We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but probably better to go without kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maya Ubud Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Gunung Sari | PO. Box 1001, Peliatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, but probably better to go without kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our three children (7,7, and 10). I'll start off by saying that, although our kids were certainly made to feel welcome, this is NOT a resort for children, although there were a few staying at the resort when we were there. Rather, I would recommend it for adult family gatherings, romantic weekends, or the like. Especially as one can then take advantage of the "no kids allowed" portion of the resort at the far end of the property! If you do go with kids, one great thing is that there is ample green space for them to run around freely. The resort is excellent in this regard.

The resort is lovely, with a high standard to the rooms, restaurant, and bar. It's small, but has an intimate feel, compared to some of the larger resorts on the Bali coast. We stayed in rooms 807 and 808, two adjacent bungalows facing the rice paddies. The bungalows are a good size for a maximum of 3 people (2 adults and 2 kids in a pinch), and are attractively appointed. They seemed preferable to the regular rooms to me, and are worth splurging for, in my opinion. That said, the "view" of the rice paddies was nothing special at all. In retrospect, I would have preferred bungalows facing the river valley.

The infinity-edge pool is small, but quite elegant, with a nice, if not magnificent view across the river gorge. Again, not for kids. Really made with adults in mind. Food (breakfast and 1 dinner) was good, but not the best one can expect in Indonesian high-end resorts.

All services were top-notch, as should be expected, as were the facilities, which include a tennis court and pitch-and-putt golf course. It's well-located: a short drive from Ubud - far enough away to be peaceful; close enough to be convenient.

At the end of the day, this is an very nice, moderately high-end resort. It is not at the TOP end, nor is it as nice as several other high-end resorts I've stayed at in Indonesia (such as Tugu in Lombok; Amanjiwo in Borobudur; Chedi in Ubud), but it has won many, many awards, and is clearly extremely popular with Trip Advisor travellers. I would certainly stay there again (and quite happily), but the overall impression I left with was that I was hoping for something a little more, somehow.

Room Tip: Ask for villas/bungalows on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    190
    61
    12
    3
See reviews for
156
632
43
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the moment you arrive at Maya Ubud, you would not want to shut your eyes. It is amazing to see how nature at its most beautiful has been preserved, yet providing the visitor simple luxuries and excellent service. Ubud is a charming little town, my favorite place in Bali. Maya is pretty close to the town. Though complimentary shuttle service is provided, walking through the narrow lanes is a great experience.
If you chose to stay at Maya, you wouldn't want to leave the hotel.You start the day with session of yoga (asanas are for beginners) which is taken by a lovely teacher. Breakfast is just delicious, with a variety of Asian and continental dishes, local fruits and juices. Imagine having breakfast listening to birds, watching exotic flowers and plants in the valley below the restaurant.
You could chose to spend the day at the hotel, go for nature walks, try out a pilates class, go trekking through the rice fields in the adjoining villages or just lounge about at their gorgeous pool. Oh, and if you around in the evening, grab a free snack and tea!
The rooms are very tastefully decorated. No gaudy colors. You get all the color you want when you look out of the French windows. They do have a huge bathtub,and a couple could enjoy a romantic bath together.
Lovely spa. Well, you just have to be there to experience the beauty that surrounds you. The therapists are gentle and good. I thoroughly enjoyed my facial and massage.
Excellent staff, excellent property, great food, reasonable tariff, what else could you want? I hope I can go back to Maya soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow... My first trip to Bali and i was lucky enough to stay at the Maya Resort and spa. The rooms were amazing, the food and service was second to none. But the highlight for me and still to this day was the spa treatments, massage and facial i had in one of the beautifully appointed cabana's overlooking the river, I've had many treatments and even Built and owned a Day Spa myself, but i left that room or should i say i floated out of that treatment and i swear i had tears in my eye's at just how beautiful an experience i had just had. For a little while, the stress and worry's of corporate life and a divorce had left me. I was left with just beauty, peace and a slice of serenity. I will be back for sure. Thanks for the memorys. Richard Sydney, Australia.

Room Tip: I didn't go expensive cabin, I actually stayed in the main building, the rooms are much bigger a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The is property really needs to be experienced. Photos and reviews don't really do it any justice. This property has won many awards, including the Green Globe Cert 2011-2012, Asean Green Hotel Recognition award 2010-2011, Green Hotel & Best Luxury Spa. From the moment you are picked up at the airport by a Maya driver, the service is outstanding. The resort staff are professional, warm and very friendly, they are in a class of their own. We always stay in a pool villa, which has its own plunge pool and garden that has the most beautiful vista. Both pools and pool areas are tranquil and serene. Superb, fresh, inovative, healthy & conscious food throughout the property. We have experienced both the Villa Grill & the Romantic Dinner for two - both sensational. Indulge the senses with a luxurios riverside spa treatment, or simply relax by the infinity pools or your own private pool villa. Space, tranquility, peace, beauty, serenity, exceptionally outstanding service is what you'll experience at Maya!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just had 3 nights with my wife in this resort. This place is just amazing !!! it is situated about 5 minutes by free hotel shuttle to Ubud (which is good).We stayed in a Pool Villa which is spacious with everything (except a espresso machine) the plunge pool is big enough to cool down during the hot days, and has a outdoor shower as well, but make sure you walk down to the resorts main infinity pool which sits on the side of a cliff overlooking the river below, this has a great cafe for lunch and also the Spa area. The staff are so friendly - thanks to Yuda, Kate and Ava for all their help, especially with an issue with our airconditioning on the first night. The food is excellent, big breakfast buffet, and good choice of dinners, including different themed nights. We had the Balianese on the last night complete with local dancers. After a few hot hours in Ubud, it is great to get back to this place for a swim, cocktail and dinner.
We had a total of 10 nights in Bali (first time) and picked 2 world class resorts - this place and the The Legian in Seminyak. We WILL BE BACK to both.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a pool villa, you will use it a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's hard to wow me with anything basically. I've stayed at amazing hotels all over the world. In this one instance I was very surprised by how much nicer it was than I expected.

Highlights / good points:
- Pool villa was the bomb. Almost didn't, glad we did.
- Spa, Spa area, Spa pool, spa restaurant....the new happy place my mind goes to when I'm in traffic or dealing with an annoying client. Roaring river, great service, amazing food.
- Food, breakfast, drinks were great. Breakfast was really just perfect....variety, fresh, beautiful setting.
- Stunning lobby, creative, beautiful lighting, peaceful, beautiful, perfect.

Not so great:
- The balinese dancing show was a big fat yawn. Seafood buffet was average. Skip it - have a meal in town, be back in time for the show....watch 10 minutes of it for free from the bar and save yourself $40.

I debated hard about whether to blow the wad and stay at the Four Seasons and possibly even the Amandari. I decided this place looked nicer than the 4 seasons, and the Amadari was just too pricey ($1100!!). Definitely made the right choice. I think we paid $350 or so through Agoda....I was expecting it to be substandard because it seemed like a 'deal', but it definitely felt like a 5-star, top notch place.

I went with a buddy who's going through a bad divorce....almost skipped the pool villa because it seemed 'too romantic', but I'm glad we did it. So nice to jump into the plunge pool in the middle of the day after walking around Ubud all hot and sweaty. The outdoor shower was awesome too. Didn't even think about using the one inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just to the outskirts of Ubud this delightful hotel is extremely good. we had a terrific time here. The grounds are worth walking around on their own. we had a good room but you can get a Villa if you prefer. Good size with lots of facilities. the restaurant is excellent and get the Chef to prepare the fixed special menu...that was excellent entertainment but superb food also.The service was very good and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: Upper Floors seemed best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Gunung Sari | PO. Box 1001, Peliatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maya Ubud Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort located in the central of Bali, between the river valley and rice terraces of Ubud. Rooms and villas with all the comfort and conveniences you would expect. An ideal choice for those looking for luxurious facilities, peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings with personalized service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maya Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Ubud Hotel Ubud
Maya Ubud Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Ubud Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.