We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location l'il bit off, everything else is great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Highett
1 review
“Location l'il bit off, everything else is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

- a fair distance away from the CBD
- microwave in the hotel's description does not exist. (misinformation by hotel.info?)
- Double BedRoom but only 1 complimentary bottled water?
+ High speed WiFi Internet
+ Powerful Hot Shower
+ Cable TV & Fridge
+ Great Reception & Attitude

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear KakisGonzales

Thank you for your time reviewing us recently.

We are glad that you found our standard room features good value for money.

We don’t have Microwave listed under standard room amenities on Hotel.info however we do provide microwave available for guest use upon request.

It was our pleasure having you stay with us. All the best for the future travel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
35
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Best Western Buckingham International. It was our first time here and we found the room to be very nice. It was a nice sized room with comfortable beds, good heating and was very clean. The only downside was that it had recently been renovated and the paint fumes were still very strong and left us feeling ill. Also renovations were still being done in the overhead rooms which was very noisy. We are heading back to Melbourne in October and would consider staying here again, although we would definitely check that the renovations were complete.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Rachel,


Thank you for sharing such a lovely review from your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Buckingham International in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed in this hoel many time over the last 6 months and I keep coming back for many reasons least of which is the great staff

In particular the restaurant staff who alway make you very welcome

On this last occasion I was in the hotel with 3 other work collegues who were QLDers and we we able to have dinner in the lounge in front of the big TV to watch the State of Origin league match

Nothing was to much trouble and they made a great night of it for us

The rooms are alway nice and clean and every thing works plus they have a 42 inch TV in most rooms

The only thing I do not like is the showers which seems to be in most of the rooms they are hard to adjust to the right temperature and having some technical knowledge I think it is because of the water saver feature that has been installed makes it impossible to get the water temperature right

There are several thing that are important to me in a motel room

Bit of space and feel cramped
Nice soft bed
And most important a really good shower
This is the only gripe I have and I think they need to fix this problem soon as my complaint will be the same for other that may stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mr.Erroll,
Thank you for sharing fantastic thoughts on your recent visit to Buckingham.

We are pleased to know about your thoughts on our team. I will ensure to pass on your comments to the Management regarding the temperature control for showers and would try to resolve the issue at our earliest convenience.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you at the Buckingham in near future.

Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed here many times and always been satisfied. However, we were placed in a room which had been recently renovated and the paint fumes were over powering. I asked to be moved however they had no vacancies. I was left with a dreadful headache so not happy.
We also found the breakfast and dinner prices were on par with city hotels so did not eat there at all. Not sure we will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has not recently been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear 327pharaoh2405,

Thank you for being our returned guest. We are sorry to hear about your discomfort after staying in a newly refurbished room and regret that we fail to take any steps later on. As a note of apology, we would like to offer you $50.00 Accommodation voucher which can be used as a credit towards your future accommodation with us. Please contact us on supervisor@thebuckingham.com.au to organise this voucher sent out to you.

We appreciate your feedback in constantly improving ourselves and hope to welcome you back in future. Thank you for your valuable time reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent three nights at the Best Western Buckingham International on the south side of Melbourne. The hotel itself was fine - clean rooms, decent beds, renovated bathrooms, and a kitchenette. It has parking situated in a courtyard with charming little landscaping and patio features. Wifi was also included and worked well in the room.

On the down side, our keys stopped working everyday and we had to continually get them reset, which was a bit annoying after a long day out. The hotel is about a 20-30 minute drive to the city center. It's only about a 5 minute trip to food and shopping.

If you don't mind staying outside the city center, this is a good, budget-minded option. It's not a bad base for traveling to Phillip Island or along the Great Ocean Road if you don't mind a bit of a drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am glad to know you like our room and hotel garden environmental settings. We recently upgrade our free guest Wi-Fi to business grade, and cable TV (Foxtel) from analogue to digital.
I am sorry our reception did not set your security key cover the entire stay, and you need to reset you key during your stay.
I am looking forward to your next visit.
Jack Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nice stay here very clean house keeping very good staff most polite and would stay here any time not for from South Land Shopping Centre 10 min walk only
plenty of car spaces Breakfast was a little $$$$ but was quite nice

Room Tip: All ground level rooms seem to be all ok our room was near the front of the hotel and there was no r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This Best Western stands out in terms of value for money and quality in South East Melbourne. Excellent service, location, amenities and comfort. Situated in Highett, this hotel is close to a huge business district in Moorabbin and Cheltenham, Southland Shopping Centre, Victoria Golf Club, and Royal Melbourne Golf Club. In addition to a restaurant, Best Western Plus Buckingham International features an outdoor pool. Other amenities include a business center and a bar/lounge. Televisions come with cable channels with foxtel channels. Guestrooms also feature refrigerators with minibar, complimentary wireless Internet access, and split air conditioning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International

Address: 1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Highett
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Highett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at this boutique venue surrounded by gardens in Melbourne bay side area, comprising 72 modern 4 star rooms, onsite restaurant, 4 conference rooms and outdoor pool and is a proud winner of “Certificate of Excellence 2013” from Trip Advisor. Excellent Location• 2 KM to Moorabbin & Cheltenham• 3 KM to beach and Bay side suburbs such as Sandringham & Brighton• 0.5 KM to Highett train station• 17 KM to Melbourne CBD• Less than 5 KM to leading golf courses in the area• 9 KM to DFO factory outlets• 1.3 KM to Southland Shopping centre• 10 KM to Chadstone Shopping centre -Fashion Capital of Melbourne • 10 KM to Caulfield Race Course• 42 KM to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport• 6 KM to Moorabbin Airport• 15 KM to Grand Prix Circuit – Albert parkBuckingham is located on Nepean Highway in the heart of the Moorabbin- Cheltenham business district in the south eastern Suburbs of Melbourne.Buckingham International offers • 24 hours reception• Restaurant offering hot breakfast and healthy dinner choices • Bar open daily from 5 PM onwards • Room service option available 24 hours • Free off-street parking• Valet dry cleaning service• Onsite washing and drying facilityOur newly renovated rooms features • Modern & elegant decor• Luxury beds with triple sheets • 42" flat screen television• Complimentary high speed Wi Fi access• 8 free Digital Foxtel channels including movie and sports channels• Ergonomic Work desk• High security keyless entry• Spa bath in Executive Spa suites and many more luxury extrasOur RestaurantAJ's Bar and Bistro is the perfect dining experience – offering exciting international cuisine as well as popular local produce with professional service and a relaxed atmosphere. You can find your choice of variety of wine, beer and cocktail ranges in our drinks menu. Loving the warm weather in Melbourne?Feel free to catch up with friends for drinks in our courtyard or use our BBQ area. Trying to keep you fit?William Fry Reserve is only two minutes away best of either a short walk or a quick run. Offsite Gym passes are available from reception upon check in. (Nominal Fees apply). Waves leisure centre with pool and gymnasium is also about 3 minutes driving distance.Our team awaits to welcome you at the Buckingham International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.