We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCUBA Refuge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) to your Saves list
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
West KY Hwy 1711, HC 60, Box 562, Greenup, KY 41144   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
1 review
“SCUBA Refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The Refuge is nice. Items are being placed for divers and fish. Parking is not the best (drop off your gear and park at the lodge), but the water quality and fish life make up for that. They don't have a dive shop or air fills yet, but they are working on that and handicap access for divers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on Greenbo Lake and our new scuba refuge! We most certainly appreciate all your input to make it the best it possibly can be as this is a new venture for Kentucky State Parks. Please contact me for any questions, concerns or suggestions you may have while visiting Greenbo Lake and our scuba refuge. Caryq.lyle@ky.gov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent the Labor Day weekend at Greenbo and had a wonderful time. The lodge rooms themselves are basic hotel rooms. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. Each room also has a little deck on the back with chairs. The kids really enjoyed the pools. We rented a pontoon boat from the marina and cruised around the lake one evening. It was awesome. Beautiful and extremely memorable. One of our favorite things about the lodge was the restaurant. They serve awesome buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate there every day and were really pleased with the variety. I'm a vegetarian and there were plenty of options for me too. Awesome country cooking. The staff was awesome and eager to please. There are hiking trails right outside the door and they were awesome. We took a little hike one night after dinner and saw a mama deer with baby and several frogs and lizards. The kids were in heaven. I highly recommend this place. We are going to make it a Labor Day weekend tradition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for the nice review on Greenbo Lake. Please contact me upon your next vist and let us know any needs you may have during your plans to come visit us next Labor Day. Thank you again! Caryq.lyle@ky.gov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Exellent staff. Very clean and extremely Quiet facility.The room was very comfortable with a soft bed and nice linen. The shower had a strong stream. No unusual smells.We stayed on the first floor so we had a back door that looked out on a tiny patio with 2 chairs. We walked down in the back to a beautiful fishing pier. Wished we had taken our poles. It looked promising for fishing.
The lake was very clear.
The Continental breakfast was normal with rolls and coffee and juice.
The buffet was very tasty with fried chicken, catfish, and alfredo.
Everything was priced reasonable.
We were disappointed that there was no newspapers to buy.
We loved the wooden rocking chairs out on the porch.
I would love to stay there again. Nice place for senior citizens.
We were celebrating our 47th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review on Greenbo Lake. Please contact me upon your next stay and we will make sure you get a newspaper and anything else you may need while with us. Caryq.lyle@ky.gov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from taking our 2 grandchildren, ages 5 & 7, to Greenbo Lake State Park for a week. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed the lodge, with its huge fireplace & gigantic coffee tables in the lobby that are perfect for playing board games! Our spacious third-floor room had 2 comfortable double beds & a private balcony just right for reading & watching the birds & squirrels. The dining room had a splendid view of the lake & offered delicious meals - we ate catfish till I thought we'd burst, & the kids really pigged out on ice cream with fudge syrup! We took along some artificial flowers for decorating the older, no-longer-tended gravestones in the park's tiny cemetery, & also took our own golf balls & favorite putters for the cute little mini-golf course. The kids LOVED the Foosball tables in the basement rec room & the pontoon boat we rented for 4 hours, & they had a ball swimming in the lodge pool [with large separate kiddie pool] & also in the near-by community pool. We saw at least a dozen deer in the park that were close enough that we got good photos of them, & there was a magnificent blue heron & some baby geese down at the lake. The entire park, with its gorgeous lake, well-equipped playgrounds, historic one-room schoolhouse, old iron ore furnace, numerous hiking trails, & absolute peace & quiet, is our favorite place in this part of the country! It's definitely off-the-beaten-path, but it's well worth the effort to spend a few days here. We've been coming back every year since our first visit in 1976, & we'll be there again in 2014.

Room Tip: There are ground-level, "accessible" rooms available which offer patios, but we prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently stayed at Greenbo Lake State Park and loved it. The staff were super nice and the Park Manager even greeted us and checked on us during our stay. The restaurant was good for a park, but the Chef prepared a steak for me that was not even on the menu and was fantastic, WOW! The lake was one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, definately rent a pontoon and cruise that lake. We caught fish all morning as a deer watched us from the shore. We will be back.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor, vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and please contact me the upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have now stayed twice at this lodge located at Greenbo State Park in eastern Kentucky. This is an older lodge and the rooms do show it's age for the most part, however, if you stay here knowing that it isn't a 5 star hotel and not expecting it to have all the poshness of a nicer hotel, you may just find that the down home feeling here is good enough to overcome it's shortfalls. I love the location personally, although you must note it is pretty far off the beaten path. Come with all you need for your stay. The onsite restaurant is buffet style and I do not give it high marks, only average. You should be able to find something on there that appeals to you unless you are very picky. The rooms are large enough, the bed is comfy enough, and what I love is the fact you either have an extra door that opens to a roomy lawn area, or to a balcony if you stay on the second or third floor. I prefer the lower floor since I love to open my door and hear the birds and sit out on my back porch area. Now, the décor is dated, but the room was clean. The price is very reasonable and the staff was super friendly. There is a nice common area in the main lobby with comfy oversized furniture and a fireplace. Down in the lower level is a pool table and ping pong table. There is an outdoor pool, small lake for fishing or canoeing and some hiking trails. I like the outdoorsy feel here but I know it may not be for everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms seem extremely well insulated from sound. The lower floor has direct access to a small p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again, we most certainly appreciate your patronage. Please contact me on your next stay with us, thank you again for chosing Greenbo Lake State Resort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Structurally, Kentucky State Park lodges are very similar - the architecture, amenities, facilities, and peaceful, though remote, settings. The similarity stops there for this lodge. The dining room was closed (the nearest food was miles away, at a country store/deli), except for a pathetic continental breakfast. My TV remote control batteries (AAA) were dead - the clerk couldn't find AAA's, so rather than provide me with a remote from another room (of which there were plenty), I was stuck changing channels and sound manually. What struck me most odd was the absence of FOX News - though listed on the channel guide, it could not be received (but CNN, MSNBC, and the major networks were all available). No explanation was available.
My wife and I have been staying at Kentucky Park lodges for 30 years - never again.

Room Tip: nearly all rooms have wonderful views; some overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Please contact me personally at caryq.lyle@ky.gov we would love another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)

Address: West KY Hwy 1711, HC 60, Box 562, Greenup, KY 41144
Location: United States > Kentucky > Greenup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) Hotel Greenup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.