We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Newcastle

The Village Newcastle
2/44 Beaumont St | Newcastle, Hamilton, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly The Village)
02 4969 8900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

An absolutely wonderful experience with some very very tasty dishes. We had the prawn saganaki and pan fried calamari to start, which was extremely enjoyable along with our Mythos beers. Our main arrived with timely perfection. The slow-cooked lamb was absolutely tremendous and probably the best lamb I've had outside of Greece. The lovely lemon flavour was great and the meat fell off the bone with the lightest touch of a fork. It was perfectly matched with the Greek salad, of which the feta was to die for! We couldn't fit in dessert but we will return to try them! Very friendly staff and well priced. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    8
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having moved here 6 months ago we went in search of a good local cafe... Hamilton has an abundance but we stopped looking once we found this place!
Quick, fresh and really friendly staff make this cafe a win for us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have tried the Village for breakfast and dinner several times now and have never had a bad experience. The service is always super friendly and efficient and the food is always delicious. I am obsessed with their crumbed eggs with bacon jam!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Went there on recommendation food bad. Service good had Greek breakfast. Eggs were not cooked so they took it back and microwaved them until they no longer resembled eggs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bland bland bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

First time here at the village. For breakfast and t had Greek breakfast eggs not cooked had to get re cooked as I wanted eggs SUNY side up they ended up fossilised coffee good. Flavour of food bland presentation not good. Would not be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Newcastle also viewed

Hamilton, Greater Newcastle
Hamilton, Greater Newcastle
 
Hamilton, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Village Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.