We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What We Asked For!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highett
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exactly What We Asked For!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Buckingham International motel over the New Year period and I must say, I was quite impressed. My wife and I were travelling with my sister-in-law, and the motel was exactly what we expected and were looking for.

Location wise, its certainly not the best hotel in Melbourne, its sort of out of the way, but that should be expected from the website. We went to the city every day, and it only took around 20 minutes by car. Its also really close to the Southland Shopping Centre, which is quite large,has an amazing cinema complex and some pretty good food. The Location definitely should not be a deterrent, especially if transport is readily available. I am not sure how public transport goes myself, as we had a car, but there was a station nearby within walking distance.

The rooms themselves were quite nice. We got a two bedroom family room, which had a double bed in one room and two single beds in the other. The second room could have done with some larger curtains, as we had to put a towel over the middle to prevent people seeing in, but that's a small thing which certainly isn't worth making a fuss. Certainly, the shower alone made up for this. It was quite nice to have a shower in a hotel/motel that was more than a trickle! Add in the free parking and free wifi (unmetered) and the plus's far outweigh any minor negatives I may have.

Service was excellent at the motel and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We ordered room service our first night (3 meals and a side dish) and it was fairly inexpensive. The food was good quality and it was brought to the door and collected from outside when we'd finished.

All in all, we were very satisfied with the motel, and would certainly stay there again, should the need arise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Happy New Year to you and your family. Thank you so much for staying with us and we are thankful for your detailed feedback.
We will definitely take your comments on board and get our housekeeping department to organise the longer curtains for the second bedroom in family room.
We are glad to know overall you found our property satisfactory and we look forward to welcome you back in future.
Kind regards,
The Buckingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
37
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Reasonable location, walking distance to train and shops. Spotless rooms. Comfortable beds. Mini bar was overpriced. Staff were helpful. Free Wifi. Directions to location could be better. Had to make a U-turn for approach to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending your time with us recently. We are happy to know that you found our Free Wi-Fi Facility useful and are pleased to inform you that we do have Onsite Gym as well for complimentary guest use. As we are located on the service lane of Nepean highway, the guests do need to make a U turn for those who are travelling from city.
Happy New year to you and your family.
Kind regards,
The Buckingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were stopping just one night for a concert in the city. Our needs were, free parking and close to public transport. This hotel was both those things. Very clean and comfortable. Would recommend to someone needing to be in convenient reach of the city but with the convenience of a motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your time reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your effort and look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Happy New year to you and your family.
Kind regards,
The Buckingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Excellent rates, clean quiet and comfortable. Excellent service in restaurant however somewhat overpriced. Recommend this hotel. Pillows not too comfortable but that is a minor issue in the scheme of things.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

After approx. 10 years since the last time I stayed at the Buckingham International.
All things have changed for the good.
The rooms are great , very clean and great bed and very nice bathroom.
The meals in the restaurant was superb and great service and very friendly staff.One small issue is that the restaurant run out of a certain bottle of wine from the wine list so you had to wait until the new bottle's where cold enough to be served which spoiled the very nice dinner.
Overall great spot for a bed and place to eat and recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you back after 10 years. We are glad to know that you found the place better and your experience was enjoyable. Thank you for recommending us. We hope your next visit is a little earlier than 10 years.
Kind regards,
The Buckingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place with basic amenities to spend our night, with enough space and cleanliness that we would feel comfortable. We never regreted booking the room here for our 3 nights in Melbourne. Everything was as posted on the web. Even google street view was accurate and gave us an idea what the place would be like. It is a lovely quiet place and I recommend it to anyone planning a self drive trip in melbourne!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us recently. We are happy to know that the Virtual tour loaded on our own website is useful to our guests and fulfilling their expectations. There is nothing more important than Guest Satisfaction to our team.
Once again, thank you for your business and we hope you would return in future.
Kind regards,
The Buckingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Newly renovated rooms were spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet and free internet. It's a long way from the central city, a 5-10 minute walk to the train station and a 40 minute train ride into town, but it's a good option if you're on a budget but want a room of high standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back because noise from the road can be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International

Address: 1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Highett
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at this boutique venue surrounded by gardens in Melbourne bay side area, comprising 72 modern 4 star rooms, onsite restaurant, 4 conference rooms and outdoor pool and is a proud winner of “Certificate of Excellence 2013” from Trip Advisor. Excellent Location• 2 KM to Moorabbin & Cheltenham• 3 KM to beach and Bay side suburbs such as Sandringham & Brighton• 0.5 KM to Highett train station• 17 KM to Melbourne CBD• Less than 5 KM to leading golf courses in the area• 9 KM to DFO factory outlets• 1.3 KM to Southland Shopping centre• 10 KM to Chadstone Shopping centre -Fashion Capital of Melbourne • 10 KM to Caulfield Race Course• 42 KM to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport• 6 KM to Moorabbin Airport• 15 KM to Grand Prix Circuit – Albert parkBuckingham is located on Nepean Highway in the heart of the Moorabbin- Cheltenham business district in the south eastern Suburbs of Melbourne.Buckingham International offers • 24 hours reception• Restaurant offering hot breakfast and healthy dinner choices • Bar open daily from 5 PM onwards • Room service option available 24 hours • Free off-street parking• Valet dry cleaning service• Onsite washing and drying facilityOur newly renovated rooms features • Modern & elegant decor• Luxury beds with triple sheets • 42" flat screen television• Complimentary high speed Wi Fi access• 8 free Digital Foxtel channels including movie and sports channels• Ergonomic Work desk• High security keyless entry• Spa bath in Executive Spa suites and many more luxury extrasOur RestaurantAJ's Bar and Bistro is the perfect dining experience – offering exciting international cuisine as well as popular local produce with professional service and a relaxed atmosphere. You can find your choice of variety of wine, beer and cocktail ranges in our drinks menu. Loving the warm weather in Melbourne?Feel free to catch up with friends for drinks in our courtyard or use our BBQ area. Trying to keep you fit?William Fry Reserve is only two minutes away best of either a short walk or a quick run. Offsite Gym passes are available from reception upon check in. (Nominal Fees apply). Waves leisure centre with pool and gymnasium is also about 3 minutes driving distance.Our team awaits to welcome you at the Buckingham International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.