We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your 'A' game (else bring plenty of balls)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Run Golf Course

Mahogany Run Golf Course
1 Mahogany Run Road, North Side 00802, St. Thomas
340-777-6250, 800-253-7103
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in North Side
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This championship par-70, 18-hole golf course, designed by Tom Fazio, overlooks the Caribbean Sea with sweeping views of the British Virgin Islands, and features the "Devil's Triangle," a three-hole challenge that often stumps the best of golfers.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bring your 'A' game (else bring plenty of balls)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My inaugural visit to Mahogany Run was on an absurdly hot/humid late October day... combined with my lack of knowledge about where to hit (with so many blind shots it'd take several plays to have a good handle on line & distance) and a number of errant shots, I posted a miserably high score after losing a half-dozen balls. It's perhaps the hardest short course I've ever played.
Nevertheless, I'd go back in a heartbeat: very fast pace of play (for a resort course), good (but not great) manicuring, very good quality rental clubs & shoes, and exceptionally beautiful scenery (esp when you hit your second shot at The Devil's Triangle).
But, seriously, if you can't control where you hit your ball... bring plenty of 'em!! :))

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous location for a photo shoot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Mahogany Run Golf Course is one of the most beautiful golf courses I have ever been to for a photo shoot location. I have been shooting catalogs for fashion and golf for 25 years and traveled all over to shoot many golf courses. The view from the 14th hole tee box is fantastic. Crashing waves from the ocean with incredible vistas. The staff at the golf course were very friendly and accommodating to us. As a matter of fact, the staff all over the property was so professional and welcoming--the Mahogany Grill served us up some tasty food! The course appeared very well manicured with iguanas enjoying the scenery also! The golf pro was stellar in his demonstrations for our crew, making incredible difficult shots and giving useful tips for us golfers on the crew. The pro shop was very well-stocked. We had a great time--they made it easy and successful! It is such an easy flight from the US mainland to get here--a "no brainer" for someone who loves to play golf on a challenging course with breath-taking views!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Be-Deviling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Enjoyed playing Mahogany Run in March 2012. Course was in good condition, but you must understand that St. Thomas is basically a volcanic dessert island and fresh water is at a premium. Therefore the turf is not as lush as you might expect. You are playing on Bermuda grass so unless you are accustomed to it, it will be a challenge getting used to. Devil's Triangle is the highlight of the round so bring a camera to capture what are sure to be some of the most scenic golf holes you'll every play. Rental clubs are up to date Callaway woods and irons and the pro shop is fully stocked. The cart staff is top notch and very cordial. Sandwiches are made to order at the snack shack. I highly recommend playing Mahogany Run if you get the chance!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Resort priced, but the views are worth it, great Taylor Made RBZ rental clubs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We played this course two years ago (2010) and course condition was marginal, with a lot of repair work underway. We played it this week (Oct '12) and we were pleased to see that they have worked hard to improve the condition of the course. The greens are in excellent condition and the overall condition and maintenance of the course was very good. Staff was helpful and friendly.
Only need the driver on a couple of holes, premium on good iron play and reading the breaking greens. Some of the best grill food on the island. However the highlight of the course are the awesome views of the BVI's and St. John, especially on 13 and 14.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Challenging course, very narrow. The signature holes are gorgeous, overlooking the ocean. The rest of the course is pretty but not spectacular. Great service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Run Golf Course also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Mahogany Run Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Run Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mahogany Run Golf Course to your Saves list