We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Cottage

Colonial Cottage
3140 Dixie Hwy, Erlanger, KY 41018-1865
859-341-4498
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Erlanger
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We can't stand this place! The breakfast buffet is terrible as well. We long for the days when it was the little place on Dixie Hwy where the meals were fabulous and the pies were amazing!
It's never been the same since the newer building was built.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crescent Springs, Kentucky
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Its TRUE....The Best Fried Chicken EVER!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Ok Guys and Girls.....If you want some fresh, AWESOME, non greasy chicken...then go here! You not only get the best homecooked meal, you also get the BEST service. These employees have been here for a long time and you can tell they like their jobs.If you are real lucky you will get Bobby for your server...but their all great! And oh....did I meantion the pies....Just try one! I have been going here for 30 years and have NEVER been disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Homeown Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We live realitively close, but it is one of our favorite restaurants, because it is not a chain establishment. It is locally owned and operated by Matt Grimm's. His staff treat all that enter with the utmost courtesy and service. I would highly recommend any of their Goetta entrees, and the Liver and Onions is out of this world.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Basic good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Get the fried chicken- fresh and yummy. A lot of older folks go here but who cares. Nothing fancy just basic good food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Mill, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“restaurant.com great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I received a gift certificate from restaurant.com for this restaurant. I went there for a Christmas lunch. We enjoyed a quiet atmosphere. There were four of us and each one ordered something different. The menu has a wide selection and you can order breakfast all day. One person in our party did and said it was delicious. I ordered the liver and onions with mashed potatoes and gravy, corn and corn bread. What a wonderful home-cooked meal it was! The other two people ordered the fish basket and chicken fingers and fries. Both said their meals were good. The waitress was very friendly but not very attentive. That was our only complaint. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.