We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, lovely location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Save
You added The Ship Inn to your Saves list
Severnside Highley, Highley WV16 6NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Highley B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food, lovely location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had a family lunch at the pub and really enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the location. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We have young children and they were so kind and accomodating. We will certainly be back. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    41
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
70
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent one night at The Ship, and were really impressed with the quality of the room. The view from the room was lovely, tea/coffee facilities excellent and the cooked breakfast the next day was wonderful. Unfortunately, what could have been a great stay was completely ruined by lack of sleep. Ok, so I realise it's a pub, but is it necessary to play loud music and keep the customers in till 4am?!! I did ask politely (at 1am) when the music was going to stop, but didn't really get anywhere. Finally nodded off, and then got woken at 6am by a couple talking loudly right outside our door.

There are lots of interesting sights to see in this area, and we intend to visit again, but definitely won't be staying at The Ship!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just got back from spending a couple of nights at the Ship, really nice accomodation a lot of attention to detail. Food was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great scenery, if you fish then they have lock ups for your gear and a fridge for bait. they have dug out some very nice swims.To top my short visit I caught a 9lb 6lb Barbel (my first) I will be going back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinaFlintoff, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review!
We are glad you landed a barbell!
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Although slightly out of the way this is a gem of a pub. The accommodation provides everything the traveller needs for an overnight stay at a reasonable price. The bar provides a wide range of beers and the restaurant portions are plentiful and reasonably priced.
The only negative was food service which could have been quicker.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean well furnished and provide everything needed for an overnight stay including too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Severnside Highley, Highley WV16 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Highley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Highley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn was first built in 1770 for a local bargeman and has recently undergone a major refurbishment. On offer is superb quality dining and accommodation. Relax and admire the views over the River Severn while having a meal from our extensive menu. Our bar also serves quality real ales and fine wines. Situated on the banks of the River Severn, the location is superb for fishing, walking, bird watching and is within easy traveling distance of the historic towns of Bewdley & Bridgnorth. On the doorstep is the Severn Valley Railway station at Highley and Visitor Centre where various steam locomotives from the Golden Days of Steam Railway are on display. It is an ideal setting to come and enjoy a taste of Shropshire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.