Rooms were very clean and comfortable!! Lots of room in the bathroom..we had a dbl room. Breakfast was really good. I wish they had kept going an hr later. Other then that food was delicious!! They ran out of things pretty quick..biscuits, eggs, sausage but there was more within minutes. Like I said it was a very busy time so that may not typically happen often. If so you didn't wait long to get new. I had asked for a late check out..Brittany at the front desk took care of us with no problem!! I adored Brittany she gave me a lot of information regarding my choice privileges that I wasn't aware of..it had been awhile when I stayed at a choice hotel so she made sure I was up to date..& gave me my points without me asking. She's really great and good at her at job!! Pool was nice and clean as well as the area. I can honestly say I have no complaints..we come to visit my family ALOT and that will def be my home away from home for sure!! Pets are welcome too!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Harlan, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks you so much for your recent review of the Comfort Inn Harlan, KY. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Your comments on our staff members are appreciated. We do have great people working for us. On your next visit to Harlan, we hope to see you. Best Regards and Safe Travels, Cindy Addison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Harlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Harlan

Address: 2608 South Highway 421, Harlan, KY 40831 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Harlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Harlan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Comfort Inn, Harlan our priority is to meet your every need and expectation! This newly renovated hotel offers spacious rooms with king or two full beds and suites that will make you feel a touch of home. We start the morning with the Free hot breakfast from 6:30am to 9:30am. Free high speed wireless internet access in all guests rooms and lobby. The Comfort Inn, Harlan is a pet friendly hotel. We understand pets become a part of the family and need to travel with their family too. However, we do ask that you sign a pet contract at check-in. Located in downtown Harlan, the Comfort Inn is convenient to the Harlan Appalachian Regional Hospital and many other business locations. The hotel is nestled in the valley of Kentucky’s Pine Mountains and beautiful year round. We are just a 45 minute drive from Middlesboro Kentucky. The Comfort Inn Harlan is a completely renovated facility with a huge luxurious indoor pool, and deluxe spa room accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Harlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harlan Hotel Harlan
Holiday Inn Harlan
Harlan Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Harlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.