We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiing Gading Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tiing Gading Bungalows to your Saves list
Tiing Gading Bungalows
Tebesaya, Peliatan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Such a welcome change from busy commercial hotels of Kuta and Seminyak! The rooms were cool, traditional and very clean, but the best and most memorable thing about Ting Gading was the service - all the small things, welcome drink on arrival, a hot thermos of tea outside your room very early every morning, a mosquito coil lit outside your room at 5pm... You just didn't have to ask for anything!
It's not situated in the heart of Ubud, but everything is still a walkable distance, including some of the better hidden local restaurants.
We did a cooking class with Sitty, an amazing experience, we cooked 6 or 7 things, we were so full we couldn't fit in dessert so she let us do it the next morning!
Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Slight disappointment with Tiing Gading, we decided to stay here after seeing reveiws on trip advisor.
I'm afraid it didn't meet our expectations.
Firstly we got a great deal on two nights stay so cannot complain about that!
& the lady that saw us to our room was the loveliest.
The room was very traditional with beautiful wood carved doors & surrounding nature! Felt quite private.
Breakfast was good too.
So the disappointment came with the pool cleanliness,which we did not even entertain & sun lounges are not mobile & covered in ants.
You need a pool in ubud as you are not close to a beach.
The walk was quite far to the main strip for places to eat & very dark walking back in the evening.
So location wasn't great.
We also woke in the night to find our room had been invaded by giant ants which had come in from the drain in the bathroom!i have never seen so many!!This was not a pleasant experience & ment we did not sleep well this night!
The cockerels next door started calling as early as 3am in the morning sometimes so would avoid If a light sleeper!
But I surpose all part of the experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Tiing Gading Bungalows for 6 days/5 nights in august 2012. Very nice small hotel for reasonable prices. Well, if you are used to stay in top-level resorts, this is definitely not your choice (i agree that all luxury amenities have their price), but if you are looking for something quiet and home-like feeling, this is it. Very clean (roomservice every day in the morning), tea and drinking water facilities free of charge, and the best authentic indonesian food in Ubud. But who makes the whole place so special is the proprietor, Siti. She really does her best to make the guests feel like home and she works hard for that.
The place is very small and cozy. I recommend to book the second floor room just near the reception - other rooms sometimes have problems with water pressure. And actually this is the only small minus about this home-like hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights.
Good things first:
The bungalows are nice with nice balcony or terrasse.
The Nasi Goreng for breakfast is good and you also get fresh fruits and fresh juice.
They bring you fresh tea every morning to your balcony.
You can walk to the city center (10-15 min).

But now the less nice things:
The bathroom is quite old and you only get hot water for a quick shower.
But way the worst thing:
They keep a monkey in a cage in the garden!!!! Alone in a cage without a tree or gras or any nature at all!
This made us feel sad everytime we saw it..... So "sad" when we went to breakfast, "sad" when we came Home in the afternoon and "sad" again when we left for dinner.
I'm really sorry to write this, because the people and the location were really nice, but we wouldn't go there again -because of the monkey.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I know Allan and Siti since 2007 (through business) but never stayed at Tiing Gading. Last Christmas finally I made it and two friends of mine joined me to stay at Tiing Gading for Christmas and New Year.
Already the cosy welcome of Allan and Siti and their staff made me feel home. Tiing Gading is a place where you are part of a big family. Chatting to Allan and Siti and receiving information where to go and what to see was very helpful. Tiing Gading is very close to Monkey Forest Rd and just a 5 to 10 minutes’ walk away you will find quite a large supermarket where you can find all you need, including souvenirs at the top floor.
Tiing Gading also offers airport pick-up and tours.
The food was marvellous, fresh and very tasty. Look out for the food marked with a *, that are Tiing Gading's specials. The banana pancake and black rice pudding (need to be pre-ordered the night before) have been my favourite.
The garden, pool and rooms were cleaned every day and spotless.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay to Allan, Siti & all the staff at Tiing Gading.
Happy New Year 2012 and all future years.

Room Tip: There are upstairs and downstairs room. If you have problems walking stairs, I suggest asking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I knew my husband and I would love this place when I booked ... and I was right! Tiing Gading has good, clean affordable accommodation in a tranquil, beautiful setting. Allan, Siti and their staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to drop you into the city centre when required. The food was divine and we overindulged each day.

The couple built the comfortable bungalows themselves around twenty years ago, they have therefore aged a little but they still have beautiful wooden furniture and lovely balconies attached ... so cosy and homely.

I cannot speak too highly of this place and it's beautiful, generous owners. Nothing is too difficult for them. My only regret is that we should have spent our entire time in Bali there - much nicer than the villas in Seminyak.

Catriona and Jonathan Markus, Australia

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

What a great find! Allan and Siti are generous and wonderful hosts, supported by a very friendly and helpful team. We booked two rooms and were delighted with our upstairs bungalows overlooking the beautiful gardens. Scrumptious food and we really enjoyed our cooking class with Siti. It is an easy walk to the centre of Ubud and Monkey Forest Road. Nothing was too much trouble and we appreciated Siti going out of her way to pick our stranded daughter and partner when their car broke down at night in pouring rain. Really enjoyed our chats with Allan. Overall, a fantastic stay and we’ll be going back.

Room Tip: Upstairs bungalows have lovely views of the gardens from covered verandahs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiing Gading Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiing Gading Bungalows

Address: Tebesaya, Peliatan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small secluded resort close to the main road of Ubud. Meticulously clean Rooms are equipped with a/c noiseless ceiling fans, bathroom, refrigerator, original art, large balcony, swimming pool, excellent Indonesian restaurant, cooking lessons, privately conducted tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tiing Gading Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiing Gading Bungalows Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiing Gading Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.