We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good this time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Donaldson Rd., Erlanger, KY 41018 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Erlanger
Prestonsburg, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not good this time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here last October and found a friendly staff and clean rooms. This time it was different. We checked in on July 22nd. Again, the staff was friendly and reservations were in order. But our room (216) left a lot to be desired. There were candy wrappers and hair pins on the floor. Under the edge of the bed was a can of Skol Tobacco. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, and the bathroom ceiling and shower curtain had mold. The battery in the clock was corroded so I removed it.There were stains on the bed spread and the Iron was missing. The motel is an old Howard Johnson's and has seen some age, but no excuse for a room that was obviously not ready for guests. We were pressed for time so did not request another room. I am hoping that this is an isolated event as last time our room was spotless. We will be in the area again next month, and hope things are better as we will give this hotel one more try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna T, Area Sales Manager at Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and I am very upset that your room had so many issues. I have contacted management and the department heads. The necessary steps have been taken to make sure in the future this does not happen again.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we use TripAdvisor as a training tool for our staff.
Our goal is to create an enjoyable experience and we dropped the ball.

I appreciate very much you giving us the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Donna Thompson
Area Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
29
19
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here while on our way to Florida. We booked on hotwire and got it for $50. Great location, close to interstate,nice pool,clean,friendly staff and good breakfast. If you are looking for something fancy then this hotel is not for you but it suited our needs perfectly!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna T, Area Sales Manager at Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of the Comfort Inn Erlanger, KY. and we're glad you had a nice stay. We pride ourselves on taking good care of the customer and making sure your stay is most enjoyable. We're looking forward to having you as our guest again when you are in the area. Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn Erlanger KY and we appreciate your business.

Kindest Regards,

Donna Thompson
Area Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

First, let me say that the hotel employees were very pleasant and the treatment I received was great. Unfortunately, they immediately told us the pool was closed. First downfall as my child was really looking forward to a nice swim. We booked this night as a birthday surprise for my son to swim, go to Reds game, and Newport Aquarium. (Posting on your website that the pool was closed would have been helpful and save a lot of time.) Knowing a lot of the hotels were booked in the area, we decided to keep our reservation and just deal with the pool being closed. We walked into our ground floor room and was not impressed. Our room had a nice view of the drained, empty pool. We go to put our luggage down and we notice what appeared to be blood spatter on the comforter. It was red droplets. Even if it wasn’t blood, we, the customer, assumed it was and that’s all that kept running through our minds. We immediately took both comforters off, knowing we wouldn’t be using them. The room smelled musty and was somewhat dingy. I started to get the feeling of “I will never be able to relax or be comfortable sleeping in this room tonight.” Looking at the pillows, expecting, white pillow cases – there were smudges and spots that looked unclean. Still with that uneasy feeling, I looked at the bathroom and the black hairs on the soap dish and handle bar in the shower really did it for me. I simply walked to the front desk and asked if I checked out now, if I could be refunded. The front desk employees were very pleasant and I was refunded my money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Area Sales Manager at Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your recent stay. The conditions of your room were totally unacceptable and not the experience we want our guest to have while staying with us. Our housekeeping department manager is aware of your experience and has taken the necessary steps to correct the problem. We also apologize for the pool being closed. The day before your arrival we had a problem with the pool which required additional time to fix.
We are constantly making improvements so when you return to the Erlanger area we hope you will give us another try.

Kindest Regards,

Donna Thompson
Area Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancoraimparo59
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while visiting my brother in Hebron. Our rooms were very clean even though this is an older property, it's in good shape.

The best selling point for this property is their staff. They are professional but not stuffy. They were helpful and friendly.

The WIFI is hit or miss, but if you're looking for a good basic place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna T, Area Sales Manager at Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Glad to hear you had a great stay while visiting your brother. We pride ourselves on making your stay a pleasant one. Our staff is the greatest! They take the extra steps to keep our guest happy.

Come and stay with us again when you are in the area. We appreciate your business.

Kindest Regards,

Donna Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, ky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and we liked it. The other trip advisor reviews were not very good but since we had been there before we thought we would check it out. We had a coupon from a travel book that they let us use. It was a Saturday night and we asked for a king bed. There was no extra charge for either. The room was clean. The bed was nice with lots of pillows. The water pressure and hot water made for a relaxing shower. Terry checked us in and was very knowledgable and helpful. Checkout is not until noon which was nice. We had a wonderful weekend and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna T, Area Sales Manager at Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are always happy to see our repeat guests and know that you have had another great stay with us. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and Terry is the perfect example. We appreciate your business and your loyalty. The next time you are in our area we look forward to having you as our guest..

Best Regards,
Donna Thompson
Area Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here on the price basis of a coupon in an Interstate 78 coupon book. We were pleased with everything about our stay. The room was clean & comfortable. It was quiet, being further from the Interstate noise. It was convenient to LOTS of restaurants & shopping. A great bookstore close by. I can't understand the bad reviews of this facility. At breakfast I heard another traveler say it was the cleanest place of many she had stayed in during frequent traveling. There were many long-term workers staying there, but they were quiet. We would stay there again if circumstances presented.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna T, Area Sales Manager at Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you very much for the great review. We strive to provide excellent customer service and make sure your stay is a memorable experience. Our location is perfect for the traveler who needs a nice place to stay with lots of restaurants, movies and shopping nearby. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and look forward to your return in the future.

Best Regards,
Donna Thompson
Area Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night when passing through the area and would strongly recommend travelers find another option. The place is incredibly dirty from the lobby to the rooms, it's just terrible. The first room they assigned us was ot made up when we got to the room and when we went to request a new room we didn't even receive an apology and were made to feel that it was our fault for wanting a new room. The carpets, beds, bathrooms and walls all need a good cleaning or a complete update. Though, this place isn't just outdated...it's really dirty. The rate was cheap, but I would pay extra for cleanliness and friendliness.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna T, Area Sales Manager at Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We use TripAdvisor reviews as a training tool for our staff. Customer service complaints are taken very seriously and steps have been taken to improve this situation. I am sorry our property did not meet your expectations and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We appreciate your response and have taken the necessary steps to improve the conditions to make the property more inviting. We hope that when you return to the Erlanger area you will give us the opportunity to show you the changes we've made to make the customer experience a good experience.

Best Regards,
Donna Thompson
Area Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport

Address: 630 Donaldson Rd., Erlanger, KY 41018 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Erlanger
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Erlanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Greater Cincinnati Airport Hotel Erlanger
Comfort Inn Erlanger
Erlanger Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.