We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum

Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum
1100 North Dixie Ave, Elizabethtown, KY 42701
270-765-2181
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "... a wonderful collection, and it's FREE! Thank you" a recent visitor. The Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum features vehicles ranging from the early 1900's to the 1960's in a variety of makes and models in both original condition and restored condition. After years of planning and nine months of construction, Swope`s Cars of Yesteryear opened in May 1999. The collection consists of sixty magnificent machines of the past, all museum quality. These are exciting automobiles that stir memories of long ago days when motoring was a fun-filled adventure. Our museum allows car fans and collectors to admire the progression of automobiles over time. Our collection includes antique cars like the 1914 Model T and the 1925 Pierce Arrow to classics like the 1969 Chevrolet Camaro and the 1956 Thunderbird.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you are interested in old cars, I would highly recommend stopping in this place. It is located on a dealership lot. It took us by surprise when we pulled in, but it was worth the stop. The receptionist that works there is extremely knowledgeable and very nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We truly enjoyed visiting Swope's Museum. Our guide (Ms. J) was very knowledgeable, and polite. (She deserves a pay raise) The cars were just beautiful. Just a fantastic experience.
Mr. & Mrs. Swope, thank you so must for allowing us to visit your museum. If your a car nut, like us, you must go. Don't forget your camera.
.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nostalgic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Truly a trip down memory lane. Magnificent automobiles with stories to share. Staff was friendly and very knowledgeable. Had a great afternoon and enjoyed our visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My husband says "It's a feast for the eyes"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Kudos to Mr. Swope for generously sharing his rare, classic, and beautifully-restored car collection with anyone who would like to visit. This is a gem of place and it is free. It is also a feast for the eyes but not the hands. Everything is marked as "please do not touch" so if you bring someone that cannot resist touching shiny objects, keep an eye on them.

My husband loves classic vehicles and I appreciate them. This museum has a great collection for the avid fan but was not too many for me. The signs accompanying each vehicle gives the important statistics with some human interest which I thoroughly appreciated.

I think Mr. Swope has developed a generous business model here of giving back to the community by allowing us to view these vehicles for FREE. He did not tuck his collection in a environment-controlled garage where only his family have access. As one would expect, this museum is located in the midst of a busy Swope automobile sales lot but there is no pressure but to enjoy as the classic cars are in a separate building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good small museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a nice small automobile museum at a local car dealership. There are probably 50 cars on display at one time in the showroom. Admission is free. The cars are all well maintained and cross various time zones from Model T to maybe the 60's. My favorite is an old Cadillac sedan with the best Platinum color paint job I have ever seen. Although this is a Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep dealer, the vehicles on display touch many brands. I have seen the dealers warehouse down the road and there are many more great vehicles, but space to display them is unfortuately limited. I would say that this is a nice "2 hour" museum, i.e., you could spend about 2 hours admiring the vehicles and reading the historical stuff associated therewith, before the kids [teens] got restless. Enjoy if you are in the neighborhood, it is a nice facility. Not a good museum for little ones because you can get right up to the vehicles, they are not roped off, and so you would have to really keep an eye on them, lest they scratch the paint or bang a head running around.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum also viewed

 

Been to Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swope's Cars of Yesteryear Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.