We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highett
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nice, clean & cheap. We ended up here by accident (we were meant to be at the Brighton location). As we were traveling to Melbourne for a wedding we were a bit disappointed that we weren't where we expected to be (with the rest of the wedding guests) & it was a bit further away but in the end if was fine. My advice would be to get separate lines for each buckingham. Sometimes when I phoned it would be put through to the highett location & other times the Brighton one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for spend time to write a review for us. We will continue to put 100% effort to keep customer having a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    59
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
42
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gormandale, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a joke this place is. Booked a spa suite for us and were told on the phone that if we are paying cash will be needing a $200 security deposit as well. Cool, no problems there so said would pay by card and the girl(jenny) took my card details which i wasnt very fond of handing out. Anyhow, we get there and i go to pay for the room and as soon as i said chequeing account she said they would need to take out a security deposit of $200. I got told on the phone that the deposit was only needed if paying by cash. Get your story straight Jenny!

They said it isnt thier fault, it is company policy. Im cool with that but please explain everything properly so people can arrange to make sure they have the necessary funds in the desired account that they want to use.

I would reccommend the Mentone Hub/ parkdale motor inn. Friendly, courteous and everything is explained when you arrive or book over the phone.

The customer service at the buckingham is ordinary at best and maybe they should have someone on reception that can speak fluent english!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear John V,
Thank you for your review. As with most hotels we do require a refundable bond if guests do not have a credit card. We regret that this upset you. As a result you asked for your booking to be cancelled and we were happy to do this at short notice for no charge.
Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Our room needed some love, very tired decor. Was clean but not great value for money? Had been hoping for more. Very bright light situated outside room all night. Ok for one night, but could not stay any longer . Expensive for what we got.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Frongscott,

We are sorry to disappoint you on your recent stay with us.

We know that you felt there was a room of improvement in terms of decor. However, talking about value for money, we offer free wireless internet and free car parking in comparison to our competitors in the area. We also have onsite restaurant providing decision meals and healthy breakfast options and an outdoor pool for guest use. Lastly, not to forget, complimentary foxtel bundle comprising 8 different combinations of movie, sports and news channels are heavily popular among our guests.

We appreciate your time reviewing us and we will definitely take your comments on board in order to improve us.

We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in the newly refurbished appartment (3 bedroom/2 bathroom). Comfortable beds, house sized kitchen/dining/lounge. Big screen TV and comfortable lounge furniture. Really quiet. Only thing missing was outdoor space to sit and enjoy the sun

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Kassie54,

Our team is really happy to complete the renovation of one of the apartment recently and we are delighted to hear your thoughts on them. We believe in continual improvement and complete guest satisfaction.

All the best for your rest of the travel and we appreciate your time for our recent feedback.

Best regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was the last hotel I stayed in in Melbourne, of the many I have stayed in over the last 6 weeks. Even though the external brown brick look doesn't appear to be the decor of the day, this hotel was very clean, comfortable and roomy, with a 50" TV in the main area of the room, which was one of 2 (second slightly smaller).
The bed was very comfy and the shower was good.
I would stay here again, it has plenty of free off street parking which is always a plus.

Room Tip: Good value if you have things to do out Sandringham way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Rarowhere,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and Thank you for providing excellent feedback for us. Wish you all the best for your future travel.

Kind regards,

Dinar Malek
Front office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We did have a couple of problems that we have not had before.
The main one being last Thursday when we left the motel at 9.30 am and returned at 4.00pm to get ready for an important dinner and our room was not done.We asked for it to be attended to and were handed clean towels.That was all.On the following day we had knocks on our door twice before 10.00am offering us to have our room done.
We had to ask for tissues as we had none in our bathroom as well as shampoo.
We also felt the breakfast had gone down alot in choices and felt the price was too high for what we were offered

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Levi,

We am so sorry to hear about your disappointment on your recent stay with us.

Our housekeeping department was running low on human resource on the day this inconvenience occurred to you and we couldn't meet your expectations. We are sorry to see you unpleased. We will bring some major changes in our housekeeping area due to your genuine feedback and provide you better service for all our guests.

We haven’t excluded anything from our breakfast option for a long time. We are quite surprised to hear your response in regards to breakfast and would pass on your comments to our management.

Thank you for staying with us and we would appreciate if you given us another chance to serve you in future.

Best regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although only one night, you can tell that this motel is worth staying at. The room No 49 was upstairs and was more than adequate. Good size flat screen TV - very clean bathroom. The breakfast - full one had excellent choice and the poached eggs asked for were perfect. Reception staff very friendly. Bar was busy but friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Insearchofit,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback on Trip advisor. I can see you had a wonderful time with us. Our whole team is happy to see your comments and hopes to welcome you back soon.
We appreciate your valuable time sharing your experience.

Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International

Address: 1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Highett
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at this boutique venue surrounded by gardens in Melbourne bay side area, comprising 72 modern 4 star rooms, onsite restaurant, 4 conference rooms and outdoor pool and is a proud winner of “Certificate of Excellence 2013” from Trip Advisor. Excellent Location• 2 KM to Moorabbin & Cheltenham• 3 KM to beach and Bay side suburbs such as Sandringham & Brighton• 0.5 KM to Highett train station• 17 KM to Melbourne CBD• Less than 5 KM to leading golf courses in the area• 9 KM to DFO factory outlets• 1.3 KM to Southland Shopping centre• 10 KM to Chadstone Shopping centre -Fashion Capital of Melbourne • 10 KM to Caulfield Race Course• 42 KM to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport• 6 KM to Moorabbin Airport• 15 KM to Grand Prix Circuit – Albert parkBuckingham is located on Nepean Highway in the heart of the Moorabbin- Cheltenham business district in the south eastern Suburbs of Melbourne.Buckingham International offers • 24 hours reception• Restaurant offering hot breakfast and healthy dinner choices • Bar open daily from 5 PM onwards • Room service option available 24 hours • Free off-street parking• Valet dry cleaning service• Onsite washing and drying facilityOur newly renovated rooms features • Modern & elegant decor• Luxury beds with triple sheets • 42" flat screen television• Complimentary high speed Wi Fi access• 8 free Digital Foxtel channels including movie and sports channels• Ergonomic Work desk• High security keyless entry• Spa bath in Executive Spa suites and many more luxury extrasOur RestaurantAJ's Bar and Bistro is the perfect dining experience – offering exciting international cuisine as well as popular local produce with professional service and a relaxed atmosphere. You can find your choice of variety of wine, beer and cocktail ranges in our drinks menu. Loving the warm weather in Melbourne?Feel free to catch up with friends for drinks in our courtyard or use our BBQ area. Trying to keep you fit?William Fry Reserve is only two minutes away best of either a short walk or a quick run. Offsite Gym passes are available from reception upon check in. (Nominal Fees apply). Waves leisure centre with pool and gymnasium is also about 3 minutes driving distance.Our team awaits to welcome you at the Buckingham International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.