We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything that was great about the original and none of the bad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walt's Hitching Post

Walt's Hitching Post
3300 Madison Pike, Fort Wright, KY
859-360-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Fort Wright
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything that was great about the original and none of the bad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was not a facelift this was the rebirth of a landmark. The new owners have done a fantastic job of keeping the integrity of this historic restaurant in tact as it was updated. They gave new life and energy to the staff, the building, the smokehouse and the atmosphere without losing any of the decades old historic charm. They honored it's roots by exposing the hidden fireplace and "secret" back rooms. Getting rid of the smoky drop ceiling and updated the beautiful copper ceiling is outstanding. The service was top notch, the staff could not have been friendlier and the food was great. Few times have a seen a restaurant do such a great job breathing life into a landmark.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    4
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service & Food far less than expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ordered ribs & chicken......ribs were tougher than leather & the chicken tasteless.
The drinks ordered with the meal were confused with another order & we received the wrong drinks. When the waiter was advised of the mistake, he went to correct it and came back with another drink....but the wrong drink again.
From the time our order was placed with the waiter, the wait for our meal exceeded one hour. We were completely unhappy with the experience & likely will never go back again.
What a disappointment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Prices are ridiculously high and they charge for every little thing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Let me start by stating the positives-the food was really good, the atmosphere was very nice and the service was good. Now the negatives-the food was way overpriced for what you get and they charge extra for everything that should be included. For example, my wife and I ordered steaks. I wanted garlic butter and she wanted onion and mushrooms for a topping on our steaks. Well, according to the menu, that is part of the steak's toppings. There was no wording on the menu saying that there were extra charges for those things. These weren't considered sides or extras. When I got my bill, I was charged $7.00 extra for these things which is ridiculous. The waitress never said anything about these toppings costing extra. I complained to the manager, but they refused to take the charges off. On top of this, I was charged extra because I wanted sweet potato instead of baked potato. To begin with, their prices for steaks, ribs, and sandwiches are extremely high anyway. I will not be returning to this restaurant unless they drastically lower their prices or get rid of the "extra" charges for everything. I do not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OK by Any Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wife and I have been wanting to go to Walt's since it re-opened. This place has a lot of history going back to No Ky's prime time of fabulous dining establishments in the 50's and 60's. This place was one of them. It has history with us personally, too, as it is the place where we had our rehearsal dinner in 1975. So we were eager to try. The place inside was decorated in the same manner as before, and while one would not consider it modern and updated, it does fit the decor and design of the building. The room we were seated in was decorated in a thoroughbred motif. Very friendly staff and our waiter John, knew his stuff and the menu. We ordered one of the signature dishes to try and see what they were like - so we ordered and split the half rack of ribs and white meat chicken. $3.00 charge to go all white meat, but while that may seem high, we're used to it. The other parts would simply go to waste by us anyway. So why not get what you want? I will caution you that if you are expecting ribs similar to Montgomery Inn, these are not the same. These are served "Memphis style", which means they are meant to chew off the bone, not fall off. And they were just that - chewy. Good sauce, but chewy. The chicken is cooked over a hickory wood fire, and it had plenty of hickory flavor, almost bordering on too much. Mashed potatoes were creamy and tasted very good. House salad was typical, but was fresh and crisp. The bread was the best part - a toasted soft rye smothered in salted butter - Yum !! Generous portions and very good service. The big question is: would we ever go back? Probably not, but not because it's a terrible place or anything like that. It is just not our style of ribs and chicken. On a scale of 1-10, 10 being the best, I'd rate it at a 6.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The food is very good but the service is great. It's the little things that they do. Table is constantly being cleared of dirty dishes, servers wait for the customer to walk by.... bottom line, they get it. CUSTOMER IS TO BE TAKEN CARE OF!!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt's Hitching Post also viewed

 

Been to Walt's Hitching Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt's Hitching Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.