We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room without a view. TVs unacceptable by anyone's standards.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Turtle Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Turtle Bay Resort
Save
You added Green Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
263 Green Turtle Bay Drive, Cumberland River Marker 32, Grand Rivers, KY 42045   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Home for the Holidays
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Rivers
Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Room without a view. TVs unacceptable by anyone's standards.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

When I booked the house I was assured it had a lake view. My husband and I were looking forward to three days of relaxing on the deck watching the boats go by. When I checked in I asked again if the house had a lake view and was told there was. There was not! It was more of a ditch view. A nice staff person showed us other houses but both of the ones we looked at were worse than the one we were in. Like their lake views, they also claim to have wireless internet, which did not work (ever) during our three-day stay. So without a view we decided to watch some Netflix movies we brought but we were disappointed again when the television set, better served as a boat anchor, showed everything in fuzzy pastel colors. Come on--buy a $200 set at Walmart or stop renting your place. So, while you are not watching boats or TV, or surfing the net, don't plan on a nap either. The bedroom window is huge, does not face the ditch, and has super thin mini blinds so it is super bright in there pretty much dawn to dusk. Still, for the price, it wasn't a rip off, but was certainly not the weekend we had planned. We do recommend the restaurant in town called Patti's--the pork chops are really, really great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

This is an interesting place to stay. They have many differents sizes of rental and personnal condos, a 500 slip marina, separate boat rental facility, indoor and outdoor pools, exersize facility, a place to eat breakfast and lunch with a separate place to eat supper. It is also close to the town of Grand Rivers.

The only down side to the condo was the condition of the furniture and carpet. The patio furniture was so disgusting looking even after cleaning with a strong soap that we never used it. The living room furniture and all of the carpeting either needed to be professionally cleaned or replaced. For the price they charge, everything should have been much nicer in the condo.

All of the staff was extremely nice to us throughout the resort. We were really pleased the Health club and indoor pool.‎

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We have stayed at green turtle bay many times in the last couple of years after we discovered how great it was. We have stayed in the one bedroom and the two bedroom condos on the bay. Wonderful atmosphere. You can sit out on your private deck and watch the ducks on the water, or the squirrels playing in the trees. Not every condo is decorated or furnished the same. Some are better than others. Very quiet place. There is lot to do around Grand Rivers. A must is Patti's Settlement and restaurant. We have never gotten anything that was not delicious. It was my Mother's birthday and the waiter serenaded her with Happy Birthday and brought her a cherry cheesecake tart. We had a great trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We have gone to Green Turtle Bay for the past two years in July for a weekend with the kids. We stayed in a one-bedroom condo---not plush, but certainly fine. The kids slept in a fold out in the living room and we got the bedroom.

We enjoyed the full kitchen and the close proximity to the pool--- it was right outside our door. We enjoyed renting a pontoon boat one of the days for 1/2 day---expensive but so much fun. The onsite yacht club (where every guest is given a temporary membership for the duration of the stay) had great food, nice ambience. The Dockside Grill was great for lunch, too. We ate on the screened-in porch overlooking the water. However, you absolutely MUST, MUST eat in Grand River's at Patti's Settlement or Bill's (same restaurant) while you are there for the 1 inch pork chop, flower pot bread with strawberry butter, and decadent desserts! Reservations are required for dinner, strongly suggested for lunch.

As for Green Turtle Bay Resort, everything is withing walking distance or you can rent a golf cart. The kids enjoyed playing at the sand beach, on the playground, and of course, the pool with the waterslide.

I enjoyed an early morning run around the resort---so scenic.

This will be a yearly destination for us.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We have family in the area so we stay here often. We love this place. There is plenty to do, from shuffleboard to tennis, fishing or just hanging at the pool. We enjoy renting a golf cart and driving into town to eat at Pattis, going shopping and just tooling around. If around be sure to hit the LBL (land between the lakes) its a great area!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 263 Green Turtle Bay Drive, Cumberland River Marker 32, Grand Rivers, KY 42045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Grand Rivers
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation condominium, marina & spa resort on beautiful Lake Barkley in Western Kentucky. Located in the unique Village Between the Lakes, Grand Rivers, KY. Amenities also include Jade & Earth Spa, indoor pool and health center, walking trails, beach area, boat rentals and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Bay Hotel Grand Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.