We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & restfully” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highett
Certificate of Excellence
Gippsland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet & restfully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed just one very hot evening, the room was pleasant, the air conditioner was excellent!
Our room was very quiet even though the motel is located on a busy main road, there was no road noise at all. We dined in the restaurant, the food was excellent & the staff team were friendly & obliging.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the complex for a restfully stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, it is always a pleasure having you stay with us. It's fantastic to hear that you had enjoyable stay and our staff is welcoming and helpful, I will this feedback to our team.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    71
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
40
56
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, NSW
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding when we were meant to be booked in at the brighton location. To many mixed up calls between both locations became confusing & in the end was a little disappointing as we werent booked into where we were meant to be. It was ok but a little inconvenient as we were in Melbourne for a wedding & everyone was in Brighton. The staff are a little hard to understand also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and providing a very constructive feedback.

We will definitely work on the suggested issues and improve ourselves. I am sorry to know that you were separated from rest of your wedding party but I hope you enjoyed rest of the stay with us.

Thank you for your time reviewing us and we hope to see you in future.


Regards,
Dinar Malek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our room towards the rear of the property was quite old, but clean & comfy. The bathroom is very small & the shower cubicle would be quite tricky for larger people. The bed was very comfortable & breakfast excellent, Staff at check in & check out were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are in the process of renovating the back block. In total 70 rooms, only 15 bathrooms has not been renovated.
All room renovation are planned to finish in March 2013. During our renovation, we are making sure all the rooms we sell are clean and comfy, all the rooms will still have free high speed WiFi and Foxtel TV. Please see our new rooms on www.thebuckingham.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nice, clean & cheap. We ended up here by accident (we were meant to be at the Brighton location). As we were traveling to Melbourne for a wedding we were a bit disappointed that we weren't where we expected to be (with the rest of the wedding guests) & it was a bit further away but in the end if was fine. My advice would be to get separate lines for each buckingham. Sometimes when I phoned it would be put through to the highett location & other times the Brighton one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for spend time to write a review for us. We will continue to put 100% effort to keep customer having a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gormandale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a joke this place is. Booked a spa suite for us and were told on the phone that if we are paying cash will be needing a $200 security deposit as well. Cool, no problems there so said would pay by card and the girl(jenny) took my card details which i wasnt very fond of handing out. Anyhow, we get there and i go to pay for the room and as soon as i said chequeing account she said they would need to take out a security deposit of $200. I got told on the phone that the deposit was only needed if paying by cash. Get your story straight Jenny!

They said it isnt thier fault, it is company policy. Im cool with that but please explain everything properly so people can arrange to make sure they have the necessary funds in the desired account that they want to use.

I would reccommend the Mentone Hub/ parkdale motor inn. Friendly, courteous and everything is explained when you arrive or book over the phone.

The customer service at the buckingham is ordinary at best and maybe they should have someone on reception that can speak fluent english!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear John V,
Thank you for your review. As with most hotels we do require a refundable bond if guests do not have a credit card. We regret that this upset you. As a result you asked for your booking to be cancelled and we were happy to do this at short notice for no charge.
Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Our room needed some love, very tired decor. Was clean but not great value for money? Had been hoping for more. Very bright light situated outside room all night. Ok for one night, but could not stay any longer . Expensive for what we got.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Frongscott,

We are sorry to disappoint you on your recent stay with us.

We know that you felt there was a room of improvement in terms of decor. However, talking about value for money, we offer free wireless internet and free car parking in comparison to our competitors in the area. We also have onsite restaurant providing decision meals and healthy breakfast options and an outdoor pool for guest use. Lastly, not to forget, complimentary foxtel bundle comprising 8 different combinations of movie, sports and news channels are heavily popular among our guests.

We appreciate your time reviewing us and we will definitely take your comments on board in order to improve us.

We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in the newly refurbished appartment (3 bedroom/2 bathroom). Comfortable beds, house sized kitchen/dining/lounge. Big screen TV and comfortable lounge furniture. Really quiet. Only thing missing was outdoor space to sit and enjoy the sun

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Kassie54,

Our team is really happy to complete the renovation of one of the apartment recently and we are delighted to hear your thoughts on them. We believe in continual improvement and complete guest satisfaction.

All the best for your rest of the travel and we appreciate your time for our recent feedback.

Best regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highett
4.0 mi away
Brighton Savoy
Brighton Savoy
#1 of 1 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
9.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel 115 Kew
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#97 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International

Address: 1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Highett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at this boutique venue surrounded by gardens in Melbourne bay side area, comprising 72 modern 4 star rooms, onsite restaurant, 4 conference rooms and outdoor pool and is a proud winner of "Certificate of Excellence 2013" from Trip Advisor. Excellent Location• 2 KM to Moorabbin & Cheltenham• 3 KM to beach and Bay side suburbs such as Sandringham & Brighton• 0.5 KM to Highett train station• 17 KM to Melbourne CBD• Less than 5 KM to leading golf courses in the area• 9 KM to DFO factory outlets• 1.3 KM to Southland Shopping centre• 10 KM to Chadstone Shopping centre -Fashion Capital of Melbourne • 10 KM to Caulfield Race Course• 42 KM to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport• 6 KM to Moorabbin Airport• 15 KM to Grand Prix Circuit - Albert park Buckingham is located on Nepean Highway in the heart of the Moorabbin- Cheltenham business district in the south eastern Suburbs of Melbourne.Buckingham International offers • 24 hours reception• Restaurant offering hot breakfast and healthy dinner choices • Bar open daily from 5 PM onwards • Room service option available 24 hours • Free off-street parking• Valet dry cleaning service• Onsite washing and drying facilityOur newly renovated rooms features • Modern & elegant decor• Luxury beds with triple sheets • 42" flat screen television• Complimentary high speed Wi Fi access• 8 free Digital Foxtel channels including movie and sports channels• Ergonomic Work desk• High security keyless entry• Spa bath in Executive Spa suites and many more luxury extrasOur RestaurantAJ's Bar and Bistro is the perfect dining experience - offering exciting international cuisine as well as popular local produce with professional service and a relaxed atmosphere. You can find your choice of variety of wine, beer and cocktail ranges in our drinks menu. Loving the warm weather in Melbourne? Feel free to catch up with friends for drinks in our courtyard. Trying to keep yourself fit? William Fry Reserve is only two minutes away best of either a short walk or a quick run. Offsite Gym passes are available.(Nominal Fees apply). Waves leisure centre with pool and gymnasium is also about 3 minutes driving distance. Our team awaits to welcome you at the Buckingham International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.