We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Sussex National

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added East Sussex National to your Saves list
East Sussex National
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES , England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The night I stayed I got a great offer, so it represented great value for money. The rooms are very large, with views over the golf course towards the south downs. The room was cold when I arrived, so I turned up the heating, by the time I went to bed it was warm. The rooms could do with a little something to make them feel a bit more homely, perhaps some magazines?
The welcome from the staff was very good and the food in the restaurant was excellent, but quite pricey, however there is a bar menu that is competitively priced. The leisure facilities are very good, with a good sized pool, though this time I didn't have time!! Nice peaceful location with easy access to Uckfield, Lewes and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. The menu is to change shortly and i will pass your comments onto the chef.

Hopefully we will see you again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    155
    54
    26
    23
See reviews for
81
214
15
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is in a nice quiet location for a few days away, the downside of that being there isn't much else around. Our room was spacious, with separate bath and shower, and good views to the south. We chose a clubroom for this reason, which had a balcony too, in spite of the weather. Shampoo and soap was a bit limited, but reception gave us some more when requested. TV channels were a bit limited with no pay movies.
Breakfast was typical buffet, but the first two days, hot food was cooked to order due to the hotel being quiet. Staff were attentive and friendly. Bar food was nicely presented and enjoyable, although the menu was a bit limited. Had the carvery on the Sunday we arrived in Hunnington's restaurant, which adjoins the hotel. Pool area was fine, with fairly good sized pool, and decent sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The water fountain was out of order, however.
On the whole, a good hotel for a few nights' stay.

Room Tip: Go for a south facing room with a view over the golf course, the countryside and to the South Downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to comment, yes all the rooms are very spacious and we have over 30 with balconies that are a treat even with the damp weather. I will look into the situation regarding the limited soap?

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The second time we have stayed at the Hotel. We stayed there for a nearby wedding and enjoyed our stay so much we decided to visit again. We do not play golf but found the facilities excellent, the room lovely (family room), breakfast great and staff all very helpful and friendly. One member in particular was outstanding Charlotte Cork who found my daughters special bedtime toy that had gone off to laundry. She went above and beyond to retrieve it and return it via special delivery so my daughter could have her toy the following night. We owe much thanks to her and would most definitely stay at the hotel again based on our last two visits there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Excellent review, many thanks. Thank you also for the card you sent Charlotte, she was most delighted and it is always a pleasure to see when our guests show there appreciation to a team member

once again Thank you and we hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at ESN together with our French brother and sister-in-law and, despite the awful weather, we had an excellent stay. We were welcomed on arrival with a friendly smile by Charlotte(?).

Our rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious in a beautiful location, although the heating did not seem to work properly at night and was very noisy.

We were rather anxious regarding the food as the French can be uncomplimentary about British cuisine. However, we need not have worried as they thoroughly enjoyed the New Year's eve dinner, the breakfasts and especially the cream tea.

The staff were all very friendly, especially Tom, who greeted us at the start of the evening, and Hamid who provided impeccable service during the New Year's eve dinner in the Pavilion where we were able to enjoy a relaxing meal accompanied by Tony who sang a medley of a 'Rat Pack' songs. The only minor point I would make on the New Year's eve arrangements is that there was only one person struggling to serve canapés to the large number of guests, which meant that service was slow and a bit uneven.

The ladies also enjoyed a relaxing reflexology session and facial in the Spa before we left on 2nd January.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and good value - this is the first time we have spent New Year's eve in a venue like ESN and, based upon our experience would do it again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for such a great review and i wil pass your comments to all the team, once again thank you and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in 2014
kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the east sussex national in December rooms were adequate and the food in the hotel is fairly standard you can see that the De Vere have put there shoe string budget to the place, which is a shame because it use to be a beautiful hotel with friendly staff and excellent food.

There is one beam of sunshine from the east sussex national... Step up the Clubhouse

We only came across the clubhouse because we decided to venture out of the hotel, firstly the views are absolutely incredible from the restaurant with its floor to ceiling glass windows and they have incredibly attentive staff we was served by the barman (Craig). We decided to dine here on a Saturday lunchtime I had the Sirloin Steak which barring none was the best I ever had, it was presented in a sizzle pan with grilled tomato, mushrooms, chips and onion rings stacked high (you could here the sizzling on its way to the table). My wife had the ESN gourmet Burger not very lady like I know but WOW and again one of the best burgers she has ever tasted.

Upon such success of our saturday meal we decided to book for the Christmas Carvery in the Clubhouse for the Sunday Lunch and we wasn't disappointment, there were more Vegetables than I can ever remember seeing at a Carvery 10 in total plus crispy duck fat roasted potatoes, also beef cooked to perfection a whole roasted Turkey and glistening honey glazzed gammon. The ambience was lovely and service organised and prompt. Not only that we was given a 10% voucher upon our return to the clubhouse.

My recommendation to anybody reading this is go and eat in the Clubhouse it is faultless, there's amazing variety in the menu all at a very sensible and reasonable price, you can tell the chef clearly knows what he is doing. What a gem we have found and we will be back.

Many thanks

Paul & Susan



Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your great comments on the club house, however i am a little disappointed to read in reference to your comments on the Hotel and that you found the bedrooms adequate?. The staff and rooms are always an area that guests comment on very highly.

Also as a prior guest I am so pleased that on this occasion you ventured out and found the clubhouse and were able to utilise the facilities, i apologise that if prior you were not informed of the club house facilities available

Regarding the De Vere shoe string budget? i am to assume you are meaning th food aspect of your comments but i am a little confused by this as we are managed and branded as a De Vere Venue and the Chef is still the same as prior . The food is all supplied by the same suppliers across the site and the menus are like for like. We also do try to have uniformity of management in all areas therefore if any of our guests eat in the bar of the clubhouse or hotel the menu is the same but with just a play on words on the menus. IE the hotel burger is called the Verve burger but in the golf club it is called the ESN burger.

I have tried to contact you through your profile but we do not seem to be able to locate you within our booking system. Please do not hesitate to give me a call directly to discuss your concerns on a more personal level.

Once again Thank you for your comments and i will ensure that these are passed on to all the team members, i am also so pleased to read that you will be back again

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

we came from Cheshire for this event with friends and we're very disappointed We paid £90 each for the evening. The food was poor and there was little choice, canapés we're slow in arriving, and when the food arrived it looked as if it had been well pre cooked. It appeared this was done on a shoestring with few staff who were delightful but inexperienced. The music was far too loud and not not good choices. We shall not be returning.Poor for de Vere.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and i do apologise that you felt the food poor? I do wish that you had taken the opportunity to speak to Tom who was on hand all evening as guest concierge visiting tables and speaking to all. The canopies were taken out at 7pm., however i did notice that some guests arrived at 6.00pm and Champagne was poured from this time, not 7pm as planned, as I am unsure of what time you arrived I feel it unfair of me to comment if you felt that the canopies should have been the same time as the Champagne.

Regarding your comment on the teams inexperience, i can truthfully say that all the team with the exception of three of the management team have worked at the hotel for a while and also worked last years events? . The DJ is our resident DJ and has worked at the hotel for a long while, I will however pass your comments onto him. The music volume I would not be able to comment on as I also attended the event and found it satisfactory, however i do like my music to be on the loud side? I am sorry that you will not be returning and if you do re consider, we do also have another event that we host in the restaurant which is without a disco just a live artist.

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We love the East Sussex National. We spent our anniversary here in May and it was lovely. At the time there was a special offer on for couples that included a night's stay, cream tea, spa access and a treatment. The room was very spacious, modern and clean and there were some lovely handmade chocolates and a bottle of champagne waiting for us on arrival. We also had a balcony overlooking the golf course and were lucky enough to get lovely weather during our stay, so we had our cream tea on the balcony in the sun.

The spa was very relaxing and we enjoyed lying on the loungers drinking tea and sitting in the sauna. Our treatment consisted of rubbing mud all over ourselves and each other and then sitting in a steam room before being showered off. I'm sure there is a more eloquent way of putting this, but that is the long and short of it! It was lots of fun and I'm sure the staff had a big clean up job on their hands when we had left the room.

After our stay at the East Sussex National we have returned several times for the cream tea. It is hands down the best cream tea we have ever had. Freshly prepared and warm scones with clotted cream and jam. Delicious! You must try the cream tea!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We love your review, many thanks. Yes the balconies are a great asset to the hotel, especially on those great weather days. The rhassoul treatment i have heard is good fun but very messy, i do suppose though that, that is all part of the fun.

The cream teas are very popular and thank you for the comments.

Once again thank you and hopefully see you again soon

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES , England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Sussex National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.