We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Nice Amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Airport Turfway Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Airport Turfway Road to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Airport Turfway Road
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7454 Turfway Road, Florence, KY 41042 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport-Florence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Florence
Warren, MI
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good Value, Nice Amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I stayed here on a road trip to see a museum in the area. The room was extremely nice, offered a large king size bed with a refrigerator/microwave combination. The room was clean, the staff was friendly enough and the breakfast, while not fancy, was appreciated. They even offered a free local paper on a Saturday morning along with the weekend (Friday) USA Today. All in all this place more than lives up to its billing and represents an extremely fair value and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
30
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swartz Creek, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Having read some of the other reviews, I wonder if we were staying in the same place! Coming in off the street we got an AARP room rate of $66/night for a king room. Things I noticed about room were brand new good carpeting, new bed linens, and a good quality clean bedspread. My only negatives were lightbulbs too dim to read by, too few pillows, no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The lobby and breakfast area, as well as hallways, etc. were perfectly clean and well-maintained, as was the exterior of the building and parking areas. There wasn't any coffee in the rooms, but it was available in the lobby 24 hours/day, including make-it-yourself latte and espresso. I'm wondering if people who got the "special" rate of $54 stayed in some other area of the building? We think the location right off the X-way is excellent, as well as the proximity to every possible brand of restaurant and shopping venue. They also offer a computer in the lobby for internet access, so you can check your e-mail if you need to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

The highlights of this hotel are the location and amenities: business center, continental breakfast, "fitness center" (bike and treadmill), guest laundry, and basic cable. The hotel also offers a discount for nearby eating establishments (within walking distance).

Keep a close eye on the schedule at nearby Turfway Park...as the room rates will double during events. I stay here on business while working in Cincy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, but dated from heavy occupancy.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

We needed a quick place to stay overnight on our way to the Smoky Mountains, and we ended up in Cincinnati near the South Airport entrance. There are a lot of hotels in the area, and most of them are in the $125-$200 range. We just wanted a clean place that had breakfast and Internet access.

The Red Roof Inn was cheap (only $60 compared to $125+), however, that should have been a give away. The room itself wasn't too bad - it was large, and the bed was comfortable. However, the room had a distinct, unpleasant odor, and the toilet leaked each time it was flushed. In addition, the Internet access did not work 3/4 of the time - the hotel manager said he was working hard at getting the problem resolved, but it was not working for the entire hotel, and he did not know when it would be resolved.

The continental breakfast was standard - cereal, donuts, bagels, etc. They did have a cappucino machine, and that was nice.

Overall, if you are in a pinch, stay here. Otherwise, I'd suggest one of the nicer hotels in the area.

  • Liked — It was cheap compared to the other hotels in the area.
  • Disliked — The Internet access was not working, and the room had a bad odor
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

Our stay was from Monday, August 7 to Wednesday, August 9th. We prefer to stay in downtown Cincinnati, but all the hotels were booked, so we ended up in Florence for our 2 night getaway for Kings Island and the Reds. The hotel rate was only around $54 for a business king room on the Red Roof website with the Red Hot Special. But, I'm glad that's all we paid for it.

The hotel had a horrible odor in the lobby and hallways, a very hard bed, thin pillows, no coffee pot in the room, thin walls (to hear people running down the hall upstairs and people creaking beds in other rooms), rough towels, the old 80's bedspread, loudness from the street outside and airport, no business center, and the smallest continental breakfast I've ever seen.

Good things about the hotel were the proximity to shopping and restaurants, 10% off at several restaurants within walking distance, the nice chair at the desk in the room, free wireless internet in the rooms, and the funky coffee/cappuccino machine at continental breakfast.

If you like a firm bed and just need a cheap night's sleep close to some restaurants, it's okay to stay here. But, if you're used to a Hampton Inn, a Holiday Inn Express, or any of the Marriott properties, you might want to pay another $30 a night and stay there instead. Of course, that's just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

Stayed here April 23-24, 2005. Had a non-smoking business king room. $55 including all taxes.

Hotel is very close to CVG, just a quick jaunt down Turfway to Donelson Rd. There's just slightly over 50 rooms, so there isn't a line for check-in and breakfast is uncrowded. Close to lots of shopping and the Turfway horsetrack.

I checked in an hour early, there was a clean room available. The room had a large work desk in the corner complete with a leather office chair. Several extra power outlets available which is handy for all of today's electronics. Free wireless high-speed internet in all rooms. Room also had a small fridge and a nice, clean bathroom. The shower curtain looked new, and the water pressure was decent, if not just a tad weak.

Breakfast was nice, with a selection of coffee, juices, and milk. The food available were various Quaker oatmeals, danishes, bagels, and two choices of cereal. Dinner for me was a 30 second walk to the Wendy's next door. Hotel room key also is good for 10-20% off at the following restaurants:

Famous Dave's Barbeque
Karlo's Italian Bistro
Tumbleweed
O'Charley's
Fuddruckers
Schlotzky's Deli



Overall, it's a new, clean hotel. Hopefully the quality doesn't deteriorate like many of Accor's hotels.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2005

Paper thin walls with noisy neighbors who checked in at 1am. Also, the TV remote did not work and the desk clerk said managememt did not let her change rooms for that.

Every time I have looked, this Red Roof is a very cheap alternative at CVG. But next time we'll pay a few more dollars to get a decent room and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Airport Turfway Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport Turfway Road

Address: 7454 Turfway Road, Florence, KY 41042 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport-Florence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Airport Turfway Road 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cincinnati Airport - Florence. We have rooms with either 2 double/queen beds or 1 king bed with interior corridors. All rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. We also offer free wifi, free hot breakfast, free airport shuttle, fitness center, and a business center. There are several places to eat and shop within walking distance of the hotel, discount with room key at several restaurants. There is truck and bus parking available. We are 15 min from downtown Cincinnati and the Creation Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport Turfway Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Florence
Florence Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Airport Turfway Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.