We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. Neighborhood was a bit questionable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Covington
Rochester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Neighborhood was a bit questionable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveled here with a soccer team. Updated, modern, clean, and beautiful hotel. Neighborhood was a bit questionable. Parking garage (complimentary accessed by room key) next to it and connected by a walkway. Many quick places to eat within walking distance (McD, Burger King, Taco Bell, Waffle House, Big Boy, White Castle). Breakfast downstairs a la carte is pricey. Room walls were a bit thin but the beds are away from the door, so that helped a little. Could hear the trains going by all night the first night. Room doors close noisily and woke us up often. Beds and pillows were comfy. Loved the Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner. Staff was very nice and friendly. Indoor pool and hot tub were nice. Wifi didn't work for us, possibly because we are not members.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the river and downtown Cincinnati. There is a room right across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
14
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really liked how squeaky-clean and neat and updated everything was inside this hotel. I also enjoyed a river view and don't mind the sound of freight trains going past. The staff is very, very friendly and efficient. The personal items are first-rate (e.g. Paul Mitchell for hair), the beds are comfy and towels are soft. I was very disappointed the first night with what felt like very thin walls, as a baby crying on the same floor sounded like it was at my doorstep. Also, the Bistro breakfast downstairs was not really great, though a later dinner sandwich was very good. So it's mixed... I would likely stay again for work. Note: WiFi is free only if you are a rewards member and book on their website! And even so, it's not very fast. I usually get faster WiFi for free at cheaper hotels.

Room Tip: Higher levels, river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your valued feedback. I'm happy you enjoyed the room and amenities; however I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Bistro and the disruptive noise on your floor.

If you would like to further discuss please reach out via phone or email. Thank you.

Jack Brandt, General Manager
859-491-4000
jack.brandt@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This hotel was refreshingly modern with all convieniences. There was a warm fire upon arrival and helpful staff. Starbucks and a mini store are off the lobby. Rooms were spacious with a view of the river. I will make Marriott my first choice on future hotel bookings!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the amazing review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with your room and the view. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed here for one night after flying into Cincinnati on a late flight from Phoenix. The hotel is nice the view we had from our room was beautiful and would have been really nice if it was summer time. This hotel would be good if going to a football or baseball game across the river. What I didn't like was the parking garage. Unless I missed it somehow there was no access to the hotel from the garage. The day we stay it was very late getting in and very cold and windy. It was a bit of a walk from the garage into the hotel. I would stay here again if I was going to see the Reds or the Bengals.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your valued feedback. I am happy that you were pleased with the view from your room; however I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with our parking garage. I hope you will stay with us again for a Reds game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

I stayed at the Courtyard in Covington last night. I have picky complaints. Certainly, the room was clean and appointed with lovely furnishings (and very convenient USB charging ports on BOTH sides of the king-sized beds -- a great modern convenience every hotel should have by now).

But I paid extra for a "river view" room on the highest floor. My bad -- I was anticipating a view of the city skyline at night and morning. No such luck -- it was literally a view of the river. Not worth the extra money at all. Then, the singular window of the room had a oval shaped seatee/sofa right in front of it -- It was generally a wasted expense to have requested a river view.

The room had curtains all along one wall ... so the window blocked by the seatee was open and obvious. I went to draw back the other curtain on the right hand side of the room, and .... wall. No additional window.

Also, I was disappointed in the noise level from surrounding rooms inside the room. I felt like I heard every single toilet flush and seat drop all night long from every room! I could also hear people talking and opening/shutting room doors.

It was just not worth $170. I felt the room was more like ... $135-140.

Room Tip: Don't pay any extra for the "view" of the river/city. There is NO city view from this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
Meredith,

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback on our room cleanliness; however I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the view from your room and the outside noise.

In order to use this information to enhance our guest experience, I would like to connect with you via email or phone to discuss.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Jack Brandt General Manager

Email: Jack.brandt@marriott.com

Phone Number: 859-491-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I have stayed here in the past so I was quick to book when I knew I was returning to the area. It had been awhile and I was impressed to find it even better than I remembered. The rooms and lounge area had been updated. I was given a nice room over looking the river and a great view of downtown Cincinnati. The room was clean and I really liked the remodeling job and new to me decor. The room was outstanding. The location to downtown Covington as well as the major interstates are also a big plus. A large gated parking garage is well lit and the staff very friendly. The price is right and so is everything else. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river into Cincinnati have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
Thank you for the amazing review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with your room and our location. We hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Stayed here for one night on my way to Florida. Aside from being easy to find and just off the interstate, this hotel had friendly staff, adequate well lit parking, and was modern, clean and fresh throughout the hotel. My room was also clean, bright and had a great view overlooking the river, train trestle (never heard a single train) and Cincinnati skyline. The bed was comfortable and I had a great night's rest. Unfortunately the pool was out of order for maintenance, but it certainly looked to be of a decent size.Their business center had an adequate number of computers, while their lounge was inviting, and well laid out. This hotel is also within walking distance of many Covenington downtown core restaurants and bars, which I felt safe walking to. The front desk staff were helpful and very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Thank you for the kind review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our front desk staff. I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington

Address: 500 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Cincinnati Covington Hotel Covington
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
Courtyard Covington
Covington Courtyard
Covington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.