We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Marriott, somewhat odd layout” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Cincinnati at RiverCenter

Save Saved
You added Marriott Cincinnati at RiverCenter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Cincinnati at RiverCenter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 W RiverCenter Blvd, Covington, KY 41011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Covington
Madison Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Standard Marriott, somewhat odd layout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Staff were adequate and accommodating. Hotel is kind of "standard" Marriott. Standard configurations, standard amenities, etc. Overall, satisfactory. Somewhat oddly configured. To park, you either need to pay for valet parking or park in adjacent ramp that is not owned by the Marriott. On weekend nights, the parking can be full or mostly full, which can be a problem. They have a nice small bar but it is rather limited. On a recent Saturday night, for example, the bar had already closed by midnight and room service ended at midnight. When I asked about a glass of wine at 11:50 p.m., I was told "our bar closed early because we were busy with a wedding reception. If you want a glass of wine, you can leave the hotel, go down three floors, walk two blocks, and have a drink at the nearby Embassy Suites" Really? Perhaps this is not really a full service hotel. But, rooms were clean and ok. With river view, the view can be great--you will see the two pro stadiums just across the river. The concierge lounge is very small. This morning (Sunday), we were not able to find a table. Yesterday, there was no table but we did find a spot at a counter where we could eat. The woman supporting the lounge was great!

Room Tip: River view rooms have very nice views of the river and Cincinnati.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    142
    48
    25
    12
See reviews for
73
106
16
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I absolutely loved my two-night stay in a hypoallergenic room on the 15th floor of this hotel. The room view was supposed to overlook the river but instead I had a view of the neighboring Embassy Suites hotel. Still, my room was great and totally work the partial river/hotel view as I could breathe with ease. The "bird cage" gazebo in the center of the hotel lobby is absolutely charming and a great wedding spot. The only complaint I have is the wait of getting into my hotel room. We arrived an hour and a half after check-in and still waited in the lobby for TWO HOURS before our room was ready. On a more positive note: do eat at the restaurant for the breakfast buffet. It's delicious.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are the best. The hypoallergenic rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed three nights while going to Reds games. Very clean and safe, friendly staff. Beautiful accommodations, short walk across bridge to Great American Ballpark, and downtown attractions. Parking in the garage is safe. Also and for $10.00 not bad at all. My only drawback was that it is advertised with FREE wi-fi, this is not so much the case. You can use the computers in the lobby for free but wi-fi in the rooms is $12.95 per day, this is a bit misleading. Over all though a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't pay full price use one of the online travel sites to get a lower rate, then the value is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice hotel, across the river from Cincy. Riverfront room view was nice. Easy walk across the suspension bridge to the ballpark or take the shuttle ($1) over to the GABP, Newport, etc. Very convenient, decent price. Staff was very friendly. Pool and fitness center was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while attending a business conference. Very good location and very good service. Getting in and out is a bit weird...park in the garage yourself and save a little but still $10/day. There are two sets of elevators and only one provides access to the garage and the other to all the rooms. The lobby is actually on the "plaza" level or like the 5th floor. Starbucks in the lobby (yay!). I had a great salad one evening via room service. I also had a terrific view of the Ohio river and the Cincinnati skyline. I was especially thrilled when opening night for the Reds resulted in a fantastic fireworks show right out my window and over the river :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good location and a quick cab ride over to the Newport area. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. My only complaint is that our room faced the atrium (I think they all do) and there seemed to be quite a loud echo all through the night that you could hear.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed overnight for business and was very happy with the hotel staff, the condition of the room, the ambiance of the lobby, and the amenities. There was always a staff member greeting folks warmly in the lobby. The snack pantry/store in the lobby was fully stock and reasonably priced. The fitness room was clean, each cardio machine had it's own tv, and there were plenty of towels and earbuds available. Nice view from the room of the river and downtown Cinci.

If you are fan of fast food, there is every fast food spot imaginable within walking distance, although I would not go walking around alone at night. As a female traveling alone I was a skiddish walking to and from the (free) parking garage at night, even though it's practically connected to the hotel, but I am overly cautious (thanks to my mother).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Cincinnati at RiverCenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cincinnati at RiverCenter

Address: 10 W RiverCenter Blvd, Covington, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Cincinnati at RiverCenter 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott Cincinnati at RiverCenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cincinnati At River Hotel Covington
Marriott Hotel Covington
Marriott Covington
Covington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Cincinnati at RiverCenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.