We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard for a Hilton Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1090 Vandercar Way, Florence, KY 41042   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Florence
Woodbridge, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Substandard for a Hilton Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

At about 9:30 pm on the first night of our stay, the desk staff said they were new and did not know how to turn off the blinking message light. I could retrieve no message, getting first a busy signal and then repeatedly, a dial tone. I was put on permanent hold while staff tried to reach the off duty manager to find out how to turn it off. Finally it was turned off from the front desk until it started blinking again in the morning with a message from 8pm the night before requesting a convenient time for cleaning the rug in our room! If you want a good review, don't put guests in a room where rug cleaning is scheduled. Don't try to clean rugs in an occupied room. Don't be insistent about it! Don't ask guests to move unless you offer them a free room for our inconvenience that does not have rug cleaning scheduled. The day staff on the second morning of our stay had an attitude about the rug cleaning, and the manager was not any better when she showed up later insisting it was the last day the rug cleaners would be there. No guest wants to be in a room with wet rugs, especially with three weeks worth of luggage and a pet! The breakfast was awful. Thawed, inadequately cooked, white hash browns, and over cooked tough Canadian bacon. Management and at least some staff appear to have complete disregard for, or ignorance of, how guests should be treated. This is sad for a new and very clean Hilton hotel. The manager and staff need some serious training, and if poor reviews continue should be replaced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    73
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
175
42
9
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This Hotel will serve you right. Nice clean large rooms. It is quite and set back in a bush. No road noise at night to keep you up. Good breakfest as well. Everyone treats you with a smile. Book well in advance. This Hotel fills up quickly since everyone knows it is the best in Florence Kentucky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel was very impressive. Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fairly limited, but it sufficed. If you are looking for a nice hot buffet, this is not your place. My dad loved the cookies every evening.

Tons of good restaurants nearby!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 Bedroom Suite, and it was perfect for me and my hubby in one room, and my parents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have used this facility numerous times and it is always clean and fresh. Evening receptions are great and breakfast in the morning is a great way to start the day. Workout facilities are in good working order and the facility is close to numerous restaurants, shopping and businesses. Convenient location, great service and comfortable rooms after a long day of travel or work make this a perfect place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx ny
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The suit was great, tons of space, very clean. The kitchen had the basics, but missing some stuff that I even get at Candlewoods hotels. The so call hot breackfast was a joke! Not many options, hot items super cold, even the tea water was cold! Would I stay here again? yes because of teh room itself but not because of the free breackfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our family of five stayed in a two-bedroom suite over a long weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We used this as our base for visiting the Kentucky Speedway and some attractions in Cincinnati (about 20-30 minutes drive to each). I wasn't sure if we would be too far away, but it actually worked out really well for us.
This hotel is in a major retail area, but well off the main road and mostly surrounded by a grassy field and trees. The two-bedroom suites are located on the corners of the building, from what I could tell, so we had no hall noise or neighbors (we were next to the laundry chute) to cause any noise issues. It was super quiet!
There were a few "flaws" in the room - tricky stove burner, short in the cord to the iron, a stain on the carpet in the main bedroom, a broken tile baseboard on the sink vanity corner, and a small nail jutting out on the carpet seam between living room area and kitchenette. We did call the front desk about the nail, and someone quickly came up to hammer it back down; we also called the front desk one night about an extra DVD player, which also was addressed promptly (not sure if there was supposed to be one for every TV, but all but one of our three TV's had a DVD player).
The water pressure was fabulous. Loved the full sized refrigerator and the fact that both bedrooms had their own bathrooms. Our housekeeper was probably the best we've ever had at a hotel - she left duck-shaped towels on the beds for the kids and artfully arranged my youngest son's toys and blanket on the bed, in addition to having the pleasure of cleaning up after my three boys! Beds were all very comfortable - we all slept well, which is not always the case when you're talking about five people.
Wasn't sure what to expect with the breakfast, but was pleasantly surprised. Had omelets, sausage and "fried" potatoes (I think they were baked - not real greasy) one morning and it was delicious. There were other standard fare - cereals, muffins, bagels, and fresh fruit. I thought it was a good variety, though.
The pool isn't real big, but big enough and not too deep (5 feet at the deep end) for kids to splash around in and enjoy.
My kids' favorite thing was the fresh cookies at the front desk every evening! The staff was super friendly with every encounter we had and it really made our experience that much nicer.
My husband and I agreed we will be looking for another Homewood Suites wherever we travel next.

Room Tip: If you become a Hilton Honors member (free to join), you can check in early and select which room yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great-Celebrated my birthday here and to my surprise they had put balloons confetti and a card out in the room for our return. The suite was excellent, shower was awesome, kitchen was convenient. Also the area where the hotel was built was right in the midst of a huge selection of restaurants and stores etc. which was very nice.
Not so great-I was not impressed with the whirlpool and pool they both had scum buildup. Also the food for breakfast was cold when it should have been hot and out of some of the selections for quite some time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence

Address: 1090 Vandercar Way, Florence, KY 41042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.