We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound Tavern

The Greyhound Tavern
2500 Dixie Highway, Fort Mitchell, KY
859-331-3767
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love the Greyhound. Have been going there for 40+ years. Food is always good. The Hot Brown and Hot Slaw are among our favorites!!! You won't go wrong ordering their Cod or Fried Chicken. Both are very tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great late menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is an older place with a wonderful history. The food is homestyle, but very well thoughtout menu. Easy on the eyes and the wallet. I will deffinatly be giving this one more attention.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A local contact brought us here and for a good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can't comment about how it used to be (referring to other reviews) but I was pleased with the meal we had here. I ordered the hot slaw - which I had never heard of and really enjoyed it. What looked like it might be a warm soupy acidic slaw turned out to be a pleasant vinegar slaw with lots of sweet vinegar. I then ordered the Fried chicken. Note that I NEVER order chicken when I eat out (based on the idea that even a college student can cook a decent piece of chicken). The chicken had a very flavorful coating and was juicy but not greasy. Very tasty. Others in our group ordered a "hot brown" which is apparently a local dish like a (very) smothered open faced turkey (or ham) sandwich. My friend, the local, was very happy with it. The waitress was pleasant and suggested various new craft beers to accompany our meal. All and all, everyone came away full and satisfied. I would return and suggest it to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Family owned and operated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a family-owned restaurant with deep history in Greater Cincinnati. Easy to get to and the food is very good. You need reservations on Mondays and maybe Tuesdays because they serve their southern fried chicken dinner family style and the place is hoppin'. You will never go wrong with their cod sandwich - for years voted one of the best around this area. They also have an amazing pasta dish, Pasta Gabriel, which is wonderful (it is meatless, but you can add meat). The staff is always accommodating and friendly. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I will make this short and simple. This used to be a place to get away from the chain restaurants and have a good meal with good service. Did not seem to be the case recently. A 20 minute wait quote turned into 55 minutes with no apology. The food was not tasty. The steak was terrible. I know it's not a steak place but based on the cost I would have expected more and in the past it has been better. The Greyhound seems to have lost some of what made it a special non chain evening out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Greyhound Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.