We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best history museum I have ever been to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History

Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History
100 W. Broadway, Frankfort, KY
502-564-1792
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Attractions in Frankfort
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best history museum I have ever been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The museum layout is excellent. It follows a circular pattern and historically takes you through the evolution of settlement in Kentucky. It ranged from early Kentucky life, Civil War involvement, farming, tools, medicines, period home life and much more. In addition, they had pull out drawers of artifacts that you could inspect at a closer level. Every historical section offered something different from the previous one. Truly the best historical museum I have ever been to. They also offer tours to the Old State Capitol which we went on. that was interesting too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“This is the way history OUGHT to be presented.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wonderful exhibits as Kentuckians take their history seriously. Ttake a whole afternoon to enjoy. If it's open, research upstairs in the library, one of the largest in the Commonwealth.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Call ahead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to frankfort during the first week of march 2012. As native Kentuckians we decided it would be great to see our state capitol. Checked all the websites,decided on what we wanted to see.Got there and nothing is open.Museum was being renovated,state capitol building was closed to visitors.ALWAYS call places directly.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Loved it! Had no idea there was so much to learn about Kentucky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Definitely worth a stop at this place, operated by the Kentucky Historical Society (great job y'all). We found it through the AAA gem ratings (which have never let us down by the way.)

Not only do you learn about Kentucky, but it is a great way to learn about our country's past as they incorporate this country's history throughout.

- Start in prehistoric times with the earliest humans living in the Kentucky region (came over by landbridge at Siberia).

- Go through the Kentucky Frontier which explains the interactions with the Native Americans and how Kentucky citizens lived through the revolutionary war (lots of drama and controversy!).

- Learned more about the antebellum time period than I have ever known. Great placards AND items on display. They have Abe Lincoln's watch (which apparently plays a big role in the new movie, "Lincoln." Haven't seen it yet, but you can hear the watch ticking. OMG! It's still working!!! Now that, alone, deserves five stars!)

- Of course the Civil War was a huge deal to Kentucky. You learn about the personal impact the war had on people. Very heartbreaking and inspiring stories. Families often stood on both sides of the war. You really feel like you were there.

- And everything after the Civil War - slavery, voting rights, Depression, Economic Development, current day, etc. etc.

- Loved the Governors Hall. Whoever designed this section did an amazing job - wish they could do this for every state!! You can see not just the portrait of every governor, but also each of their individual contributions and what were the current events of the day. Fascinating and I don't even live in this state! Heck, I don't even know anyone in this state!

I have only good things to say about this place. Please support them and take a visit. You will leave smarter and inspired.

Thanks for reading!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Great Experience For the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Clark Center is the best museum in the state and rivals any in the Southern United States. The centerpiece of the museum is entitled the Kentucky Experience and is designed to give an in depth snapshot of the various eras of Kentucky History through the use of audio and digital displays and numerous exhibits placed in their proper historical time period from the mound builders to modern times. Famous items you will see include, a cast of Daniel Boone's skull, one of President Lincoln's watches, Governor Gobels coat (the one he was wearing when he was shot), and thousands of other artifacts that span the history of Kentucky. At times there are also tours of the old state capital located down the street and the old state armory is open on Saturday's.

This is one of the best staffed places and both volunteers and employees are all top notch. I take my children on a day trip here every Summer and they love it and the cost is essentially nothing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History also viewed

 

Been to Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.