We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rose Among Thorns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Vandalay Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Frankfort
Choctaw, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Rose Among Thorns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The title should say a lot. The hotel is located conveniently at the edge of a small shopping complex. The good news is you can walk to several locations for food & other conveniences. The bad news is (if any) is the noise level rises due to increased traffic outside the hotel.

As most who have read my previous reviews know, we usually stop for the night; no side trips, as was the case here. We were hungry after an 8 hour drive and an early breakfast. Fortunately, there was a Panera Bread across the parking lot from the entrance to the hotel.

The room smelled and seemed clean which was to be refuted when I stepped into the shower. Once in a room I tend to go barefoot, which was the case here in Frankfort. Well, once in the tub, blackness revealed where my feet once stood! My guess is the carpets require shampooing!

Everything else was to the same excellent standards I expect of a H. I. E.

Room Tip: Hard to say, the west side fronts parking lots of businesses in the mall area, the east side faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfrankfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The HI Express staff really appreciate the time you took to review and the areas where we can do better.


Thank you,


Jerred Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
16
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
travelpro123
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am normally full of praise for the new Holiday Inn Express hotels. This location in Frankfort is disappointing. The hotel and its rooms and general areas are somewhat dated, the receptionist was not welcoming. Sleep quality was good, you hear a little bit the nearby interstate; however the sounds from the hallway are transmitted “live” through large gaps between the door and the frame into your room. Not pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfrankfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am sorry that your stay did not meet the expectations that we had hoped to set. We are trying refresh the looks of the hotel to provide a more comfortable experience. I do thank you for the input of how we can do a better job.


Thank you,

Jerred Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The friendly service the moment I walked in won me over. Upon checking in, I was greeted with a sign that welcomed Priority Club members with my first name on it. When I got to my room, I received a free bottled water and granola bar. The room was MUCH bigger than I thought it would be and it ended up having a jacuzzi in it when I didn't request it. (Thank you!) The room was very clean and it was quiet on the floor. The free breakfast bar was delicious with fresh and hot biscuits, gravy, waffles, bacon, sausage links, as well as fruit and yogurt and various drink options. I would stay here again for the cleanliness & friendly service. The beds were extremely comfortable and I got a good nights rest. Nearby there are quite a few restaurant options and across the road is Kroger grocery store as well as Walmart on the other side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfrankfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I want to thank you for the nice review of our hotel. The staff appreciates the time you took to review us. We will try to keep up the good work.

Jerred Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

we stayed here in March of this year and had a ton of problems with the plumbing in our room. When we complained to the front desk the clerks only response was "oh I'll tell maintenance". We explained that our toilet wouldn't flush, the sink was very slow to drain, and hot water was non existent. We then complained to Holiday Inn express directly and their response was to put it again back on the management of the motel. We were promised a discount on our stay and that was over a month ago.......no refund. Our advise is to keep driving and go to a motel that cares about their clientele and their needs.(like working plumbing!)

Room Tip: drive to another motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear 151Kat,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Day Inn Express in Frankfort while on business for one night. It had nice decor but the thing I liked most was its cleanliness. It is not a new hotel by any means, but it is very well kept. There were a few broken tiles on the floor in the bathroom and a few scuff marks on the wall but overall great. I just got the standard room since I was only staying one night, but to my surprise there was a nice refrigator and a stainlesss steel microwave in the room. The rooms are not huge, but certainly ample with high ceilings. Good bed and pillows. Bedding was nice. Towels could have been more lush, but did the job. I had a light snack at the free breakfast bar in the morning. Although I did not each much, I noticed there was biscuits, gravy, eggs, pancakes, sausage, bagels, cereal, and the basic morning foods and drinks. I have stayed at another Frankfort hotel before and this one is certainly the better choice. Excellent stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is a little hard to get to. In the front there is this weird parking lot with a arm or gat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL, USA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were driving from Charleston, SC to Chicago and stopped at Frankfort. It is very easy to find at an exit just north of I-64 in Frankfort. At check-in there was a family in front of me and they were hillbillies without a clue and the father was so rude and obnoxious. The front desk clerk, though, was fantastic, de-fused what could have become a nasty situation -- my compliments to her. We had a wonderful room, very large and very clean. That same desk clerk recommended a nearby Italian restaurant for a dinner delivery, and we enjoyed a really good dinner in our room while watching Notre Dame on television defeat USC (my wife is a huge ND fan). This was a great place to stay, and for breakfast for a change of pace (something different than an H.I. Express) there are two nearby choices: Frisch's and Shoney's. We went to Shoney's, and it was the best breakfast we had had in a long time. But, back to the H.I. Express -- it was a great place to stay overnight!

Room Tip: Book a suite room -- the one we had was very large, including 2 TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddyville, KY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I am currently day one into a two day stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Frankfort. Personal business, and the price was right. The staff, although somewhat robotic, were polite and efficient. Check in took about two minutes (I had reserved online) and I was in my room within ten.

Rooms were fairly clean. A bit of peeling wallpaper here, some slight corner mildew in the tub there. The cleaning staff must have just left Paris Island because the creases on the beds could cut you! Very little dust could be found. The bedside lights was missing one CFL lamp however. Neat and tidy.

When I returned from the end of my work day the room was clean again and new towels placed in the bath. Coffee pot was in room, as well as microwave and fridge. Snacks and ice are available on every floor if you are so inclined. Free breakfast was nice. Bacon, eggs, biscuits, gravy, pancakes--all bad for you--plus cereals, bagels, and juice/coffee. Beat going out at 0630. But very tasty!

This hotel is within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants, which beats out the hotels on the other end of the Interstate. Kind of at the busier exit. There is a pool and work out facility as well.

Only issue I had was at 1230AM Sunday morning when some kind of party broke out in the room above me. It got so bad--it was as if the people above me had a Pogo stick party going--I tried calling the front desk twice. No answer. Rather than go up and flash tin to the offenders, I opted for ear plugs and got a good nights sleep thereafter.

Nice bright parking facility out front. Seems secure.

Still here but so far so good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort

Address: 1000 Vandalay Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Frankfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Frankfort, Kentucky brings history, business and tourism together. The hotel is located just minutes from the historic Kentucky State Capitol, Governor s Mansion, and Kentucky State University. Guests can enjoy Historic Downtown Frankfort, World Famous Rebecca Ruth Bourbon Candy Factory as well as the Kentucky Bourbon Trail including Woodford Reserve, Buffalo Trace, Makers Mark, Wild Turkey, Jim Beam, and Four Roses Distilleries. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is within walking distance of several places to dine. Horse lovers will enjoy the short distances to both the Kentucky Horse Park which hosts the 2010 Equestrian games as well as Keenland race track and Lakeside Arena. Frankfort, Kentucky is also the final resting place for American Hero Daniel Boone. Frankfort, Kentucky is situated between Louisville International Airport and Bluegrass Airport in Lexington right off I-64 exit 53 B, The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is Frankfort, Kentucky's best option for lodging. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites has 67 rooms, including 3 Jacuzzi suites, indoor-heated swimming pool, Free Hot Breakfast, 24-hour guest laundry, fitness center, business center, HSIA, and a lavish 1350 sq. ft. meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Frankfort
Holiday Inn Express Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.