We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum

Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum
1100 North Dixie Ave, Elizabethtown, KY 42701
270-765-2181
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "... a wonderful collection, and it's FREE! Thank you" a recent visitor. The Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum features vehicles ranging from the early 1900's to the 1960's in a variety of makes and models in both original condition and restored condition. After years of planning and nine months of construction, Swope`s Cars of Yesteryear opened in May 1999. The collection consists of sixty magnificent machines of the past, all museum quality. These are exciting automobiles that stir memories of long ago days when motoring was a fun-filled adventure. Our museum allows car fans and collectors to admire the progression of automobiles over time. Our collection includes antique cars like the 1914 Model T and the 1925 Pierce Arrow to classics like the 1969 Chevrolet Camaro and the 1956 Thunderbird.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Unexpected surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I live in Elizabethtown and took my dad here to waste some time while he was visiting. He is a mechanic and loves cars. I didn't expect to enjoy this place so much! Lots of old, gorgeous cars that have been restored beautifully. Model T's, muscle cars, you name it. It is also informative showing how the "trunk of the car" came to be. I was pleasantly surprised to see all that hidden back behind Swope dealership. It's also free! Took us about 20 minutes to get through. The cars are mostly not ropped off, which is great. Would definitely recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Excellent stop into yesteryear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stopped by for a quick visit and was very impressed with the collection of cars. I really appreciated that the cars are not roped off and you can get very close to look inside the cars. Although the cars don't need ropes but if you have a small child they may need one. Thanks to the Bill Swope family for this gift to Elizabethtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow, what a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you happen to like looking at very old, well-restored old cars, this is a wonderful place that the Swopes have put together!! There is no charge! I think that, in any other city, a first class museum like this would have a charge attached, so kudos to the Swopes for that, too.

From the early days of Detroit and Dearborn products, to the 50s & 60s, you can see many fine examples of restored automobiles here. We've only lived here a few years and we've found several folks who've lived here a lot longer than that but never visited.

Again, if you like looking at antique automobiles, this is the place. It's worth a drive from Louisville, Nashville, Bowling Green, and maybe points farther away, depending on your point of view.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredible gift to Elizabethtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Mr. Swope, thank you so very much.

Your collection is an incredible gift to Elizabethtown. The lovely lady who guided us through your museum truly knows her automobiles:) What was even more delightful….she knows the history behind each vehicle!

Several of these automobiles have their original finishes….you have to see to believe.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

About 20 of us stopped by in our own antique cars the first weekend in November. The lady who was working that day was extremely polite and informative. We all enjoyed the collection of cars.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum also viewed

 

Been to Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.