We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, fabulous spa, but some typical disadvantages of large hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Maya Ubud Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Gunung Sari | PO. Box 1001, Peliatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good hotel, fabulous spa, but some typical disadvantages of large hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed at the Maya Ubud for five nights in August. Since apparently our original Villa category was fully booked we were put into a Relax Pool Villa. Obviously, this was a very good start into our holiday at the Maya Ubud.

Our room was indeed very nice, probably the highlight of our stay at the Maya Ubud. We had a little garden, a plunge pool (very cold, but good to wake up in the morning!) and a fantastic bathroom with a view over the river valley from the bathtub.

The grounds of the hotel are partly very nice, but there are a few concrete structures, such as the main building or the elevator to the spa, which don't really fit into the location and slightly destroy the otherwise beautiful atmosphere of the river valley, in which the hotel is located.

In terms of food we only ate breakfast at the hotel and occasionally lunch. Breakfast was alright, but not amazing. As in many very large hotels, it sometimes felt a bit like they used convenience food, such as concentrate for some of the juices. Also the quality of the bread was not amazing. The biggest problem of the breakfast were the ants. Once I saw a lot of ants in one of the food pots. When I told the waitress, she just shrugged and exchanged it, but didn't really apologize or seem shocked. A good thing about the breakfast was the omelette station and the many coffee varieties they offered. Also, the views from the breakfast terrace were spectacular.
Lunch seemed overpriced and was of average quality.

We had a very nice experience at the spa. The spa suites are overlooking the river valley and all you can hear is the sound of water, no annoying spa music or other noise. Also, the spa pool is very spectacular and a good place to relax as there are no kids allowed.

Since the hotel is outside of town, you always need to take the hotel transfer to get into Ubud. During the day this is free (once every hour), but after 5 you have to pay around 4 USD. For Western price level this seems fine, but for the local price level it is horrendous. However, taxi drivers in town also know the price, so there is no cheaper way to get to and from the hotel. Also, the hotel tries to sell its own activities. Since they are massively overpriced compared to agencies in town, we never used those offers. The drivers we had hired for our activities were usually treated quite unfriendly by the hotel when they came to pick us up - obviously they were annoyed that we had used outside providers. We didn't find that this was good style.

We would give the hotel five stars for its location, the room and the spa, but especially the dependence on hotel transfer and the fact that they forcefully tried to sell their own activities would deserve three stars. Therefore we decided to rate it with four stars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    190
    61
    12
    3
See reviews for
156
630
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Maya as our starting point in Bali. The hotel is lovely. The travel agent hadn't told the hotel it was our honeymoon so they apologised profusely and gave us the honeymoon treats the following day. The settings are superb and we did the walking trip with one of the staff who was called Winana through the nearby fields and villages which we thoroughly enjoyed. The only minor disappointment was the spa which was quite expensive and I didn't rate - the scrub was smearing me in cold yoghurt, leaving it a while and whiping it off and the massage was half hearted especially compared to the other (and much cheaper) treatments I had later in Bali.
The only other minor grumble is the shuttle service into town which finishes at 5pm. Taxi's are very reasonable but I think a hotel of this calibre could stretch to providing a shuttle until at least early evening. The walk into town is downhill but given the lack of streetlighting I wouldn't recommend the walk in the dark.
Overall though this is a lovely hotel and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den bosch
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

After a few days at Le Meridien, near Tanah Lot, we also wanted to see Ubud.
It is a totally different scene, but very very beautiful. Everything is green, you can hear all kinds of birds, see all kinds of butterflies, you will hear and see (down below) the river, and you are surrounded by beautiful big trees. Maya Ubud Resort is just beautiful and the Spa is breathtaking. We went for several massages and everytime we came there, we were amazed by the scenery. It really is like a fairytale! The hotel is very serene, quiet, japanese-like, and it's swimmingpool is astonishing.. The only thing is that the pool is surrounded by 16 beds, of which 8 in the shadow, so only 8 in the sun. which we thought was really not enough! It was very quiet there, so our children (13 and 16 years) were afraid to make a sound. We didn't really care because we were in a 'duplex villa', with its own small swimmingpool, so we have stayed there a lot. We had booked two plungepool villa's and when we checked in, we saw that its styling was absolutely wonderful! The thing was that one villa was meant for 2 or 3 persons, so that's why we needed two of them. But the terrace of the villa was a bit too small for the four of us, so this meant that we would have to stay each at our own terrace... We didn't like that idea so we went to the reception for an upgrade. The several people at the reception mentioned several prices for the upgrade, (!) but finally we spoke to someone with a reasonable upgrade-price, so we went to the duplexvilla ($1000 a night).The villa was beautiful! There was this 'plungepool' that was like a small swimmingpool, and there also was a jacuzzi, and two terraces, with great views. We only went to the hotel for the Spa, for our dinner, and two times there was a great performance of 'kecak' and Balidance. Wonderful to see. Our son missed a fitness, he didn't feel like going for yoga, pilates, meditation or painting class, and everywhere we normally travel, he always loves to use the fittness. So too bad for him that Maya Ubud didn't have one. At the end he did quite some walking, biking and we even took a private yoga lesson, right in the middle of the greenery, river, birds and beautiful trees. He and his sister thought it was a bit funny, but I must say this yoga lesson was for me the best experience of Bali..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Wow!! This place will make you feel like you are the luckiest person on the planet! We arrived for the final part of our honeymoon. We had been to the Puri Santrian in Sanur and were sad to leave there as it was gorgeous! On arrival at the Maya, you are given a welcome drink and then taken to your room by a little golf buggy. We had a pool villa right at the end of the row and nearest the Spa. Our room was amazing!! huge bed, deep set pewter bath and the bathroom to die for! Outside we had a lovely lounger and our own pool and although it was small, it was perfect for a dip!
The hotel is set in such beautiful grounds that they have there own nature walk. we missed the organised one by the guides so embarked on one ourselves. The views are STUNNING it is a real paradise, if you like nature and greenery, this is the place for you. The hotel have a shuttle bus into Ubud every hour or they can organise a taxi for you. We ate at Bumbu Bali restaurant which was great value and they also did their own cookery course which took you to the local market at 9am to buy the freshest produce which you cook later on.
We went on one of the trekking trips organised by the hotel.Our guide (Gina) was the most fantastic guy. He showed us all the amazing tropical plants on our walk and then took us to the Elephant Cave where he explained the stories behind the Gods. We then walked through a small village, stopping off in a family compound and then we walked through the rice fields. this bit was just stunning. The views will stay with us forever!
The trek lasted about 4 hours and Gina made every minute interesting and informative. He also runs the Yoga classes at 7.30am every morning at the hotel.
We only had one meal at the hotel on our last night, it was VERY expensive compared to the rest of Bali, but it was nice. The only thing that is annoying is how they stick on service charge and government tax on your bill at the end, so always take this into account when you are paying.
The other thing that mustn't be left out is the SPA!! WOW WOW WOW!!!!! Words cannot describe the beautiful spa, it is surrounded by the river and so when you are having your treatments, all you can hear is the flow of the river and the birds and other wildlife, stunning! The treatments are expensive and if you are on a special occasion as we were, you have got to do them, especially if they include a flower bath afterwards, overlooking the river! We had a package where dinner at the lovely River CAfe was included.

The Maya Ubud is out of this world, people who have moaned about this place must have totally unrealistic expectations as the staff here, the grounds, the rooms , in fact everything was just AMAZING!!! What an end to our honeymoon. Missing it now back in sunny Yorkshire!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

i realy likes this resort,its was a beautiful pace,nice staff,friendly people,good food,excellent spa,but its too expensive for indonesian like me,the rates of the pool villa is expensive for me,but this place is realy beautiful,maybe i have no word again but i recommended for i dont know but this is the perfrcts resort in the world i think

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavcam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed for six nights at the Maya Ubud. It is a beautifully designed and expansive property with a Japanese aesthetic, but a very western style. The service is impeccable, the included breakfast fabulous. The care taken in the setting of the hotel and spa is apparent the moment you arrive. The rooms are large (we stayed in a standard room), though I would advise avoiding odd numbered rooms (101, 201. 301 etc) as they face the hidden staff car park. Even numbers far better in the main building. The food (we are vegetarians) was well prepared and delicious, made pricey by the addition of 40% in service and taxes. There is a free shuttle into Ubud. There are two companion hotels elsewhere in Bali. Pools are splendid, better down at the Spa.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Maya Ubud is first class in everything they do, especially the spa. I have had spa treatments all over the world, and this was simply the best. Get the "Harmony Duo", a treatment with two people simultaneously giving you the rub down in the most gorgeous spa setting I have seen. The hotel is very quiet, and my only complaint is that the two pools were shady and too cool. But the views of the tropical jungle, the design, and the location are all stellar. They also do first class nightly cultural dinners that were a bit like a luau in Hawaii, but they were done well. A nice place to stay and th help was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Gunung Sari | PO. Box 1001, Peliatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maya Ubud Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort located in the central of Bali, between the river valley and rice terraces of Ubud. Rooms and villas with all the comfort and conveniences you would expect. An ideal choice for those looking for luxurious facilities, peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings with personalized service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maya Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Ubud Hotel Ubud
Maya Ubud Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Ubud Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.