We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run, Run Away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Florence to your Saves list
Super 8 Florence
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   7928 Dream Street, I-75 Exit 180, Florence, KY 41042-1802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Florence
Southeast Kentucky
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Run, Run Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

My wife and I were traveling through the area and were getting tired. We decided to give the Super 8 Florence a try. The staff at the front desk were very nice upon check in. Once checked in, we headed up to our room. We were a little apprehensive as we walked up the dirty, musty smelling hallway. Once we entered our room, things got worse right away. The carpet was dirty, the mattress had some type of thick sludge on the side of it (it looked like semi-dried puke), and the chair in the room had some type of dark stain on it. We immediately went back to the front desk and told them. They did offer to change our room, but we decided to get our money back and leave. Again, the front desk clerk was very nice and promptly refunded our money and we headed on up the road.

  • Liked — We left
  • Disliked — The sludge on the side of the bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    30
    31
    91
See reviews for
78
47
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
southern IN
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I will never stay at this motle again. Our room reeked of stale cigarette smoke. So bad in fact that the next day all of our luggage and clothing smelled of it. I had went to the front desk to buy a single use box of Tide, and had to wait 15 minutes for it. He said he had to get it out of the supply closet and then he promptly sat down in front of me and started to pay his bills. I was no more than 5 feet away from him and he looked directly at me. His wife then says something to him and they get into a fight right at the front desk. It was not a pleasant stay!!

  • Liked — the pool was nice
  • Disliked — everything but the pool area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

This was a very nice place to stay. It was actually much nicer than many of the more expensive hotels we've stayed in. It is just outside Cincinnati (about 10 minutes), and I thought it was a good alternative to the more expensive hotels in Cincinnati. The room was clean, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the free breakfast was quite good. The food was fresh, with waffles, cereal, bagels, donuts, coffee and juice. It is also close to several restaurants, so for dinner we just had to walk across the street. We did have a slight problem with the hairdryer in our room. But the management immediately sent someone to our room, who brought us his personal hairdryer to use. I thought that was really nice. The indoor pool was nice also, and they even had a small spa. I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again myself. I give it an A+.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

My family and I were looking forward to being able to stay in a "New" Super 8, as advertised, with a "heated" pool and spa. When we arrived, we unloaded and changed to go swimming - only to find the pool cold, and the spa was FAR from being warm. There were also no towels in the pool area. We returned to our room, and had only been there five minutes, when the front desk called to inform us that our children were being too noisy and jumping on the beds. First of all, they weren't even on the beds, and secondly, we don't allow our children to be loud and jumping around.

After returning from dinner, we requested some towels, as our room only had two bath towels (for a family of 5), and the man at the front desk indicated that we could obtain the towels 'tomorrow' -- WHAT???? He was so rude and disrespectful, and was even yelling at my husband (who did NOT raise his voice to him about anything). Anyways, within about 15-20 minutes, someone brought us a couple of towels; only they were pool towels! There weren't any shampoo, etc., in the bathroom. The room ("non-smoking") ranked with cigarette smell. Breakfast - NOT very good. Not much to choose from at all.

Needless to say, we don't plan on staying there ever again. We have previously stayed in Super 8's, and have been completely pleased with their service and rooms. However, the Florence KY Super 8 will not be on our list nor will receive a good rating from us.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Our room was very clean and comfortably furnished; the staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked a non-smoking room, and there was no evidence of previous smoking, nor was there an ashtray. Breakfast is mostly bare bones plus waffles. There is no fruit, but there is fruit juice, coffee, cereal and milk, donuts and toast. Overall, it was a great value.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, comfort
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

We booked online a non-smoking room. When we arrived in our room we found dirty ashtrays and the room smelled of smoke. We went back to the front desk to tell them a mistake had been made and that they gave us a smoking room. We were told by the front desk clerk that the room given to us was non-smoking. When we told them there were ashtrays in the room they said that was in case we had quests in our room that smoked. When we asked to move to another room, we were told that all rooms had ashtrays in them.

This of course does not make any sense. We were assured that ashtrays would be removed from non-smoking rooms in the future.

We also experienced a great deal of loud voices, slamming doors and people in the hallways. This went on all night long. We both thought the other was sleeping and so we did not contact the front desk. We feel that management had to be involved with the noise otherwise it would not have been allowed to go on. We also found the room to be very dirty.

We voiced our complaints to the head office and mangement and they did offer us a free nights stay on our next visit. But we can assure you that we will never stay at a Super 8 again.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

With its new indoorpool and spa and with the nice comfortable rooms with upgraded breakfast, I found this hotel to be the best value for the money. The staff is very friendly and there is bunch of restaurants in the walking distance.

  • Liked — Heated Indoor Pool With Spa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Florence

Address: 7928 Dream Street, I-75 Exit 180, Florence, KY 41042-1802
Location: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Florence 1.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Florence Hotel Florence
Super Eight Florence
Florence Super 8
Florence Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.