We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Winner - America's Worst Motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Fort Wright

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Fort Wright to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Fort Wright
1937 Dixie Highway, Fort Wright, KY 41011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Wright
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Your Winner - America's Worst Motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

9,000 miles across the USA and back gives us a clear champion as the best of the worst. Entire complex smells of smoke (or worse), deadbolt on the room was broken (never a good sign), check in took what seemed like hours (we call it a driver's license), road noise at night was incredible(ly loud), décor was a disaster and breakfast was a joke (literally, a sign said no food was to be taken outside the kitchen area - I did laugh as I walked away foodless for the first time from a free feed)

Rodeway should be embarrassed to have this property in their stable of motels. It made it to the top of the list because the conglomerate taking over US Interstates should know better than individual owners who might not be able to afford upgrades.

It should be shut down like the other motel and nightclub on site. It is the cheapest in the area and the pool was in better nick than the Grand Hyatt in Denver - neither are reasons to stay here.... unless that is, like us you were struggling to name a clear cut worst hotel on your trip

Room Tip: It should be shut down like the other motel and nightclub on site. It is the cheapest in the area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    4
    1
    21
See reviews for
8
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The fire alarm went off at 8am. The scary thing is we slept thru it until the fire department came knocking on our door. The alarm is not loud enough to hear in the rooms and doesn't sound any more like an alarm than it does a buzzing noise that could be found in a seedy hotel. That is a major safety issue and is scary to me that we could have slept too our burning death. I think one of the bunson burners used to cook the meth probably set the alarm off, or the police just wanted an excuse to look for suspects since half of Cincinnatis most wanted list probably stays here. We were told by the fire department we were staying at our own risk if we went back in the hotel that they were tired of coming to this property so we left. Floors covered in crumbs. Both beds had sheets with massive stains. Cigarette burns in one sheet. Lamp was broken in half. Hairs pervasive in the bathroom. Overall disgusted with the stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Don't book here.

Staff yells at one another and is inattentive to customer needs. When we complained about the blood stains and cigarette burns found on our mattress, sheets, and bathroom towels, the response we got back was, "well we'll have to take care of that next time."

This room seems as though it has never been cleaned. When we entered there were "chex mix" scattered on the floor, the stains already mentioned on the mattresses and towels, and the walls were covered with unidentifiable splatters.

Aside from the mess, there was also no toilet paper, no soap, and not enough towels to suit a two-bed room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The worst stay of my life. Do not stay here. Staff is rude! Hotel was extremely stinky! Bed had cigarette burns in it! Bathroom was disgusting! Never will I ever recommend my worst enemy to stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Absolutely worst hotel I have ever visited. There were stains on the bedding, carpet, bathroom walls and even the lamp shade. The hotel staff was incredibly unhelpful. Please be aware that there is a policy stating that if you are in your room for more than 15 minutes after check-in, you will not be able to cancel your reservation if you decide not to stay the night. I took 20 minutes and they still charged us the full rate of the room. The condition of the room was honestly the worst I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoutsville, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were stranded here because of road and bridge closures due to ice. Other local motels were booked and I now know why this one had available rooms....

I don't even know where to begin...

Lobby: sticky floors, outside entrance not cleared of ice or snow, young woman behind counter could not make proper change, even with the assistance of a calculator. Other employees/family members? Barely spoke English and were wearing their jammies.

Room # 1: heater did not work, room was an icebox. Above mentioned employee/family member shuffled down to room, put his hand over the heater spewing cold air, and said "see, it's working". The room was colder than the lobby, I told him it was not working and I demanded another room. Same employee/family member shuffled down to another room and opened the door. It was warm so we moved all of our belongings, including my 84 year old mother.

Room #2: we should have slept in the truck. Nasty, dirty, in desperate need of repair. Mold on walls, wallpaper, ceiling, shower, shower curtain. Nasty yellow stains on floor in bathroom. Peeling paint, fixtures falling off walls, toilet constantly ran. (Their water bill, not mine.)

If the roads were not so bad, we would have drove back to Florence to find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, ON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were travelling south in Aug, and since it was getting late pulled off the highway for the night. BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER!!! Should have kept going for another 5 miles south to Florence where there were plenty of hotels. If only we'd known how close they were, we could have avoided the nightmare of the Rodeway Inn! To say the place is a dump would be a huge understatement! The walls were stained, the carpets were so scary we left our shoes on until we got into bed, the toilet didn't flush properly, and I wouldn't have gotten into that shower to save my life! DO NOT STAY HERE unless filth and squalor are on your bucket list! I complained to Choice Hotels, who passed on my message to the hotel's general manager (aka franchisee), and this was the reply I got: "At the very out set i would like to apologise for all inconvineance caused during your stayed.
Necessary action has been take to relevant department for not keeping up to standard
condition of the motel . House keeping and maintenance departments have been
warned . About the breakfast we always supplied fresh with coffee. Rodeway requires
to supply only COFFEE! Front desk staff has been warned too." The staff has been warned???? Of what? The best staff in the world couldn't make this place decent enough to stay in!! DO NOT go by the good reviews of this dump, or you will be sorry! Go down to Florence and stay somewhere that the owners take pride in providing a clean bed in a clean building!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Fort Wright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Fort Wright

Address: 1937 Dixie Highway, Fort Wright, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Fort Wright
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Wright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Fort Wright reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Wright Ramada
Ramada Fort Wright

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Fort Wright, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.