We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the nay-sayers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suly Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suly Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Suly Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl.Cok Rai Pudak, Br.Yangloni | Ubud, Gianyar Bali, Peliatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Brisbane
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Ignore the nay-sayers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Here are the facts: beautiful, quiet resort (not really a spa) with tranquil atmosphere and character. We felt like the only guests there. The staff, without exception were polite and attentive. (most of whom were 16 year old students from the school at the resort which provides hospitality training for children from disadvantaged backgrounds).

Let's be honest: the resort is over 40 years old; the bath leaks, the door doesn't close, fittings are old and tiles are cracked. But that's what you are paying for!!!!
There is ongoing noise during the day from the construction of a new wing - but noise happens when construction happens - how else can they improve the place??

At 40-odd dollars a night including breakfast, this aint gonna be the Ritz. You definitely get what you pay for, with the added benefit of knowing that your money is going to a good cause.

The breakfast was good and the Nasi Campur was enak! yum.... all produce is organic and locally grown. No Bintangs here, just the local craft Storm beers.We were there with 2 families and really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Away from construction - Bukit 10 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    79
    47
    20
    18
See reviews for
39
81
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kazan, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Overall, good place to stay for those on low-mid budget terms. This place is not really a resort & spa, as advertised. It is a hotel surrounded by rice fields on one side and a hospitality school on another. The place is a solid 3 star. They are renovating/building new building so next year, if all goes well, they may reach the 4 star type rating. What I liked about the place: excellent service by hospitality school students - nicest kids on the island! Also, restaurant - food/service was great, all organic and very affordable. What I didn't like - somewhat dilapidated units and common grounds. the hotel is 5-6 km from Ubud's touristy areas, so have to take a free shuttle to Ubud for entertainment. There is a pool/kiddie pool on the ground.

This place is worth staying at if you are on a low-mid budget, have no high expectations and can travel easy. We saw several back packer couples, families with kids, lone travellers stay at the hotel. I wouldn't advise this place if you are planning a yoga retreat, or trying to impress you girlfriend/wife.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

I knew ahead of time that this resort is run by the kids in the school and I was looking forward to speaking with them. However, when I arrived yesterday there was construction noise. They put me in a ground floor overlooking the new building they are constructing. Hammering and a gas powered generator was going until 5 PM and started this morning at 7.

As a single female traveler, I was not comforted with a sign on my bathroom door in my room telling me to lock my bathroom door from my room at night for my safety. I guess people can climb in through the bathroom window. Not cool.

Room was dark with only a view of the cruddy building next to me with trash.

The kids were great and I did the top notch spa treatment. This is not a 5 star spa..these kids are learning. Do not go into it expecting anything more than being a guinea pig. They're sweet though and trying.

Not crazy about the surrounding neighborhood either.

This place could have kept me here for the full three days I booked if the construction noise wasn't happening all day and I had a better room not on the ground floor.

Onsite restaurant was fantastic! All organic and very tasty. Good prices too.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at Suly Resort. The young staff are phenomenal - we were treated like royalty. The place is stuffed full of eccentric Balinese character, and set in extensive, beautiful gardens.

However, be warned that the 'resort' (a slightly misleading term!) is crumbling. The place was probably the height of luxury in 1970, but it hasn't been renovated since. The rooms are huge, full of character, and have marble floors and grand onyx bathtubs- but desperately need TLC and a substantial amount of maintenance work. They are very clean though.

We booked Suli as a budget choice from a budget hotels website, and, for the price, our expectations were dramatically exceeded - you get a nightly turndown service, tea, coffee, biscuits, fresh fruit and inroom wifi, alongside a good pool and huge, marble floored rooms, all at a very competitive rate (if you don't mind a few dodgy bits of maintenance).

However, if we'd have booked expecting a modern and luxurious resort as is advertised on their official website, we'd have been sorely disappointed.

Even so, as it stands, I had an excellent stay in a budget spot, and would totally recommend it to other budget travellers.


One note: Balinese spellings are confusingly fluid, and the management interchangeably use 'Suly Resort' and 'Suli Resort' in advertising this place - both names refer to this same spot.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are lighter and have outside sitting space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have spent 6 nights at the resort, in the Family cottage, with my family of five grownups. It was a very good value for the money. Sure the buildings are a bit old, but you should expect it when paying significantly less than elsewhere. Plus it provides charm to the environment. We didn't have any problem with the shower. It just took a while for the hot water to come up. The mattress were great. I haven't got such good sleep on my own home mattress. The food was good, but not plentyful (breakfast). It reflects the Balinese apetite. The air conditioner was sufficient. We also had massages and all enjoyed it. The service was excellent, considering that it is provided by students in tourism (hotel related). I checked on this aspect with external (to the hotel) advice and the hotel effectively allows 100+ underpriviledged students access to technical education. They lodge and feed them for free, and 20% of the hotel (including tours and massages) profits goes towards paying for their education. If you choose to go there, and have extra space in your luggage, think about bringing along good condition second hand clothing and maybe some pencil & notebooks to give away to the students. It would be really appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I booked this resort online because the website didn't look too bad, but when we got there the room was so old, smelly and damp that it was impossible for me to stay there with my one year old baby. Since it was busy season (August) we had trouble finding an alternative accommodation and the Suly Resort didn't refund us any money for the fully paid 4 nights stay! Later in Ubud we saw places much cheaper and better basic quality than this. It might be okay for young people travelling, but not for anyone who is looking for a clean room to sleep in. The only comfort about loosing all our cash was that the money probably went to teaching young adults in the hospitality industry as the resort school does.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Suly is a quite unique property ..the hotel exists to support the education of young Indonesian kids who would otherwise not have ths opportunity. On the plus side the kids who you meet every day are wonderful, happy smiling and eager to please..the hotel itself is very traditional in style with lovely open pavilions and beautiful gardens..there is a pool which is quite adequate. The views over the rice fields are fantastic and the area is quiet...in the street nearby you can observe businesses producing the fantastic carvings that this area is famous for. Unfortunately we had an older room (rice field view) on the top floor 3 flights up very steep stairs(116). The room has twin beds fly screens, mosquito nets, a small table and chairs, a tv (indonesian programs only) a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities plus a huge corner bath. The rooms at floor level are much more accessible with a nice sitting area/verandah. The restaurant serves basic indonesian food and breakfast was included. Free yoga is available every morning. There is a free shuttle into Ubud which only takes 10 minutes.

A new building is underway...and yes the present buildings need some renovation but as long as you keep your expectations in line with the very reasonable cost it is an interesting experience for a short stay and supports a very worthy cause.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suly Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suly Resort and Spa

Address: Jl.Cok Rai Pudak, Br.Yangloni | Ubud, Gianyar Bali, Peliatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suly Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name of the resort is based on a concept of the word "Suly“, which means many beautiful reasons. Suly Resort, Yoga and Spa is a fully functional resort with 62 rooms and cottages, restaurant, café, bar, swimming pools, yoga, Spa, art and cultural activities, tours, transport and other butler services. SULY RESORT, YOGA AND SPA is set amidst the 2.8 hectares of land surrounded by lush green rice paddies that enhances the serene beauty of the resort. Within its premises is a rich garden with all its flora creating ambiance of relaxation and rejuvenation. The resort offers 62 well designed rooms and cottages to cater guests from all levels and categories, from young backpackers to family vacation, couples getaways and honeymoons to group retreats and seminars. What’s unique about it is that Suly Resort is also a training ground for High School students that have been selected to attend for free due to the fact that they come from underprivileged families from remote villages mainly from Bali and the other islands of Indonesia. The Bali Global foundation gives these underprivileged children a great opportunity to become professionals in the fast-growing hospitality sector. Suly Resort, Yoga and Spa support Bali Global Foundation by operating a boarding school located in one of Suly properties in Bali, where High School education,room and board are provided for free. In return, the students take ownership of the resort by training in the various departments to attain an added set of trade skills while they attend High School. Suly Resort generates the funding to pay for the students lodging and education with its hotel operations, to make it fully self-sufficient without any monetary donations taken from external sources. The school prides itself in an ‘all for one philosophy’, taught to the students, everyone helps one another. In some cases the students have furthered their studies on a scholarship programs at University level. Upon graduation after gaining experience in the workforce many return to Suly and the Bali Global Foundation to share some of their new knowledge with the current students. The Resort also runs other enterprises which are created for the students to run. A laundry, a café, organic gardens where produce is sold in local markets. The money generated from these mini enterprises are paid out as a salary to hire graduate students and part of the income goes into the project of setting up more schools and projects of this kind in other areas of Indonesia. Suly is a friendly place with a genuine village feel and plenty of character. Best of all, one is surrounded by smiling grateful students who strive to provide you with service on par with five star resorts. Grateful for an opportunity in life to provide a better standard of living for themselves, their families and their community. If you are looking to make a difference in this world and be a witness to the amazing opportunities these teenagers are given, here is a place that welcomes your support with open arms. Come, visit and enjoy the Suly experience. A way to empower the less fortunate, is not by giving donations but by building skills. As the the saying goes, “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suly Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suly Hotel Gianyar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suly Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.