We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhino's in the wild, not in a zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary

Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary
Gulu Highway, Nakitoma, Uganda
+256-77-2713410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Nakitoma
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary is the only place in Uganda where you can see rhino in the wild. This conservation project is self sustained and the activities fees that are paid by you is our source of income. The activities offered by RHINO FUND UGANDA are : On foot rhino trekking, Birding walks, Shoebill canoe rides and Nature Walks.The accommodations on the sanctuary are privately managed by the respective owners and consists of - Ziwa Rhino Lodge and Amuka Safari Lodge.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Rhino's in the wild, not in a zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed overnight in the budget accommodation to get a good start in the morning. Leaving Entebe at 4.00pm we got caught in the rush-hour and didn't arrive until 9.30pm. Our vehicle was accordingly escorted into the Reserve by a motor-bike but dinner was still served for us (albeit in the open-air with various bugs flying around). The accommodation was basic but comfortable with an even more basic shower/toilet block. No lighting in the morning which was awkward as it was still dark when we were getting dressed for a 7.00am breakfast (don't forget your torch). After breakfast we were provided with wellies for the trek (very necessary, and even though I take size 12 shoes size 11 fitted me (fortunately, as it was the largest available). We were told all about the background of the sanctuary and led through the marshy bush until we came across some adult and baby white rhinos. We were all surprised how close we could get to them and compared with our trips to National Parks this was probably the highlight. Our party of 7 was taken to see the Rhinos on our own - there was nobody else staying there - although other people were around awaiting a trip when we returned. We only saw white rhinos as the black ones were elsewhere in the reserve although we didn't feel rushed and I believe that if we had wanted to do so we would probably have been taken to find them. One tip - we got bitten somehow on our legs even though we were wearing trousers so make sure your legs are fully protected.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    72
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Rhinos, Loved Obama. Fee went to a good cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited as part of a safari package.

Don't go expecting to get the Rhinos running around. They are very lazy and like to sleep in the shade all day and can be difficult to spot. That said you do get reasonably close to them and the money goes to a good cause. I would go back if I returned to Uganda.

Great staff as well and lunch was delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rhino Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A nice Basic Restaurant with a lovely Bush Feel.
The walk with the Rhinos is not to be missed. The Rangers are very knowledgeable and helpful. Within and Hour and a half from Kampala, you can be walking with Rhino in their natural Habitat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulu, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great time, it was thrilling being at eye-level with the rhinos and being a part of something so great for a moment in time: a sanctuary that is truly trying to rebuild the rhino population in Uganda. It is special - a top experience in uganda.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice day trip from Kampala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Really a nice place with a good cause at heart. The lodges that are begginning to take form there are looking really good (i did not sleep there tho). The managers are real friendly the guide was really nice, had good english, and really knew his rhinos ! We got to see a mother and two of her offsprings in the same shade ... it was beautiful.
They offer mudboots since you have to hike a bit to find the rhinos.
You really have to get to lunch at the new restaurants after the hike, the menu is simple but nice and tasty ! Really affordable way to see the rhinos !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary also viewed

 
Ssese Islands, Central Region
Entebbe, Central Region
 

Been to Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.