We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant without being pretentious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horsted Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Horsted Place to your Saves list
Horsted Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Little Horsted, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5TS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Rugby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant without being pretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for just 1 night but found the facilities excellent and the location adjacent to a golf course very quiet. Service was impacable. Did not have dinner there but can confirm the breakfast was a cut above most hotels', served in a small but elegant dining room. Rather interestingly the hotel has no bar but does have a store of just about any drink that you might wish apart from a draught beer. Drink can be consumed in the very comfortable lounge whilst being entertained by a very competant pianist. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
38
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

As a frequent traveler we are not accustomed for a hotel to ask for our room key every time we decide to leave or even more so to inform someone every time we had to leave hotel. It was if she was appalled that we questioned why we couldnt keep room key with us. Since the hotel didn't have room safe in our room, your only option is the office safe. I didn't want to leave my personals about ( jewelry and monies etc.) I guess you have to just trust no one will enter your room when your gone after you give them back their key. The reason that was stated to us was "how will we know if your not in your room in case of a fire"? Uh ok guess that is the horsted place way of thinking. Also there is no room service after 9pm. If you are thirsty for something other then water. You have to travel down to main lobby and find porter to get a soda, juice, tea, etc.
The hotel is nice and has an old feel to it. The stairs crick when you walk down like a very old house. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. The lift was slow as molasses and super small but thank goodness it worked since we were on the fourth level. Loads of stairs to climb. Food was good and pricey. Parking is included and convienantly close to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place such an interesting review. I am glad you liked the house and found the carpark convenient. I would however mention for other readers that we only have three floors - ground, first and second. Our lift is undoubtedly slow but reliable and we are lucky to have it in a grade two listed house built in 1851. We offer 24 hour room service and guests are welcome to call down to order a drink at any time - this information is readily available in our room directories but we will redouble our efforts to make everyone aware of this. For the security and safety of all our guests we do prefer that room keys are left at reception when leaving the hotel; the duty manager does of course hold a master key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Horsted Place was a total surprise......from the bluebell lined winding driveway, to the stunning facade, the relaxed garden and secret pathways, the discrete and totally professional staff, the food and wine, the fascinating history......it just ones on! I think the view from the bedroom window opening the curtains first thing in the morning looking out across the vast garden with wild flowers over to the South Downs, the blue sky and the sound of the cock pheasants - and not a car or house in sight......had to be one of the best hotel experiences ever! Totally recommended for a special occasion. There were 9 of us aged betwee 10 and 86 yrs and we were all totally indulged.
We will dinifitely be back for another game of croquet!!!!!

Room Tip: I booked the rooms during a promotional period - and worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your visit to Horsted Place so much and thank you for this lovely review. We hope to see you again and look forward to witnessing your prowess on the croquet lawn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is lovely, and our generously-sized room was extremely comfortable, but it was the charming and very helpful staff who made this such a wonderful place to stay. And despite the rain, the grounds looked wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We took my Mother & Father to Horsted Place Hotel for Afternoon Tea to celeberate their Wedding Anniversary. We went on Saturday 21st March, which turned out to be a very hot day. The hotel is lovely and set in very nice grounds. There were 10 of us in total, all with different dietary requirements - no sauces on some sandwiches, no fish for others etc. I phoned the hotel & this was all taken care of. There were plenty of cakes - fruit & plain scones (2 per person), blueberry tarts, meringues with chocolate butterflies, chocolate squares filled with chocolate mousse & covered in fresh fruit & shot glasses filled with pannacotta plus the tea and coffee pots were constantly topped up. Staff were very attentive. Good value for money, but we felt there was far too many sweet items & perhaps they could give you a few more sandwiches and cut down on the sweet things. Unfortunately, we were unable to take the chocolates cakes or meringues home, as they were already melting at the hotel. Overall, a lovely afternoon which was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here as guests of a wedding party, the staff were very attentive & friendly on the day. everything was very well organised. The catering was done very nicely & efficiently. The grounds are lovely & the perfect setting for wedding photos. The rooms are very comfortable & spacious. The bridal suite had four rooms & was very lavish. I would recommend this as a peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: we were in the Cottage suite which was near the rear entrance, was a little noisy with staff clearin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thoroughly recommend afternoon tea at this lovely hotel. The best scones I have ever tasted, with selection of home made cakes and sandwiches. We visited in snowy conditions but the grounds would be lovely to walk in, had the weather been warmer. Will certainly come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horsted Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsted Place

Address: Little Horsted, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsted Place 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horsted Place is situated on the A26 just south of Uckfield. Originally a private family house, it is now a luxury country house hotel set in landscaped gardens with extensive views towards the South Downs. A grade II listed Victorian gothic mansion, it has original architectural features designed by Pugin and historical links to the British Royal Family. The fine dining, AA 2-rosetted restaurant offers modern English cuisine with freshly prepared seasonal local ingredients whenever possible. Afternoon teas (served on the Terrace in summer or in front of the Drawing Room fires in winter)are extremely popular. There is a croquet lawn and hard tennis court and guests also have use of the spa and leisure facilities at the East Sussex National, 2 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Horsted Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsted Place Lewes
Horsted Place Hotel Lewes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horsted Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.