We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tex Mex in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
6825 Houston Road, Florence, KY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 192 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Tex Mex in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I live in the northern Kentucky area and have eaten at most of the Mexican restaurants here (Camino Real, The Real Enchilada, Rio Grande, Abuelos, ect...). The food quality is similar to Abuelos (Abuelos is awesome!) and far better than the rest. Chuy's, however, has better prices than Abuelos and better service. Ask for the creamy jalapeno dip along side your chips and salsa...it's delicious (and free)! and is good for anyone that can't handle spicy dips (it says jalapeno but it isn't really spicy). The regular salsa is awesome but it has some kick to it with a fresh taste on the tongue from a good amount of cilantro in the mix. The meat in the dishes is always fresh and tender and the cheese has a lovely texture and flavor. I highly recommend Chuy's to anyone traveling through or otherwise!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food at chuys is great and only made with fresh ingredients. The service was spectacular! Our waitress kept our drinks refilled and they also give you free sauces and chips! This place has a really neat environment and is a very fun place to take your friends or family. Make sure you try all of the sauces- they are free!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tex-Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food was fresh, made on the premises, delicious and plentiful. The wait-staff were all friendly
and efficient. Only one minor complaint, the music was a little too loud but we still enjoyed our visit and food. Prices were very reasonable, $40 for two adults which included three adult beverages and a 20% tip. We will go back again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Ky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I attended their roll out at Turfway Racetrack but had not been to the restaurant yet. I had the chance last week and was very pleased. The ambiance is great, bright and cheery, with friendly and attentive servers. I would have to say however because it is a fun place the noise level was a little high. The menu is expansive and the food I ordered was served on a "muy caliente" platter. Presentation great and the taste fresh and very Tex-Mex.. If you want to have good food and a great time give them a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious & fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I was not thinking I would like this restaurant, do to the fact that Abuelos is awesome to me. I was wrong! It was a great meal, awesome value & great service. I will be back soon!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuy's also viewed

 

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.