We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host, room and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Table
3 Water Street, Greta, Cessnock, New South Wales 2334, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Greta B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent host, room and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Our 6th time at the hunter valley and we like this accom the best! Excellent host, room and breakfast! Not far from the nearest vineyard. Easy drive. Awesome experience all in all! And we love the African theme as it reminds us of the safari at port Elizabeth!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review
And also thank you for saying such kind things
Phil and I appreciate your kind words very much
So glad you enjoyed your stay and had a safe trip back

Jude & Phil
The Table Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Table in February and enjoyed a friendly welcome. Jude's local tips made our visits to the Wineries more selective and we especially valued the recommendation for Ridgeview restaurant which was as good as described.
We had a substantial evening meal on our first night and breakfasts were also more than adequate with hot dishes cooked to request.
The elephant room was comfortable and made more special by the shady verandah outside.
If we are ever back in the region we would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning
Thank you very much for taking the time to write positive review
Glad we were able to be helpful
Always love to share our experiences at the cellar doors and restaurants
thanks again
Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First time user on Trip Advisor; What a great idea!!
Just spent the best part of the week prior to Easter in the Hunter Valley town of Greta at the Table Guesthouse; what a fantastic piece of seclusion and ambience!
Fully complemented, themed rooms with great taste; all based on the ‘Big 5’, from our host’s time in Africa. Our Hosts Jude & Phil provided great service, fantastic food, stories of Africa and had the accommodation to match! Great advice on wineries and history of the region; definitely well worth the visit and we will gladly come back again.

Room Tip: The Lion Room is good value. and OOPs there is no fitness centre, my mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning
thank you for your review and your kind words
Nice to know we are appreciated
Hope to see you again soon

Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked our Easter Weekend break in a bed and breakfast to try something a little different as we usually stay in hotels. On arrival we were met by Jude who was very helpful and friendly and checked us in with ease, provided us with a book and map and took us to our room. The room (zebra) was small but serviceable, consisting of a wardrobe unit that housed a small very small tv and tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was fairly comfortable and the en-suite facilities were clean and functional. There were several options for breakfast and it was nice. The room was light in the morning and we were woken by barking dogs on both days plus it is very close to a very busy road, so there is some road noise.
Most people visit the Hunter Valley to visit the wineries. Wyndhams is pretty close but to get to the remainder you'll need to travel in excess of 21 klms! On our first evening we visited the local pub which is about a 3 minute walk away and has a 'bistro' and bar meals. Lou Lou's cafe and take away is a stones throw away too for cheap eats!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Wendy
Thanks for taking time to write a review, sorry to learn that you only had an average stay for your first time in the Hunter Valley.
We know that we are 21kms from the centre of Pokolbin hence our tariffs reflect on our location, having said that there is a dozen wineries within a 5 minute drive from us in the beautiful Lovedale area.
Our tariff does include breakfast where some other establishments charge for breakfast. We believe our location has the advantage of our guests being able to walk to the Hotel the Sports Club, or a short walk to Lou Lou’s Café or get a coffee at the bakery and newsagents.
We do apologise for the road noise not much can be done about that, we could have closed the window shutters to your room that will reduce most noise if you would have mentioned it to us. They are presently building a bypass which will be open this year and this will reduce the noise even more. Greta will then become a quiet village once again
B&B‘s are peoples homes where you get personal attention and people interaction rather than a motel where you don’t get that service.
Most of our guests spend minimum time in their rooms as there are so many things to do in the area which is why we (although we have undated our TVs to flat screens) do not have larger TVs in the rooms.
Dogs well what can I say unfortunately we have no control over the neighbours dogs, again as we said before we could have closed the window shutters for you and that would have stopped any outside noise.
Regards
Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at The Table with my mum and a friend for a weekend in the Hunter Valley. We had the Elephant room which was lovely - very cosy, spacious and with a lovely en-suite. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a cold jug of water in the fridge. We were given maps of the area and told where we could eat for dinner. We had a beautiful breakfast in the house the next morning. I would highly recommend The Table. Thankyou for such a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning
thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review
Pleased you liked the breakfast a good way to start the day
Thank you again

Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Trying to fine accommodation for a saturday night only, to attend a concert at bimbadgen is not easy as most places want you to stay 2 nights, we were very lucky to have found this fabulous B&B with a door to door bus service to the concert, so we could enjoy the wine, which is what you want to do at a winery concert!
Jude and Phil are wonderful hosts, and we meet some lovely guests to enjoy a fabulous breakfast with.
We Highly recommend The Table Guesthouse

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning
Thank you for your kind words
Glad you enjoyed your very short stay in the Hunter Valley
Yes we did have some delightful guests that weekend
Usually do
Glad you enjoyed your breakfast

thanks again
Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a great get away from Melbourne and so close to the wineries! Jude and Phil were extremely welcoming and hospitable. The Table Guesthouse is very peaceful - where you can relax and unwind and take things at your own pace.
Jude and Phil are great hosts in the way that they give you your own space while also attending to your needs. For example, they were great in suggesting things to do and see while we were here and we tasted some great wine and cheese as a result.
We will defiantly stay here again when next in the hunter valley!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table

Address: 3 Water Street, Greta, Cessnock, New South Wales 2334, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Greta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Guest house is situated in the historical village of Greta 5 minutes to Lovedale and 10 minutes to Pokolbin, 5 minutes to Wyndham winery the oldest winery in the Hunter Valley. Friendly casual ambiance, African themed en-suite queen rooms dinner available upon request (minimum 24 hours notice required). Fantastic breakfasts. Walk to pubs or club. In the most unlikely location, Greta, a small village which used to be the site of a detention camp for postwar migrants, yet central to the wine-making region of the Hunter Valley, is The Table B&B. This place is marvelous, and I don't know why I'm telling you about it. Crisp linen, spacious private rooms, and excellent food. A package where you can stay for two night, have two evening meals and two substantial breakfasts for $500 also makes The Table good value. But you can only get there by car. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Table to your Saves list