We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointing......poor customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South to your Saves list
Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7492 Turfway Road, Florence, KY 41042   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing......poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for return trip from Florida to Canada. The selection was based on TA's exemplary reviews. I think we were in the wrong place. Having left Orlando Florida at 5am and arriving at 10pm we were met by two rather unpleasant employees. The other family travelling with us had their room given away and were treated terribly. They were accommodated but a family of four was placed in on a King size bed and a single pull-out was difficult. We then arrived for breakfast 15 minutes prior to 7am opening. We were kicked out from the area and a curtain was pulled as they were accommodating a soccer team staying in the hotel. The family we travelled with received a full refund for the utterly poor service they received.
I am still shocked with the poor customer service in this establishment. I would think twice before staying in this hotel....

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy S, Manager at Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for bringing your experience to our attention. We strive very hard to stay ranked as #1 out of 26 hotels in the Florence area. We have addressed the poor customer service issues with our front desk staff and breakfast staff. After a long trip traveling from Florida to Canada we are also sadly disappointed that you did not receive a 5 star experience. Should you travel through our area again, please contact me directly so that I can ensure the total experience which you should have received, please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    73
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
101
62
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We always stay here and get the ski package to Perfect North. The hotel is always clean and staff is super nice. Breakfast is good. Just be sure to get there early to eat or food will be gone. Rooms are nice and beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: We get the room with 2 queens and it has a sleeper sofa so our teenager can sleep in her own bed (so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy S, Manager at Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are certainly glad to hear you had a positive stay.

We certainly enjoy hearing feedback from our guests and use it as a way to improve upon our service for future stays.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

When traveling to Ohio for any reason we always stay at the Springhill because of the cheaper prices and proximity to nearby locations. We have never had a problem with this location until now. Although not major I did feel the need to write a new review. The rooms are usually very clean and comfortable. However our room this time had large red stains on the carpet. Our room was directly beside the elevator but we heard very little noise all night. Did not partake in breakfast but as usual the area looked really clean upon arrival. I did have children with me this trip who slept both in the bed and on the couchbed. The couchbed was not comfortable in the least, but what couchbed is? The blankets are thin so I would recommend bringing another as we had to give ours to the children in the middle of the night. The manager that night was a little snippity with another guest and made a comment under her breath in front of us which slighty upset the younger children. Even with these things we will be staying at this location again and would recommend it as these problems are the only we have had in our 5 stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy S, Manager at Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are certainly glad to hear you had a positive stay.

We certainly enjoy hearing feedback from our guests and use it as a way to improve upon our service for future stays.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My entire family loved this hotel. My 4 year old loved the pool. The breakfast was great, more than we expected. Toni at the front desk went well out of her way to make sure we could get a late check out and we're comfortable until the shuttle took us to the airport. Tons of restraunts in the area. Will be back again, even if we don't fly out of cvg. Overall we couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy S, Manager at Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are excited to hear you had a pleasurable experience. Our staff works hard to make everyone's stay an enjoyable one and we are always happy to hear positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I traveled to the CVG area for a couple of years for work and this is the best valued hotel in the area. I've stayed here a number of times and the rooms are always clean. The location is great, there are several restaurants that are walk-able. Best of all, the staff here is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy S, Manager at Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are excited to hear you had a pleasurable experience. Our staff works hard to make everyone's stay an enjoyable one and we are always happy to hear positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Extremely nice staff. Room was clean and descent size; however, walls must be thin as we could hear doors slamming in hallway, toilet in room next to us flushing, trucks out in parking lot in morning. Beds were comfortable, though. Wasn't a fan of the bathroom lighting. Found it hard to apply my make-up as lights were not mounted overhead, but behind mirror, instead. The pool was quite small and constantly packed, so we didn't get a chance to use it during our stay. Breakfast was average. We went during a very busy time and they were out of waffle mix and oatmeal (2 things we usually eat). The lady working the breakfast area was very friendly and doing the best she could, though, and had it replenished as quickly as she could. It was a fairly nice place to stay for price but just seemed to be really busy while we were there. Wouldn't count it out if we were to stay in area again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy S, Manager at Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are certainly glad to hear you had a positive stay.

We certainly enjoy hearing feedback from our guests and use it as a way to improve upon our service for future stays.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at here for skiing 1 night during MLK weekend and got home to unpack and discovered the car locks had been pulled out of drivers side door. I called the hotel, they apologized and said they were sorry but they are not responsible for cars on their lot and that they have no security cameras on the lot. I know that this can happen anywhere, but I will not be staying there again. This was our fifth year staying in florence, first year at this hotel. The other family traveling with us also had there locks damaged the same night. I don't leave anything in my vehicle at night for this very reason, but we will have to pay out to have my vehicle repaired and I will stay somewhere else next year.
On another topic, Breakfast, Plan on eating elsewhere or hovering around and waiting for the tiny serving bowl to be filled back up with eggs and sausage pattys, or you can make a waffle on the single waffle maker. Bottom line, they could not keep up to the number of sunday skiers wanting to eat and get going. IHOP and Panera are close by......
Pool was about the size of the hot tub, they could easily be mistaken for each other....
Heating and A/C control in rooms is confusing it took awhile to figure and make out the very small print telling as to whether it was heating or cooling because if you did not switch it, you would have a cool winter night as we did for a while....

More minuses than pluses will send me looking elsewhere next year. Thank you

Room Tip: request a room on the back of the hotel, 3rd floor noise from street is quite noticable as trucks go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy S, Manager at Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for bringing your experience to our attention. We strive very hard to stay ranked as #1 out of 26 hotels in the Florence area. We have addressed the poor customer service issues with our front desk staff and breakfast staff. We are also sadly disappointed that you did not receive a 5 star experience. Should you travel through our area again, please contact me directly so that I can ensure the total experience which you should have received, please accept our sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South

Address: 7492 Turfway Road, Florence, KY 41042
Location: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South Hotel Florence
Springhill Suites Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Cincinnati Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.