We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Sussex National

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added East Sussex National to your Saves list
East Sussex National
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES , England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence 2014
crete
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for one night for our anniversary. Cant find any faults. Our suite was one of the best we have stayed in. Bathroom was superb ,wet room shower, all the fittings was first class.Bed was very comfortable.One little let down was the tv, only 4 channels. Still we must not moan. The restaurant was lovely, made to feel very welcome.The Menu was very Good, varied choice. The Breakfast was excellant. helpful waitress. They even had fried bread.The views were great I even saw a woodpecker. Lovely and quiet. Would go AGAIN.

Room Tip: Corner Suite. The Best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for your review and thrilled to hear you had a good time for your anniversary. We hope to see you with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    182
    66
    29
    27
See reviews for
94
264
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here a few months ago...we made the booking as a last minute decision so didn't arrive at the hotel until about 10pm. We had a few drinks in the bar which was nice and had a great nights sleep (the blackout blinds are fantastic!), then had a really yummy breakfast the following morning. There was plenty of choice and we enjoyed a cup of coffe on the balcony overlooking the fields. When we checked out we asked if we were able to use the swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi in the health centre next door. We were given the impression we weren't overly welcome to do this...there is only set times this can be used which we weren't aware of. The lady on reception had to ring the manager and ask if we could use it, considering we had just paid £130 for a room I didn't think it was too much to ask for!! Eventually we were given the all clear and enjoyed a couple of hours to relax (apart from noisy children!). I'm not entirely sure I would stay here again. I think it is mainly for golfers and business purposes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

As part of a golf society of 2 players, we have just had a very good weekend at East Sussex National, despite the freezing weather.

The accommodation was fine, the check-in and check-out process was flawless. I can recommend the buffet evening meal, and the hearty breakfast............. well done.

special mention to the golf staff, who had the course open in very trying circumstances, even cleaning each players clubs after each round.

I look forward to going back next year............. hopefully in better weather

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for posting your kind comments, I will pass them on to our golf hospitality team. Fingers crossed your next stay will be in glorious sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Trying to book a room for a wedding - first we were told to contact the bride to release rooms, then we were told our room was booked. Then we were told our room wasn't booked - 2 weeks later after we had booked a hire car and confirmed our wedding invitation. We have been offered no help, support or compensation, the hotel has not been proactive. What hotel asks the guests to contact the bride?!!! We haven't told her as I'm sure she would be mortified her guests were being treated like this. We live overseas and have spent a fortune on calls trying to sort this. The staff have no customer service skills and no willingness to help. Awful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
I have spoken to the team involved in your booking, with who I understand you have been in regular contact.
Whilst I appreciate the situation has been frustrating, I do not feel that the comments you have regarding our customer service are either fair or representative of the efforts our reception team, in particular our senior receptionist, have gone to, to try and resolve your issues.
Due to the hotel being fully booked, we endeavoured to seek alternative accommodation within the local area on your behalf; however you found this unacceptable due to the additional costs involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

this is the third time to this hotel and i never tire of coming here. the rooms are lovely, some have huge balconys, some have small balconys but they all have fantastic views. on the drive up to the hotel you can sometimes get held up by the deer standing on the road. lovely. they have the most fantastic spa in this place and a huge pool which is just brilliant. the bar meu is very tasty and well presented but you just cannot beat the delicious food that is served in the main restaurant. as usual, the food was of superb quality and do try the wood pigeon, mouthwatering and of course, a lovely selection of wines to go with the most mouth watering desserts. i would always recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a spa weekend or even a golf weekend. fantastic all round. i have yet to stay here when it has been hot but hopefully that will happen one day.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good here, the more you pay, the larger the room. my favourite room would be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for posting your review and your kind recommendation.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have now stayed twice at this hotel while visiting relatives.Despite its size it is a place where you can relax.The lounge and bar area is warm and comfortable and the menu ideal after a busy day. Rooms are comfortable and breakfast is substantial.The swimming pool looks amazing but that will have to wait until another visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your post - come and visit us again and make sure you give the pool a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Birthday treat for him but was really enjoyable for the both of usI decided to treat my other half to a one night stay at the hotel the 12th of febuary for his birthday. When we arrived we were greated by some very helpfull people who offered to take our bags and show us to our room, although we did this ourselfs. we went to the health spa for a swim used the steam room and jacuzzi and this was clean and lovely. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and really enjoyed the quiet and relaxed atmosphere. All in all an amazing stay and will be back. Thank you :) xx

Room Tip: Club room either singel or double are lovely rooms. rooms on the ground floor make it quicker to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Glad to hear that your special stay with us was such a success. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES , England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Sussex National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.