We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary

Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary
Gulu Highway, Nakitoma, Uganda
+256-77-2713410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Nakitoma
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary is the only place in Uganda where you can see rhino in the wild. This conservation project is self sustained and the activities fees that are paid by you is our source of income. The activities offered by RHINO FUND UGANDA are : On foot rhino trekking, Birding walks, Shoebill canoe rides and Nature Walks.The accommodations on the sanctuary are privately managed by the respective owners and consists of - Ziwa Rhino Lodge and Amuka Safari Lodge.
kampala
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“quiet environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

we moved all the way from kampala to see the uganda rhinos at Ziwa sanctuary, we reached on time because its not far and we inned saw the rhinos in the shortest possible time however by the time i visited the sanctuary they had no enough accommodation faccilities .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhinoFundUganda, General Manager at Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
I would like to correct your statement about the accommodations. Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary has two different accommodations that caters for the full financial scope.
1. Camping Site that can accommodate at least 50 tents - Camping rates
2. Back Packer rooms that can accommodate at least 20 people - Budget rates
3. Guest houses that can accommodate at least 12 people - Mid Range rates
4. Amuka Safari Lodge that can accommodate at least 16 people - Mid to high end rates
So if you add all this together the sanctuary can COMFORTABLY sleep approximately 100 people !! I have no idea where you got your information from but it is incorrect and I respectfully request that you make sure of information before placing it on public sites.
Respectfully Yours
Angie Genade
Executive Director, Rhino Fund Uganda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    72
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rhinos up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This sanctuary is really good. The guides took us for an early morning guided walk amongst the rhinos and we were within 10 yeards of them, on the ground, for an hour. Excellent guides, knowledgeable and the feeling that we were doing some good in protecting them as well. Great stuff!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I did not expect to get to the rhinos that close. This was almost close up and personal. The whole family loved it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped at the Rhino Sancuary on our way to a safari in Murchison Falls National Park. A ranger/guide took us on a walk through the jungle, and we were lucky to spot four rhinos quite close, one of them a baby. It was just amazing! This was our first experience with the wildlife in Africa, and what a start! It was incredible to be able to watch these big animals from about 20 meters distance. Rhinos are such beautiful animals!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Experience the Rhino while they are still here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Rhino project is doing a great job, trying to reintroduce the rhino in Uganda.
Until the Rhinos are back in Murchinson Falls, this is a great place to see and learn about the Rhinos.
Accommodation is available at a reasonable price.
Food is basic - but available!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhinoFundUganda, General Manager at Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and appreciation.
Rhino Fund Uganda would like to make clear that the restaurants and accommodations are privately owned and managed.
The conservation efforts and rhino program is managed by Rhino Fund Uganda.
For clients looking for alternative meals or accommodation within the sanctuary, they can get prices and availability from Amuka Lodge. You can visit their website for more details.
Executive Director
Rhino Fund Uganda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary also viewed

 
Ssese Islands, Central Region
Entebbe, Central Region
 

Been to Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.