We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast on us!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Covington
livonia,mi.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

stayed fri and sat night for bengals pre-season game. very clean property, free( I SAID FREE) parking in their INSIDE garage.5 fast food restaurants within 2 short blocks. two blocks to all major expressways going north and south. 3 blocks to the bridge into cincy. but the best is T.A.N.K. transit authority northern kentucky. why is this so?
their shuttle picks u up in front of the courtyard and takes you to either the football or baseball stadiums for $1.00 per person each way. remember, thier are special lanes for the buses. No mess, No fuss.

Room Tip: all appear to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the positive feedback. I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you come back and visit us again for the next football game. Go Bengals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
9
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We travel frequently to Cincinnati, OH and this time we ventured across the river to Covington to stay since we had points for a free night. While this is in another state (Kentucky), Covington is essentially a neighborhood of Cincinnati. The locations is great. Just a couple of blocks off the first exit ramp across the river, it offers great views of downtown Cincinnati and the Ohio River. It is just about a 5- 7 minute drive to the heart of downtown Cincinnati.

The staff was fast, efficient and did a great job answering our questions and making recommendations. We really appreciated that they had a map with "local" restaurants highlighted. No offense to chain eateries, we like the local experience much more. The facility, and our room were very clean and well kept. The hotel was very busy this weekend and I did not notice any hallway noise at all, a big plus in my book!

Yes, the immediate area around the hotel has lots of chain/fast-food restaurants and businesses, but just a few blocks away is the most amazing neighborhood, Mainstrasse, celebrating the German heritage of this community. It is an area where they are restoring the many great old homes and businesses and we loved it. The restaurants were great we tried, and we were told they fountain area is host to many festivals and free concerts. On Saturday night a great guitarist was playing for all to enjoy and on Sunday morning a yoga class was in the square. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "courtyard" side and the higher, the more unobstructed the views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your amazing review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our staff and location. I hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The location was convenient to downtown Cincinnati and close to the Univ of Cinci which is why we were there. It was a typical Courtyard, with a nice lobby and rooms were just fine. The area around the hotel was a little bit seedy though... not a great part of town. Very easy access to the highway though and quick ride to Cincinnati spots.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that our location was convenient for you. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the surrounding neighborhood. I hope you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I visited this hotel while attending a wedding on a riverboat a short distance from this hotel. As far as location this hotel has it. Great view of the river and downtown Cincinnati. This is an upscale hotel by my measure and it seems to be maintained well. The service was good but this was not a discount hotel either. The parking was not included with the room price and had non-functioning exits which forced us to search out other exits and find a worker to fix the silly toll exit gate.
My biggest issue with this hotel is the configuration of the entrance. whether you enter via the garage or the front door you are forced to either hoof it up a seldom used dirty stairwell or a small over-used elevator. Once on the elevator you have to decipher which floor you must choose to get to the lobby. Once you exit this elevator in the lobby you have to change elevators to get to your room. This setup is tiresome and inconvenient. I prefer the traditional entrance where you walk in the front door to a lobby and someone there to assist you.
The location is very conducive for sports. I could see both the stadiums from my room which were easily accessed via a walking bridge. The downtown area in Kentucky is also full of neat attractions and places to eat & drink. The hotel breakfast was very nice and staying on the top 2 floors gives you access to a free happy hour with drinks and snacks.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river, it is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at this property on July 19th. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very professional & helpful arraigning transportation into downtown Cincy. The hotel is about 5 mins from the great the Great American Ballpark & Newport aquarium. There are several restaurant options down the street in Newport.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our rooms and staff. I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nice boutique, modern style hotel. Newer room furnishings, same standard bathroom. It faces the river, but you would have to be on an extremely high floor to actually see it over the hill. Starbucks seems to be their breakfast franchise, complete with barristas.

Room Tip: one side does face the railroad tracks. You can hear the rumble of the train, but they don't to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you were happy with our newly renovated rooms. I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel has a great location for Newport and Cincy. Not walking distance but very easy and quick drive to Newport. We were on the 2nd Floor on the west end, north side and still heard the trains all night. We got used to it but it is something to consider when staying here. They've done major upgrades to windows and insulation to quiet the noise but it's still there. All that said, I would still stay there again if I were on the other side. Also the hot tub was in major need to be drained and scrubbed clean. That was disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardCincy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. I'm happy you were pleased with the location of the hotel; however I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the noise from the train and our jacuzzi. In order to use this information to enhance our guest experience, I would like to connect with you via email or phone to discuss. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington

Address: 500 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Cincinnati Covington Hotel Covington
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
Courtyard Covington
Covington Marriott
Covington Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.