We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Rib's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. BBQ and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mr. BBQ and Breakfast
270 Dover Road, Grand Rivers, KY
270-362-4445
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Calhoun, KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rib's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

For a Saturday night meal in this wonderful little town we went to Mr. B-B-Q and we both had very wonderful meals of delicious Bar-B-Que Ribs. They were very tastey with tender fall off the bone meat. The unique thing is that we had had lunch at a much more prominently named Bar-B-Que location that was a disappointing experience so we were happy to find good Bar-B-Que in Grand Rivers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    2
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good breakfast~”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The restaurant is not fancy at all. We've eaten breakfast there a few times and the restaurant is fairly clean and the waitress is always friendly. The things that we dislike the most are the group of men that gather every morning that cuss and smoke. We hesitate to go there because of this but we try to get a table away from them if we can. The food is good and it's fast too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We enjoyed the breakfast. The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly. The only downside was that people smoke in the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have traveled all over sampling BBQ, belong to several BBQ organizations, and have cooked competitively. So I was very excited to try Mr. BBQ. That excitement ceased real quick. I had the pulled pork, baked beans, and coleslaw. I had tea, it was so light/weak that my wife couldn't tell it from the water she ordered. The sandwich buns were smashed and the it wasn't hot. The baked beans tasted like green peppers and the coleslaw tasted like they just dumped mayo into shredded cabbage. The BBQ was not true BBQ. It tasted like it came from a crockpot. Upon on checkout you can see the kitchen, and if I would've seen it before I wouldn't left. I counted at least 5 health code violations and it was topped off with one of the cooks smoking in the middle of the kitchen around the food. Trust me, thats the only smoke you're gonna get there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very casual, but had a good first visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After hiking with out of town friends in 105 degree heat in the park locals call LBL, we needed a break. We drove just outside the north end of the park to this place, for cold iced tea, barbeque and fried okra. It refreshed us enough to drive down to see the bison.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. BBQ and Breakfast also viewed

 

Been to Mr. BBQ and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. BBQ and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.